We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal, and really nice staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yangshuo Dongling Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Yangshuo Dongling Resort to your Saves list
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hillside Dongling Road, Yangshuo Town, Yangshuo County 541900, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 369 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great deal, and really nice staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We spent two night at the beginning of january at Yangshuo Dongling Resort, it's a bit outside of Yangshuo, but this is a good point, because it not noisy and busy as the city center. And you can really appreciate the view. The room was clean with a nice balcony in order to enjoy the view. I think the service was the best part of this hotel, the team was helping us for everything we need, and they even help us to get some good deal regarding some ticket and tour. They can speak a quite good english which was more convenient. The food was quite nice too, really traditional Chinese food we tried both diner and breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    20
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
22
34
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed this hotel three nights for our honeymoon. As we booked the room from the booking.com, we didn't know the room was two single beds. When we arrived at the hotel, the manager Jan upgraded a king size bed room with amazing view for us. It was very nice.
The hotel on the top of a hill, it is a little bit far away form the town (It costs CNY30 for a taxi), but it is very peaceful and the atmosphere is very very fresh. The view is amazing. You can see the Li River, the beautiful mountains and the villages & Yangshuo town.
We loved this place.

Room Tip: The room with a balcony see the river and mountains is the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hongkong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We have a lovely stay here for four days. Amazing scenery, lovely breakfast and great people.
Mountain bike riding is a must to experience the real Yangshuo and its great scenic views and local villages.
The hospitality and kindness shown by Jan and Anita has been outstanding. We hightly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: the river view room with balcony is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

we stayed at the resort for three nights and despite the fact that it was raining on and off almost the whole time we were in yangshuo, we loved it. we'd reserved a standard room w/ a garden view, but were given a room in the new section with a river/mountain view w/ no price increase. the resort is located about a ten minute cab ride outside of town. it worked for us because we wanted a quiet and relaxed retreat after mostly city traveling in china. we hid out and rested in the quiet of our room and the resort during the day and headed into town at night for dinner. the restaurant onsite is also very accommodating with a lot of food choices if you don't feel like leaving. we didn't find the seclusion a problem - the front desk was very good about ordering cabs for us and we didn't find it problematic finding ones in town that would take us back for 30 rmb. the staff, as mentioned by others, is wonderful (though maybe a little overwhelmed when there are a lot of guests in the restaurant for breakfast!) and very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Dongling Resort is a perfect place for someone who likes to stay near Yangshou but not in Yangshou (a noisy and very touristic city), who loves a quiet and cosy sourroundings and who wants to recover from an exhausting day of hiking or cycling.
The rooms (take the rooms with view) are spacious, simple and clean, the staff is super-friendly, helpful and speaks a decent English. We stayed there for three days and got everything we wanted - advice for nice tours&massages, dinners at 10 pm (even though the kitchen was already closed), bikes for rent and fair taxi arrangements.

As said - the place is a bit outside the city. However, taxis from the hotel bring you to the city for around 3,5 Euros. Back to the hotel you need to bargain with the drivers but at the end you shouldn't pay more than 4 Euros. Walking to the city is a bit long but worth as you cross Li River with a Bamboo boat!

All in all a highly recommendable place for some relaxing days around Yangshou!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I am writing this review as I stay my last night at this fabulous place. It is a family business and it was a joy to stay here for 4 days. The most important thing is that everyone is really nice and goes the extra mile to satisfy you and address all your requests. The views speak for themselves, it's just lovely. I was getting fed up with Chinese food after traveling for a while in China but when I got here, everything changed. The food, cooked by the family mother, was divine.
The bathroom was great, with a very nice shower. The room was very comfortable and with great views from our private balcony.
It felt like staying home, everything was great and they also helped us incredibly with tips, maps, and long descriptions of what to do and go outside the beaten track. Only small remarks would be that the bikes that they rent could be in better condition and that the television did not have any English speaking channel. Overall it was fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I only explainations I can think of why this place has such high rating is 1) most of the reviews are written by Chinese travelers (probably backpackers since compare to Guilin, not so many people actually stay overnight in Yangshuo) 2) for the price of under $50, I guess one really doesn't expect too much, and perhaps this extremely low expectation made the actual impression ok.

Objectively, I think it is a 2-star place. (maybe a 3 star if the bathroom doesn't stink so badly) It looks nice and all on the photos, but in real life, all the details are overlooked. cheap tiles (imprinted with wooden pattern) throughout the room. in fact not only the toilet stinks, the water from the faucet also stink! I had to brush my teeth with bottled mineral water....

The other place I considered was Mountain retreat. but the local guide I hired told me Dongling and Mountain retreat are 2 comparable places, similar in every aspect. But when we were rafting down one of the rivers, i saw a beautiful resort (a real resort, not just the single building as Dongling is). That looks like a place that would suit much better my taste. But sorry to report that I don't remember the name.

whever you stay, think twice about Dongling. look at the tripadvisor rating with a grain of salt.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Yangshuo Dongling Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Dongling Resort

Address: Hillside Dongling Road, Yangshuo Town, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Yangshuo County
#26 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yangshuo Dongling Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Yangshuo Dongling Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yangshuo Dongling Hotel Yangshuo County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yangshuo Dongling Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.