We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Tang Paintings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mogao Caves

Mogao Caves
West of Hexi Zoulang, Dunhuang 736200, China
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 40 Attractions in Dunhuang
4.5 of 5 stars 378 Reviews
Type: Ancient Ruins, Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Caverns/ Caves, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the Gobi desert, the Caves of the Thousand Buddhas feature beautiful wall fresco paintings and more than 3,000 sculptures dating from the forth to the fourteenth century.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Tang Paintings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The cave paintings are beautiful and largely undamaged even though they are over 1000 years old. Go to see them before they are closed to tourists which could happen next year. The museum is also really great and shouldn't be missed.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    90
    20
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
81 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Wonder of the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

this has to be the star attraction of the silk road. Our group of 14 started our journey from xian, thru yinchuan, wuwei n finally dunhuang. We were overwhelmed by the sight of the caves n even more so when we saw the many detailed paintings on the wall of the caves.
We were fortunate to have an english speaking lady guide who was exceptional knowledgeable of the history of the paintings.
A must see place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Important Silk Road site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The luminosity of the painted caves after 1300 years of existence. An unrivaled site for over 800 years of well documented Buddhist art in the middle of a desert.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb Mogao Caves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The features such as murals and giant Buddha were in excellent condition. We had a very informative and well managed personal group tour by Kathleen who has been on the Magao Caves staff for sometime.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Looks like a low income housing complex”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The artwork in the caves is stunning. However, the efforts of the government to 'save' the caves has resulted in the outside structure resembling a housing project.
And what's with the Chinese and their paranoia about taking pictures? I wonder if it's just a scam to get you to buy postcards.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mogao Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mogao Caves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.