We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be much better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Impression Sanjie Liu (Evening Showtime)

Impression Sanjie Liu (Evening Showtime)
Lijiang Shanshui Theater, Yangshuo County, China
0773-8811983,0773-8811982
Website
Improve this listing
4.5 of 5 stars 740 Reviews
Type: Movie Theaters, Concerts, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Amusement
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Show runs daily. 1 hour in the evening. Can buy tickets easily in town from hotels, guides and agencies. Directed by Zhang Yi Mo. Chinese language not necessary
Cleveland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Could be much better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I was looking forward to this, with all the hype of being produced by the architect of the Beijing Olympics ceremonies. But it was rather boring. I was hoping they'd incorporate more of a light show using the background mountains, but the mountains became a second thought. Or how about fireworks around the mountains? I was hoping for more Vegas-like pop, but it was a rather boring cultural demonstration using the river as a stage.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    418
    191
    87
    34
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We enjoyed this evening show. Booked it with the travel agency that is caddy-corner from the McDonalds. Rony from the travel agency speaks great English. We arranged several tours through her.

This is activity that we would put in the category of doing while you have an extended time period, more than 3 days, in Yangshuo. A little pricey at 180 yuan; but if you have the time go ahead and do it. It was arranged by the same person who did the Beijing Olympic final night extravaganza.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Quite spectacular - something that will stay in your mind forever. The sheer number of performers, the spectacular backdrop, the skill of the performers, singing etc. It ends all too soon. Although there was light drizzle toward the end of the show we were all issued free, plastic rain wear. I thought it rude of quite a lot of people who left before the end of the show. However the quality of the performance didn't deserve this. But there are thousands watching every night. Definitely worth going to see.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Amazing!!! Don't miss this!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Of everything we did during a month + of travels in Asia, this show was one of the most spectacular. Choreographed by the artist who created the 2008 Olympic opening ceremony, this show includes about about 600 performers--some professionals but mostly local people on boats and "islands" in the Li River. The music is beautiful, and the set is out of this world--an incredible light show of the karst peaks as a back drop to amazing floating performers and props. Be sure to charge the battery on your camera, and if possible, take some videos. Almost all of our pictures came out beautifully, but the videos are the best. It is so hard to describe this production, but showing a video gives a flavor of the real thing. An added benefit...we didn't have any problems with mosquitoes!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

You will not believe the display of lights and performers. Using the mountains and river as a set this is a show everyone should see. Pay a little extra for the better seats, you won't regret it. Our family loved it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Impression Sanjie Liu (Evening Showtime) also viewed

Yangshuo County, Guangxi Zhuang
 
Yangshuo County, Guangxi Zhuang
 

Been to Impression Sanjie Liu (Evening Showtime)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Impression Sanjie Liu (Evening Showtime), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.