We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and quiet during the Chinese October Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secret Garden Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Secret Garden Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Jiuxian Village, Yangshuo County 541900, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 368 Hotels in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 stars 163 Reviews
Shanghai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet during the Chinese October Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights during the October national holiday and were hoping to escape the heaps of tourists travelling during this time. This was the perfect place. With only a couple of rooms, even though the hotel was fully booked it never felt crowded. As it is not in Yangshuo but in a little village a few km from Yangshuo we could easily escape the huzzle and buzzle of the national holiday.
We really liked the hotel's lovely design (traditional buildings with a modern touch) and the staff, especially Faye, were super helpful. Food was just great!
We def recommend this place for a getaway from the big Chinese cities, noise, pollution, stress... Here you can really relax and see and feel a very different Chinese lifestyle.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    18
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
64
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Provo, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stumbled upon this place, and the owner showed me around. While I did not stay here, I can comment on the location, decor, and setting. Truly unique. The location and setting are phenomenal. Set back in a small village, against the karsts. Views and experience are one of a kind. The entire hotel was immaculate.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were so glad to have stumbled upon the Secret Garden, it was a real treat. The hotel is beautifully restored, obviously with an eye to preserving the original character of the buildings, but still with all the modern luxuries - just enjoying the peaceful ambience was a real pleasure of our trip. However, there is still loads to do in the Yangshuo area, and Faye was awesome at suggesting and arranging our outings, transport in and out of Yangshuo is easy to arrange with her, and much cheaper than anything we were quoted in Yangshuo itself. The restaurant offered great Chinese and Western options, as well as imported wine to enjoy in the evenings. Absolutely perfect, thankyou!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We have recently enjoyed our second visit to this fabulous hidden gem of a hotel. Both Faye and Fengzi are really welcoming and so knowledgeable about the area which helps to make for a memorable stay. Fengzi told us that the hotel has plans to preserve more of the ancient buildings that make up the hotel and expand gradually as they raise money. They are also trying to encourage other people in the village to conserve their old buildings. We wish the Secret Garden all the best with their project and are already looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

15th century building renovated into nice tasteful guest rooms, 15 minutes' drive outside of bustling Yangshuo. Faye can arrange the best rates for cars, excursions, basically whatever you need at the drop of a hat - she's that capable, so you don't have to plan too much in advance and enjoy the scenery.
One caveat is that the shower is not consistently the same temperature, so it either gets hot or cold. Otherwise, I think this is one of the best places to stay in Yangshuo. The food at the hotel is also reasonably priced with western and Chinese meals.
In the summer, people supposedly swim at the nearby north Yulong River, which is not as commercial as the south side.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Secret Garden turned out to be the perfect place to stay for a visit to the Yangshuo area, and I'm so grateful to the other tripadvisor reviews that helped me pick it. We stayed 7 nights and in two different rooms and ate many meals there, as well as observed contact between staff and other guests, so I can give an informed list of pros and cons.

PROS (i am sure I am leaving some out):
-awesome cultural ambiance, architecture
-located away from tacky tourist geared businesses
-natural setting with views of the karst and rice paddies
-both chinese and western options on menu
-excellent, excellent food
-provide all the concierge service you need for tours, sightseeing, transportation, cooking classes, etc.
-Very personal staff that will take calls at all hours and literally come pick you up if you are lost in the middle of the night
-Walking distance from the end of the very popular Yulong river raft ride (isn't this the main reason why people come to Yangshuo)
-there is a hike into the karst right a few doors down from the hotel
-both rooms had door separated toiling from sink area and a separate door separating shower from sink area and another door separated that from the bedroom
-rooms include a tank of drinking water, wine glasses, mugs, nescafe, tea bags, some toiletries and body wash and shampoo
-nice walks around hotel
-bike rental (nice bikes) right next door
-bent over backwards for me when my daughter got sick and we needed to clean a bunch of items and baby bedding we had brought
-nice environment to build new friendships with other hotel guests
-air conditioning

Cons (though I don't have any complaints):
-if you need to be walking distance to the city of yangshuo, don't stay here
-it is an intimate property, so sometimes you can hear sounds from the guests in the courtyard or above you

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

This is a great hotel and excellent value. The service was excellent and the owners are also great at giving background information about the area. The buildings have been very tastefully restored and the rooms have real character. The only disappointment for me was that I spent so much time lounging around the place, I didn't get to see as much of the Yangshuo area as I would have liked!

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secret Garden Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Boutique Hotel

Address: Jiuxian Village, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 368 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Garden is a boutique hotel with restaurant and art gallery, near the Yulong River in the beautiful Yangshuo countryside. We aim to preserve the beautiful Ming Dynasty buildings of this rural village; conserve the surrounding environment; and help develop the local community. If you are looking for a unique and inspirational environment in which to relax or explore, the Secret Garden Boutique Hotel is the perfect place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Secret Garden Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.