We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large park area in the center of city” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Star Crags (Qixing Yan)

Seven Star Crags (Qixing Yan)
Star Lake, Zhaoqing, China
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 56 things to do in Zhaoqing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dominated by spectacular limestone peaks, this is a large lake area with lots of caves and underground rivers.
Jerusalem
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Large park area in the center of city”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Visited this park on a day trip to Zhaoqing, disappointed to find it in the middle of the city when I was expecting a trip to a mountainous area. Peaks do not compare to the Guilin scenery. Boat trip into the cave to see the stalactites was over before we knew it. We also went into another cave, with an admission fee, that was filled with statues of gods, no English explanation. If you go to Zhaoqing , start with the Dinghu Mountain Resort. Also recommend a stop at the Bagua Village called Licha

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    71
    27
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
98 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Easy strolling, suitable for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We walk from the North Gate to the West Gate in a little over one hour but could have taken electric cars for a quicker trip. The main path was flat and could be used by strollers.
Annoying to find extra charges to visit various caves, and even 2¥ to cross a swingbridge! Very peaceful on a week day, but possibly very poplar in weekends.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnside, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The views from the top of the closest crag are worth the effort!. Well laid out and interesting park with lovely gardens. Only downside was the pollution on the day we visitied

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice views, caves and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Big area with many caves. Our family took a quick 2-hour stop here. You have to pay a bit extra here and there, but it is just 10RMB or so for each special attraction, so definitely not expensive place to visit. There was a lady singing on a boat, and another boat with man playing flute - this created a nice and relaxed atmosphere. The main cave was quite good - boat ride was very short and perfectly ok for small kids too. Cave was lit with different colors, which was more positive than negative for me. The rock-formation look more beatiful this way. The caves are a bit different than the other limestone caves I've visited. Not as many stalaktites and stalagmites here, but still definitely worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful landscape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

It's a very interesting place with a lot of beautiful scenery. However, almost all of the signs are written only in Chinese and I think that 60 CNY is a bit expensive, especially when you have to pay extra if you want to see any caves.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seven Star Crags (Qixing Yan) also viewed

 

Been to Seven Star Crags (Qixing Yan)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Star Crags (Qixing Yan), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.