We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secret Garden Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Secret Garden Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Jiuxian Village, Yangshuo County 541900, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Holiday Giveaways
Ranked #3 of 300 hotels in Yangshuo County
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Definitely the most beautiful place I’ve stayed in China. Amazing Qing Dynasty buildings have been renovated with real love and an eye for detail. The village and surrounding countryside are beautiful. The whole experience was so amazing we didn’t bother heading back to the crowds of nearby Yangshuo after our first visit. Thanks to Sam at reception for looking after us during our stay and to Faye for helping arrange all our sightseeing and other travel plans.

Room Tip: If you're planning a longer stay choose one of the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    13
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
48
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

General: If you want to experience a Chinese village, there is no better place than the quaint Secret Garden outside Yangshuo. The old farmhouses have been simply and tastefully restored. Many Chinese had heard about it and came by to admire them at the week end.

The owners and staff are very friendly, give you inside tips and help you organise bikes, taxies, dinners and excursions. They also give you answers to the many questions you probably have about life in in such a small village.

Rooms: We had a very clean and comfortable standard room with a view of the village rooftops. If it is raining, there is a cosy sitting area at the bottom of the building overlooking a small courtyard where you can relax and sip tea or have a cool beer. If the weather is nice, there are nice places outside in the yard to enjoy.

Food: One thing we enjoyed very much was eating a good breakfast or a good Chinese dinner outside in the courtyard. The fresh produce came from the market. And, again, if you want to know the name or how to prepare the vegies, just ask.

Try it, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in one of their suites. It had a big comfy bed, a lovely living room with an amazing coffee table, which I was told was made from an ornate antique window and a spacious bathroom. The suite had large windows that opened into a lovely courtyard. One of the owners is fantastic artist and his paintings are displayed in the gallery. There are two particularly amazing pieces in the stairway. The owners are really lovely people, and made our stay wonderful, with a good dose of fengzi! A true hidden gem in a beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

I ve been to Yangshuo many times. Been staying outside town for the last years as in town it has lost its charm. But around Yangshuo there are more and more great place sprouting up. Yangshuo Secret Garden is my latest discovery. Who ever restored those buildings did a fantastic job. Beautiful details and really comfy beds. Go and check this place out for yourself.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We were looking for authentic place to stay in Yangshuo, which would also be comfortable. Staying in Yangshuo Secret Garden we got all of this and much more. The Secret Garden is beautiful, friendly and authentic, located in a gorgeous setting.

THE BUILDINGS
When we arrived we got a tour of the property and surroundings. During the tour we learned a lot about village life and local culture. The hotel was a renovation project, located in a small rural village outside Yangshuo. The buildings themselves are absolutely gorgeous. They are rich 19th century farmhouses, beautifully renovated using local labor. There's lots of art in the hotel and everywhere you can find original features. It's obvious that a great deal of love and respect for the original buidlings made the renovation so succesfull.

ROOM
We stayed in one of the suites. The room was huge!!! And absolutely gorgeous. Colors are beautiful, decoration tasteful. All rooms have AC, which is a neccessity. The bathroom is very big and has a seperate shower and toilet. We saw a couple of the standard rooms as well and they are smaller than the suite, but still very big, and equally beautiful.

LOCATION
You're right between the karst mountains, with rice paddies outside the front door. In the village you can find geese sharing the streets with the locals. For us this was excellent. We like to experience local culture and like to stay away from busy touristic places. Yangshuo is roughly a 10 minute taxi ride away (50 rmb), which was perfect for us. During the day we got to experience living in the stunning country side, and in the evening we could take a taxi if we wanted to eat or shop in Yangshuo.

SERVICE
The owners and staff are superfriendly and welcoming. We had great talks with them which left us with a better understanding of Yangshuo and China. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome. For instance, they have a fruit tree in the garden which produces very tasty fruit (no idea what the name is). One of the members of staff actually climbed the tree for us to get us some fruit so we could have a taste (it was lovely).

ACTIVITIES
There's lots to do in the area. Right next door you can rent bikes. We took a bike ride through the country side organized by the Yangshuo Secret Garden. Got to see farmers harvesting and different species of plants and animals we had never seen before. We biked to the river where we took a bamboo raft downstream. Very relaxing. Downstream our guide was waiting for us to take us back to the hotel. We also did a Chinese cooking course organized through the Secret Garden in Yangshuo town. We highly recommend it! We didn't have much time to do other activities but I know it's possible to organize other activities as well.

We highly recommend the Yangshuo Secret Garden to anyone interested in local culture, beautiful nature, old Chinese architecture, and anyone who wants to experience an authentic village stay in comfort. Next time we're in Yangshuo, we will definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Suites are really big and beautifully decorated. There's a sitting area, a bedroom area and a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Secret Garden Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Boutique Hotel

Address: Jiuxian Village, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 300 hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Garden is a boutique hotel with restaurant and art gallery, near the Yulong River in the beautiful Yangshuo countryside. We aim to preserve the beautiful Ming Dynasty buildings of this rural village; conserve the surrounding environment; and help develop the local community. If you are looking for a unique and inspirational environment in which to relax or explore, the Secret Garden Boutique Hotel is the perfect place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Secret Garden Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.