We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silk Road Dunhuang Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Silk Road Dunhuang Hotel to your Saves list
Silk Road Dunhuang Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dunyue Road, Dunhuang 736200, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 98 Hotels in Dunhuang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
York, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A very special hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The Silk Road Dunhuang Hotel is one of these place you know you will always remember: its setting on the edge of the Gobi desert, the kindness and style of the staff, the comfort of the rooms, the delicious breakfast that you can enjoy on the terrace overlooking the dunes. The hotel staff also arranged for a driver to pick us up from the airport, take us round the sites. He was kind, flexible, discreet and above all very efficient and a good driver!

Room Tip: If you say what you want or need, Eric will make sure you get it and in style. You really feel that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    103
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
55
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

What a pleasure it was to stay at this property! You will be transported into a time of the past without enduring the hardships. The service is attentive, the rooms are beautiful and filled with character, the food services are varied and of high quality. The views from the property, especially the roof-top deck are priceless. Any concerns and special requests are handled with efficiency. Tour planning and advice is eagerly provided. You will enjoy your stay at this property.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

It's certainly one of the most expensive hotel options in town but worth every cent. The hotel is located between the town and the big and amazing sand dunes. There's a free shuttle bus going into the city every now and then, otherwise there's Taxis waiting at the front (5 to 10 Yuan). The hotel has a superb rooftop for breakfast and dinner with direct view on the sand dunes. Free WiFi in the lobby.

Eric Huang the assistant manager is the man you need to talk to (excellent English skills). He will be able to help you with whatever you need (train & flight tickets, taxi prices, etc.).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

It's hard reviewing this hotel after leaving the Hilton Beijing Wangfujing they're polar opposites. Anyway, the hotel is HUGE and has an ambiance of living in the middle East somewhat. Eric is the man to go to if you speak English. They will try their best, but it is afterall their country and we should be trying to speak Chinces, which we did. The people all over China have been so helpful and kind! THat's impressed me most. We had the suite in the castle and it was great because my husband and I both had our own bathrooms!Dinner or drinks at the coffee shop is a MUST.Any time of day works its majical, though they close at 2 and re-open I think around 5 or so. Food is good, expensive but then what do you expect.Rent a bike into town one day and walk up to the camels. Go left out of the hotel and keep walkiing you'll dead into them. See other post. Was a much needed time to relaz and refurbish before we go on.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed at the Silk Road Hotel for 3 nights, very nice and beautiful place. The view is spectacular, service is excellent. Amazingly well trained staff compared to other hotels in China. The only minor downside was the sink in the bathroom which is a design fail in our opinion.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We arrived at this hotel after a very challenging stay in Jiayuguan. This hotel was amazing. It has incredible views over the gobi desert and a restaurant that serves pretty good western and very good chinese food. The staff are wonderful, helpful and speak excellent english. The hotel will lend you bicycles so you can go and see the town and visit the dunes. It is a great point from which to see the Mogao Caves and the desert. Our room was huge, had a great view of the dunes and a comfortable bed, but the bathroom was a little small.

Room Tip: try and get a room that looks one the desert!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights on a tour. It's a beautiful and expansive property. I had lunch and dinners in their Chinese restaurant, which was really good. And their breakfast area is on top of the roof and if you sit outside you have the sand dunes as a view. It's absolutely beautiful.

My room was very comfortable. I had a king bed since I was travelling solo on a group. The downside is that you have to pay for internet (I think it was around 50 RMB a day) but they have an agreement with the tour company I traveled with so internet was free for me. There isn't a divider between the shower and the rest of the bathroom so water would leak out and leave a puddle around the toilet. It's not too much of a problem because the water drains pretty quickly but it still leaves you with a puddle around your feet.

The second day I was there I think there was some kind of party going on so when I was in my room around 9 PM I could hear the music coming in through my open window. That brings me to the point that while they do have air conditioning it doesn't really do much in cooling the room. But A/C in China in general is pretty bad and opening a window isn't much hassle (there's a screen so bugs won't fly in).

What really made me like this place was the fact that they have stuffed camels that decorate the dining areas. These are so cute and the hotel hand makes them; each camel is different. These are available for sale in the breakfast cafe area for 60RMB a camel (around $10). I think they are far cuter than the cheap ones you get downtown and in the tourist areas.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silk Road Dunhuang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silk Road Dunhuang Hotel

Address: Dunyue Road, Dunhuang 736200, China
Location: China > Gansu > Dunhuang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 98 Hotels in Dunhuang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Silk Road Dunhuang Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Silk Road Dunhuang Hotel is founded in 1995. Situated against the backdrop of the picturesque Mingsha Sand Dunes, the hotel captures the spirit of the Tang Dynasty with its unique architectural design - the large rooftops and long corridors of the Han and Tang dynasties; the typical enclosed courtyard style design and mud walls of the northwestern part of China; and the replica of the late Tang, Ming and Qing dynasties furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Expedia and HostelBookers so you can book your Silk Road Dunhuang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silk Road Hotel Dunhuang
Silk Road Dunhuang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silk Road Dunhuang Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.