We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To each his own” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kaiyuan Monastery

Kaiyuan Monastery
27 Xi Jie, Quanzhou, China
Update attraction details
Ranked #1 of 68 attractions in Quanzhou
Type: Religious Sites, Architectural Buildings, Museums
Attraction Details
Singapore
2 reviews
“To each his own”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

It is a place for worship, so there isn't anything fancy for the average joe who is not into the same religion. I was glad that I went though, as I do enjoy visiting temples and Monastery.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    24
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“If you're in Quanzhou, you should probably do this one thing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Ah, Quanzhou! You legendary city, historical endpoint of the Silk Road, populous metropolis that I know and love so well! I recall with such fondness my year spent within your winding, narrow alleys...
But I digress.
Are you in Quanzhou for some reason? Would you like to kill a few hours in a relatively pleasant manner? Are you on a budget? Do you have relatively low expectations? Well sir, Kaiyuan Monastery is for you! It has everything you'd ever want in a smallish urban monastery in China. They got monks, they got incense, they got statues, and they got a lot of other stuff you'd expect to find in a place called Kaiyuan Monastery in a town like Quanzhou, China.
So come on down to Kaiyuan Monastery! Because, really, there's very little else of even mild interest in Quanzhou. But if you're there... you know, check it out.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Historical temple...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a historical temple with pagodas that were rebuilt about 700-800 years ago. So they are quite an impressive sight.

In addition, the temple itself is quite an interesting mix of culture... but you need a guide to explain it. E.g. on some of the retaining wall of the steps to the main temple, there are carvings of hindu gods (in a Chinese temple!). A guide will be able to explain the confluence of culture/religion and how it came about.

There is also a mulberry tree (桑树) that is more than a thousand years old.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xiamen, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Interesting temple with a nice calm atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I enjoyed this temple-it is not that special if you have seen a lot of Chinese temples but it has rather unusual style pagodas and the gardens are nice and relaxing.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
“walk around the park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

an average assembly of old buildings but it was interesting to see people praying in large groups looks like some places are still being built but the surrounding zhongshan street and other areas are nice for a stroll

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaiyuan Monastery also viewed

 

Been to Kaiyuan Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaiyuan Monastery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.