We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yangshuo resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yangshuo Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Yangshuo Resort to your Saves list
Yangshuo Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   North side of the Gongnong Bridge, Yangshuo County 541900, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 370 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Sydney
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Yangshuo resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Great location. Nice big rooms. Toilet shower setup not too sure about that one I did not like it. Huge bath in main room. Breakfast average have had much better. Oh do remember this is Chinese hotel beds are hard...not firm hard...grounds could be better maintained. We stayed three nights easy free shuttle 9 minutes to town. A must do is bamboo rafting Down the river 1-1/2hr ride worth it...we enjoyed our stay here all staff were friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    83
    48
    16
    11
See reviews for
38
78
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

It's probably the best you can get around Yangshuo, that is for Chinese standards. Yet if it were in Europe or elsewhere in Asia, you would probably be a lot more critical about this resort hotel. The rooms are spacious with a bath and a shower, TV flatscreen, internet (be it slow). The room we were in looked renovated, nothing wrong with it, although quite a bit of walking at the end of the resort (which, in 38 degrees Celsius with a very high humidity, is a long walk). The airco is somewhat of a problem (if you really like it cold, which is not bad with these temperatures, don’t expect to get it below 26-27 degrees).

The beds are hard, but asking for an extra duvet on the matrass will make it slightly more comfortable. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious, that's the best description I can come up with. A shower and a bath (be it right in the middle of the room). The resort has two restaurants, a Western and a Chinese. We arrived late (in a unbearably hot reception area (over 40 degrees!), without airco or even a fan) and could only eat in the Chinese restaurant, as the Western was closed at 08.45 pm. Most of the dishes on the menu were “sold out” and we ended up with a weird chicken dish, extremely poor. In the neighborhood better restaurants can be found, and cheaper too. The bar near the river Li is unmanned at most times and by the time you found someone willing to service you a drink, your coffee is cold as it needs to be brought in from the main building.
Breakfast is good (we were in summertime, on a Sunday so be prepared for a massive number of loud Chinese tourist). The swimming pool is large and fun for kids, yet too warm for me (better to take a dive in the nearby river). All in all the best you can possibly get in Yangshuo where luxury hotellerie is still in its infancy. It is as luxurious as it gets here, but surely good enough for a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Try to find a room that is closer to the reception area, but make sure it one of the newer rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed for two nights and had a suite overlooking the river and the mountain on the other side. The room was spacious and had a bath in the middle which was quite romantic. Went to see the Sanji Liu lights show on the river and the staff tried the best to get us the tickets as it was sold out. We had great time and the resort was well maintained and cleanliness was ensured. The only flip side was the restaurant did not offer enough choice and could be more english speaking staff but overall a great experience and I recommend this resort.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Rooms were big and spacious, the air conditioning was not very effective. The grounds are beautiful and it is lovely to be able to sit on a balocony looking out to the river. It is a long walk between the two furthest blocks which our group was splt between.
It is close to moonhill, good location for bike riding and bamboo rafting, walking but a bit too far from west street (Shopping) and food options. The food in the hotel was very expensive.
Staff did not have a lot of English.
It is a good location for those that just want to get away and enjoy the beauty of the nature around them.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed for two nights. The Yulong river is on one side and the Karst mountains are on the other. Beautiful property, well maintained. Our room had nice amenities; balcony overlooking river, slippers and robe, room safe, free bottled water. It was quiet and restful. Free bikes and nice outdoor pool. The breakfast buffet included lots of variety and we found plenty to eat. The western restaurant seemed overpriced, but we wanted to eat at the Chinese one anyway (and it was reasonably priced). The location is just a short distance from town. I would have liked for the TV to had had a few more english channels.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We spent 6 nights in this resort and we were in Block 8, rooms no 8205and 8206. Our pick-up was organized by the travel agent through the hotel and we were picked up on time from the airport. I travelled to Guilin with my two teenaged children and my husband. Rooms in this hotel are very spacious and all the rooms have a balcony. Our balcony was facing towards the riverside, so we had an amazing view.

They have a nice pool. The downside of this pool is that since there is too much greenery around the trees the bugs drop into the pool. My daughter while swimming got bitten by an insect and she had painful rashes all over her body for next three days.

The hotel staff made us feel very comfortable. It was raining hard the day we arrived and I thought that holiday will be spent in this resort. It opened up the next day and we saw bamboo rafts in the river that flows right next to the resort. My two children enjoyed their stay at the resort as there was plenty for them to do. Bicycles at the resort are available for free and my daughter biked within the resort everyday.

It a well built resort, well located with a beautiful view and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We spent just one night in this hotel . The structure is pretty new and our room was very big and with all the conforts , wi-fi included . But there are still some problems I would say : you arrive first in a big lobby without air conditioning and you must stay there for all the check in stuffs perspiring with nobody offering you even a glass of water ( there should have been a welcome drink but ....not for us eventually ) . The breakfast is pretty poor for my standard and a special thank to the skinny tall guy cooking the eggs . My girlfriend asked him something for her , and then she went back to our table . I was watching the situation from another point as we arrived in the room separately . The guy , with my gf out of their sight , then started to make joke of her with his colleague , making some imitations of her and seemed that both of them were having a lot of fun . I didn't say anything at the moment , but this is one of the reason why I decided to write this review . The swimming pool also was really big , but for my disgrace I needed to use their toilet to change my swimming wear . Well that was so dirty and smelly that I couldn't stay inside for longer then 15 seconds . How can you keep a toilet in that condition ? I am sure that a hotel pretending to be a top notch in this little town should put more efforts in the way they train employees and in the way they maintain the public areas . A big problems were also the mosquitoes , they should do some anti mosquito treatment or as it happened to us , all your guests will come back home with a lot of red souvenirs on their skin . Won't come back again .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yangshuo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Resort

Address: North side of the Gongnong Bridge, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Yangshuo County
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Yangshuo Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Yangshuo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yangshuo Hotel Yangshuo County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yangshuo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.