We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet lovely place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dragon River Retreat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dragon River Retreat to your Saves list
Dragon River Retreat
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Shengdi Dock, Gaotian Town, Yangshuo County 541907, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 375 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quiet lovely place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed last dec.24-26, 2012 Rooms are big and clean. We were there during the cold winter, the only problem was they do provide a heater but since rooms are not carpeted it is still very cold. But they offer extra comforter. Price are affordable and they have very nice views at the back of the hotel where you can walk and relax. Food are also great, we eat most of our meals there. Kids enjoy their beer fish! Their chicken also taste great. Overall we are happy with Dragon River Retreat!

Room Tip: their bedroom with 3 beds are really nice and comfortable, good for families too as the price and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harleyyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We really enjoyed our 5 days stay in Dragon River Retreat. It is a nice little hotel with great views on the surrounding breathtaking landscape at reasonable price. We booked Superior Room with balcony and were very satisfied with the room quality, friendly staff and service provided. It was very easy to book activities like light show and bamboo raft on the Li River from Yangdi to Xingping. Taxi to the town was available on demand all time. Only one negative remark - the quality of the bicycles which can be rented in the hotel is pretty lousy, but basically this is not a big problem because relativly good bicycles are available in Yangshou on nearly each corner. Big Thank You to the staff - we can highly recommend to book this hotel

Room Tip: Recommend Superior Room with balcony, we stayed on ground floor, but first floor is certainly better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JuergenSchuster7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tianjin, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were there during the moonfestival, but even though the rest of the area was crowded - we were so happy that we chose this great get a way. Drinking the afternoon coffee in the garden, overlooking the Dragen River were the bamboo rafts are quietly drifting by, was pure medicine. The room was spacious and clean, with a great view of the river and the nearby Limestone mountains.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bilenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This hotel is located away from the town and close to the river offering peace and quiet. Not the grandest hotel I have stayed in but one of the most enjoyable. Our rooms were situated on the 1st floor with a balcony and good view but it was so hot and humid that we kept the doors firmly shut. The simple air conditioning unit struggled to cope with the 35c temperatures but the rooms were clean and comfortable and the service from the staff was excellent. Breakfast was cooked to order and was one of the best we had in our two and a half weeks in China. The rest of the food was also of very good qualiity and all in all it made for a very enjoyable couple of nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 1st floor (i.e. the one above the ground floor) with a balcony at the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oscardog1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We spent a lot of time looking at all the options of staying in town or out of town. After reading many reviews, we decided on the Dragon River Retreat. Within 5 minutes of booking on-line via a 3rd party website, Jasmine had already emailed us to see if we needed transfers.
The hotel is great, and even better for Chinese standards. The service is second to none. We have now been on the road travelling for nearly 3 months and this is the first time we felt comfortable booking tours and shows etc through a hotel. Everything ran perfect. The hotel organised our Motorised Bamboo raft trip from Yandi to Xingping. We just organised the taxi back to the hotel, but they could have done that if we had of asked.
They also organised our tickets for the 5 of us - 2 Adults and 3 boys to the Impression Light Show. Yes, you may pay a small (very small) service fee, but it's not dollars or euro's and you get door-to-door pick-up and drop-off.
The rooms are great. We had 2 rooms for 3 nights. We had to change rooms after 2 nights due to availability when we booked and we moved to a non-mountain view on the 3rd floor. (Nothing to do with the hotel, just us procrastination out where to stay!!!!) Guess what? You still get a view of the amazing mountains.
Breakfast was first class. Cooked eggs (our style), bacon, toast, tea, coffee, juice etc for only 30 yuan (if I remember correctly)
They have 3 shuttles a day into town and it costs 40 yuan to catch a taxi if the time is not to your liking.
Mick the owner even organised our overnight bus tickets to Shenzhen for us a a good price (don't worry, we checked with other ticket agents) and was charged back to our hotel.
We checked out at midday on the 4th day and the driver drove us to another hotel with a pool for the day as we had a 10:30pm bus. The pool was green and we were afraid of what we might catch, so didn't use is as much as we thought we would that day. Mick then came to the 2nd hotel and waited, while I tried to explain why we weren't staying the night - that's a whole different story, and drive us to the bus station and waited 25 minutes with us to ensure we got on the bus OK. Top Guy!!!
Mick is 36, with most of his staff, including Jasmine, speaks great English, but more importantly was born and raised in Yangshuo and is well know and his reputation is very important. We don't normally write such long reviews, but we were more that happy with everything. The views, rooms, food, weather, service were perfect.
Yes, the beds are a little hard, but we are in China folks. We used 2 extra duvets to soften the beds. The kids didn't even notice!! And it doesn't have a pool, but the price = value for money.
We also ate a number of meals at Rylie's cafe in town. This is also owned by Mick.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank TeamFree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Jasmine the Hotel Manager is to be commended for her attentiveness, thoughtfulness and just being a genuinely nice and caring person. I traveled with two elderly parents and her hospitality made them very comfortable and felt at home. She has also been very helpful in arranging the bamboo rafts, buying tickets for Impression Liu San Jie and transfer to airport.

The hotel itself is clean, quite basic with sufficient amenities for a comfortable stay. The bed is on the hard side. My only complain is the very dim lights in the room. WIFI is ok in the room.

What I like about this place is its location next to Yulong river. There's a terrace where you can catch a good view of people rafting down the river. It's also a great spot for viewing the sunset. This hotel is just next to Yangshuo Mountain Retreat hotel.

We had two meals and two breakfasts in the hotel. The food is fresh and very affordable. My parents like the convenience of having home cooked meals just a few steps out of their room. It feels like a home away from home.

Room Tip: The kitchen and staircase up to 2nd level are both located on the left side/wing of the reception (i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hooi Ping C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The room had wonderful views of the country side and was a little away from the town so was quiet. They had a free bus service to drop you off to the town center and ran a few times a day. We hired bikes from the front counter and had a great time exploring the country side.

The staff were friendly, helpful and lovely. The standard of customer service here is what western people expect - similar to Malaysia and Singapore (I've had rather bad experiences elsewhere in China).

The food at the restaurant was well priced for a hotel and very edible.

Overall, great value for money and enjoyable stay

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
2.5 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 375 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 stars 836 reviews
7.7 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#1 of 375 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
5.6 mi away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#5 of 375 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 375 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yangshuo Spring Hyatt Hotel
Yangshuo Spring Hyatt Hotel
#29 of 375 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
4.9 mi away
Green Lotus Hotel
Green Lotus Hotel
#27 of 375 in Yangshuo County
4.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragon River Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragon River Retreat

Address: Near Shengdi Dock, Gaotian Town, Yangshuo County 541907, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Yangshuo County
#25 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Dragon River Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms with fabulous views on the famous Karst Mountains, big garden to relax, pick up service from the Guilin Airport, western and Chinese kitchen, big rooms with western toilets and 24-hour hot showers. In the countryside at the bank of the beautiful Yu Long River, quiet and clean, only 6 km from Yangshuo Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dragon River Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragon River Retreat Hotel Yangshuo County
Dragon River Retreat Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing