We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four Seasons Setting with Motel Six Service and Rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Yangshuo Resort

Save Saved
You added Yangshuo Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yangshuo Resort
North side of the Gongnong Bridge, Yangshuo County 541900, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 312 hotels in Yangshuo County
Bethesda, MD
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Four Seasons Setting with Motel Six Service and Rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Never before have I stayed in a hotel of such extreme contrasts. This was an absolutely stunningly beautiful hotel facility, only a few years old, and nestled in the hills along the river. The lobby was gorgeous, and the pool and scenery spectacular. Meanwhile, the rooms were not very nice and the service was truly abysmal at every turn.
Rooms: Our initial guaranteed "river view" rooms had absolutely no view of the river at all. They were on the ground floor, and smelled of sewage gas backing up from the drains. We were finally moved on day two, with no apology or price adjustment. The rooms were spacious but dark. The bathroom arrangement was unconventional with a tub in the middle of the room and a glass wall (hmm, not frosted!) between the shower and toilet. The bed was very firm and not comfortable, the towels very small and thin (think Motel 6), and the phones never worked in the rooms. On the morning of checkout, they turned off the AC in the rooms from some central location, so it became extremely hot and humid.
Restaurant: The little restaurant had very limited offerings and the food was low quality, so I would recommend eating in town when possible.
Service: The management and staff were consistently unfriendly during our stay. The hotel staff took over an hour to check us out of our pre-paid rooms while, best I could figure, they confirmed that we hadn't stolen anything. Beware, they will charge you $6 for each plastic room key card you can't find upon departure...really annoying in the context of an expensive hotel bill (three rooms, each for three nights, and meals).
Pools: The pools were beautiful, fun, and uncrowded. But, as soon as we arrived, the killjoy cabana man dashed over and handed us a card in English telling us not to remove the pool towels from the pool area.
I asked around, and despite the poor service, this place may be the best game in town for now. My advice: manage your expectations and hope that someday they hire the Marriott to manage the hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the ground floor for a view of the river and to avoid the smell of sew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, Guest Relations Manager at Yangshuo Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear friends, thank you for staying at Yangshuo resort and it is our honor to have your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed the gorgeous scenery here. Also we sincerely provide our apology as the inconvenience we had brought to you. We promise to make persistent efforts to improve and offer you excellent service. We are looking forward to your return. Warmest regards from Yangshuo Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    74
    41
    16
    7
See reviews for
34
61
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

What a waste. Every now and then I come across a hotel or restaurant that has it all design wise but screws it up with the Service. Or lack of. Case in point: Yangshuo Resort.

Initially this was a good surprise when I was hunting for a hotel in Yangshuo, for early October. I never expected to see something so beautiful in China's countryside. It looked so amazing that I booked a suite for 3 days.

The resort is simply beautiful, and my suite was ideal. View on the river, lounge mat on the balcony, and the list goes on. However when it came to service it didn't deliver. and then some. Room cleaning was bad, making the room was even worse. It's like the bed was done by a 5 year old kid (I took pictures).Food and glasses were regularly left in the room post housekeeping. Contact at check in and check out was lengthy, complicated. For no reason. Reservations for transportation or activities were grossly overpriced.

The restaurant was really the worst. Not bad as in unhealthy, more bad as in "no, I'm sorry, I know what a Pizza is and no, it's not a tart with vegetables and doesn't look like this at all" and " Sorry to be extremely demanding but could we get the appetizer before the main dish this time?" or also "is it normal that I'm done with the the main course and my friend didn't get the appetizer yet"? And don't get me started on the drinks...Yes, the restaurant experience was bad, and I think the "Western" restaurant was worse than the other. But it needs to be said that in China the whole Hotel and Restaurant concept, especially in the upscale (or what pretends to be upscale) category is a new territory, and the staff is clearly not trained accordingly. Give it time, I'm sure the country will catch up and professional hostelry schools will emerge.

I still enjoyed my time at Yangshuo, and loved the resort. It's just that the bad Service does get to you at the end, no matter how much you prepare mentally for it.

