We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money and excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Alley Restaurant

The Alley Restaurant
Gui Hua Road 103, Yangshuo County 541900, China
15977404074
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse, International, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Description: The Alley is a cozy restaurant in a pedestrian zone right in the centre of Yangshuo. The grilled tenderloin, home made tagliatelle or the grilled chicken breast with basil pesto are excellent, the beer list holds german and belgian beers but also the affordable chinese option and on weekends you can watch live football.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great value for money and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is a Western place, so perfect if you're craving for Western food after all the Chinese food :-). The pizzas are really good, with lots of topping except for the chicken with blue cheese pizza (we didn't find the chicken). Their mixed salad is very large, not too much lettuce but also cucumber and tomato and only costs 20 rmb. The pastas are also recommendable, again, you get a lot of sauce, meat etc, not just the spaghetti. Someting i often miss in Chinese restaurants is the service. Here, the service was excellent: the waiters were very attentive and they changed my Corona beer because it was flat. A Chinese would probably have said: too bad...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    16
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The IT place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

What a nice palce, right in the centre, wide range of beers, from Blegian to Asian and great food. The owner is a cool guy who is always around and ready to help you select a beer perfect for you. Range of shots and other drinks is available as well. At the toilet - "push the button" - once you' ll there - you'll understand :D

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great beer selection. Food is ok.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stopped in to the alley on our visit and had some really good beers. They were a little expensive but refreshing change from local beers. We all had pizza and it was OK - not fantastic but certainly the best around Yangshou. They are very Italian style pizza and the bases are nice. I recommend the blue cheese and chicken one.

It's got a nice pub feel and the staff speak English.

I would recommend a stop in if you're keen for western food and good beer but not
Too worried about the bill.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangshuo County, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Pizza was great. The Alley has a huuuuge range of drinks from 8.5% Belgian beers to the must try Magners cider by far my favorite drink here they also carry local beer. Good atmosphere and right in the centre of town

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good quality food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I visited the Alley Bar a couple of times for food, including with friends. Being a reasonably competent cook myself I am rather particular; in relation to my food. I have travelled extensively through China and appreciate that finding quality “non-Chinese” food is unfortunately quite rare; however the Alley Bar’s food has certainly been enjoyable. I have tried their pizza, and pan fried chicken which was good, and the Chicken cordon bleu was perhaps the best I have ever had, their accompanying unique fries and tasty European influenced salad was a nice addition to the chicken. The only downside, that being a bar it can get quite smoke filled, which is not so good when your trying to enjoy a nice meal, otherwise I would have given it a score of 5.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Alley Restaurant also viewed

Yangshuo County, Guangxi Zhuang
Yangshuo County, Guangxi Zhuang
 
Yangshuo County, Guangxi Zhuang
 

Been to The Alley Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alley Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.