We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yulong River

Yulong River
Yangshuo, Yangshuo County, China
Improve this listing
Type: Bodies of Water
Attraction Details
Holt, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

You feel that you travel into an adventure world with bamboo boats, happy people on and beside the river, when you approach the Yulong River

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    151
    28
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We enjoyed our bamboo boat rafting but we wouldn't have mind skipping it. It was nice but not a must-do for our taste. It was raining when we went and the umbrella that was on the boat had holes which did not help much. Luckily, we had our umbrella and raincoat. May be if it hadn't rained, our experience would have been different.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very touristy but still absolutely worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Sure, all the tourists that come to Yanghsuo do the bamboo rafting, but it's absolutely worth it. But instead of visiting the Li River, better choose the Yulong River: the scenery is just as nice, but it's more quiet, especially since there's no big ships.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
89 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Must try in YangShuo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

YangShuo well known by best places in Guilin.
Yulong river is another must go places.
Travel on bamboo rafts is so back to old school. Listen their famous Folk songs while enjoying many many of rock hill and amazing view.
During this trip, you can enjoy Osprey show as well.
No forgot to give RMB 10 tips for them. Is more that enough.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Yulong River Rafting in Yangshuo Country, China”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

From Guilin Bus Station, there are regular buses to Yangshuo (1.5 hours, RMB18). One recommended activity in Yangshuo is punting along the Yulong River. The journey from Chaoyang Pier to Gongnong Bridge takes about 2 hours. You can rent a bicycle from along the Li River outside River View Hotel to get to Chaoyang Pier (journey takes about 30 min). Alternatively, you can hire a three wheeler to get there. If you cycle there, you can transport the bicycle on the bamboo raft or arrange for it to be sent to your destination. When the raft reaches Gongnong Bridge, you can visit the Big Banyan Tree Park (Entrance: RMB 20). You can then cycle to visit Moon Hill and other attractions before going back to Yangshuo. If you didn't cycle, there are buses along the main road outside of the Big Banyan Tree Park to go back to Yangshuo. Visit my apgclh channel on YouTube at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uXx1Y3Qz5Ms to watch the beautiful scenery along the Yulong River.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yulong River also viewed

 
Yangshuo County, Guangxi Zhuang
Yangshuo County, Guangxi Zhuang
 

Been to Yulong River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yulong River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Yulong River to your Saves list