If I were to come back to Yangshuo, I would look for alternative options.

As for Yangshuo: there are tons of activities immediately around it, and some further afield. I would highly recommend two that I have reviewed here (Bamboo rafting and light show)

Room Tip: Suites have amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, Guest Relations Manager at Yangshuo Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your patronage of Yangshuo resort , and thank you very much for your comments about our hotel, we are very delighted that you had enjoyed the quiet atmosphere and beautiful scenery here. And we are very sorry to hear about the service issues and appreciate that you've brought this to our attention. Myself and our team had start to look into this immediately to ensure our guest with inspiring experience inside the hotel as well as outside the hotel. We look forward to welcoming your back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The location cannot be bettered for relaxing views. Outside town, but to my mind that's an advantage. Don't miss the sound and light show on the water, or the cruise on the Li River.

Don't think about upgrading a room - the standard rooms are large and very well furnished.

Maybe a week is too long as there may not be enough to do - 3 or 4 days is ideal.

I had two days here and intend to return for a four day stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We arrived in the pouring rain at night, only to open the curtains in the morning and find ourselves right beside some of the picturesque karst mountains that we had come to the area to see (no wonder it was so dark when we arrived). We were at the far end of the complex (building 9) closest to the mountains as opposed to the buildings in the middle that face the river more directly - it didn't matter to us and the walk to the main building (#4) on covered walkways wasn't really very far. The setting was so lovely that we decided to skip a biking excursion to enjoy the pool for a couple of ours (we were the only people there). Our large room (#9215) had a tropical resort feel to it. The bed was a bit hard, but not as bad as we had expected in China and the open concept bathroom is a bit unusual but seems to be a bit of a trend since we came across the same thing in Lijiang (Crowne Plaza).

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here for two nights as part of a group. The Resort is a few miles outside Yangshuo (40 yuan one way taxi trip). The hotel also has a periodic free shuttle bus service to town.

Rooms were particularly spacious with good views of the limestone karst outcrops and hills. Bicycle hire is available. The in house massage complex was very good value where for 188 yuan you could get an excellent one hour aromatherapy massage. Nice outdoor swimming pool.

Drinks prices were very expensive but the Resort is well aware that the nearest alternative is some distance away. Reasonable laundry prices though.

The breakfast area was also very spacious with an outside dining option. The breakfasts were good.

Some irritations. The water supply failed for a shortish period during our stay and we were fined 50 yuan for losing a plastic room key. Wifi was free in the rooms and the lobby but kept on failing periodically.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Came in from the Li river cruise, which I strongly recommend. The property is a little out of town, but only 5 minutes away. W had hired a car, so this was no problem for us. The resort seems quite new, and very well maintained. Grounds were in good shape, the rooms were large, spacious, modern, and well equipped bathrooms. We had a tub in our room, which was pretty cool. Best part of the resort is the stunning location. Service was a little slow, and they did not have black tea, which was an annoyance. The breakfast restaurant is clean, has fantastic views, but the food was not as good as other 5 star hotels in China. We ordered hot chocolate, and the waitress said that they did not have it. When I asked the manager, he said it was no problem, and brought it to us quickly. Staff is a little inexperienced, so don't hesitate to ask for the manager. Situated with the spectacular mountains on one side, and a quite lazy river on the other. We did go to the liu sanjie water show which was really good, do not miss this. Wish we had stayed another night here, and really enjoyed the resort and Yangshuo a little more. Quiet, relaxing, and beautiful place. I have been around the world, to several countries, and this one is right up there with the best of them.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Great location. Nice big rooms. Toilet shower setup not too sure about that one I did not like it. Huge bath in main room. Breakfast average have had much better. Oh do remember this is Chinese hotel beds are hard...not firm hard...grounds could be better maintained. We stayed three nights easy free shuttle 9 minutes to town. A must do is bamboo rafting Down the river 1-1/2hr ride worth it...we enjoyed our stay here all staff were friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yangshuo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Resort

Address: North side of the Gongnong Bridge, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip DaoDao, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Yangshuo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yangshuo Hotel Yangshuo County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yangshuo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.