We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip if weather allows it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Huangshan (Yellow Mountain)

Mt. Huangshan (Yellow Mountain)
Huangshan Scenic Area, Huangshan District, Huangshan 245700, China
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 59 Attractions in Huangshan
4.5 of 5 stars 2,113 Reviews
Type: Geologic Formations, Mountains, National Parks, Lookouts, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mt. Huangshan's peak offers excellent views of the surrounding territory.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great trip if weather allows it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This has been our second trip to the Yellow Mountain and this time we were lucky with the weather. The first time, in March this year, it was foggy and it rained (apparently this is very usual on this site) and we could not see a thing except for the pine trees which were really close to the foot path. So, our advice is, if the weather is bad, do not bother to take the trip. Even in a sunny day, there will be clouds around the peaks which in this case added to the beauty of the place.
There are a three cable cars going up the mountain - we took the Yugu cable after a trip with the mountain bus. Once on top, you still need to walk quite a lot, up and down. However, all foot paths are paved so special mountain boots are not a must if it does not rain. We walked for approx. 2 hours (with a lot of picture breaks) to the Clouds Dispelling Pavilion where the Great (West Sea) Canyon starts. We only walked down in the canyon approx. 1 km to a very nice bridge and then up again. If you wish to see the canyon - which we think is a great thing to do, you should better take the Taiping cable car which brings you very close to the start of the canyon.
It can get very crowded at some of the "scenic" spots and it sometimes feel quite unsafe with so many people on a small platform above the abyss.
Food is available on top of the mountain but is expensive and not really nice so if you can, come prepared with a sandwich. Toilets are available in a few locations. Smoking is only allowed in restricted areas, usually near the hotels.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,440
    572
    85
    3
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cyberjaya, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Breath-Taking Mountains & Valleys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Apart from the crowd and rather pricy board expenses, everything else is good. The scenes are magnificent. Nature shows its facet in its marvelous way. We simply love this well-preserved landscape with plenty of peculiar stones and pines. The UNESCO world heritage Hongcun Village located near Mt. Huangshan is absolutely a 'must visit' spot too.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
“I love Mt.huangshan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Mt.huangshan, it is really amazing sightseeing place in china, is the most beautiful mountain i have ever seen. it took two days to see all the atrractions. my favorite is west sea vallley,is more beuatiful and mystyrious than my word expression.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pernes-les-Fontaines, France
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A long walk but very worthwhile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We trekked up the mountain on a cold and wet day which was not perfect for the views but we still enjoyed ourselves. The walk was very tiring and very long as did not take the cable car on the way up. Because of the weather, there were not many people. We were very grateful to reach the hotel at the top and enjoyed our dinner. The next day we trekked down on the other side via the fairy bridge and the 100 step staircase. It was a better day weather wise so there were many more people. One thing that is incredible is that we were struggling to get to the top but then there are local people carrying laundry and hotel supplies up and down as though it was only a quick walk.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“The climb of a lifetime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We decided to walk up Huangshan vs taking the touristy cable car. Long queues abound
for the cable car. Before this, our guide steven told us it takes
most people 4hrs to walk up the 6km route via the western entrance. We climbed fast
and did it in a record-breaking 2.5hrs but it is not recommended for children, old
folks above 50 or people who are not physically fit. There are very very few guides
that
will walk up and down the course and steven is one of the rare ones (Most guides
will just take the cable car and wait for the walkers at the cable car station on
top whilst the walkers rant and pant up the mountain), plus he speaks good english
and knows all the sights and sounds of Huangshan well, being a native born here. The
temptation to give up is omnipresent at every 100m but once u start climbing up the
neverending steps, there is no turning back except to go all the way down the
mountain to take the popular cable-car. Even
for guys who have done marathons like us, this vertical marathon is still one hell
of a workout,,,,it is an achievement to climb up the hard way. But for the weaker
ones, it is not recommended to climb 'cos the climb is not scenic, super-tiring, and
will weaken your knees and calves for more walking & climbing which is needed after
you reach the top. We figured the climb up is 6.5 - 7.5km, and once you reach the
top (ie the cable-car station), you still have about 20km of sightseeing and
climbing so the smart ones should reserve their stamina for the walking/climbing at
the peak, not walking up from the base of the mountain.

From the top, to see all the sights, it is still 10-12km of up and down stairs, not
as tiring as the climb up but still not a walk in the park so recommend the weaker
ones to maximise their holiday by taking the cable car which takes only 8 mins and
will send you up to the clouds, still in relatively good spirits. We saw a lot of
white-faced climbers during our climb and concur this walk up is not for the
fainthearted.

Huangshan is one hell of a avatar. It is really inspiring to see all the various
peaks, canyons, pines that bent at impossible angles and that fresh tingling air, a
rarity in china. Words can't do it justice, this is a masterpiece that only God
could have drawn,,,the morning mist, the changing colours of the peaks frm day to
dusk, no wonder it has inspired so many poets and literary figures, drawn by this
natural beauty carved over millions of years. We can spent long moments just sitting
at one of the many peaks and watch the colours change over this awesome visual
feast. Sunsets are fair more beautiful, colourful and quiet than the super-packed
sunrise (and you have to sacrifice precious sleeptime and fight over sitting space).
At sunset, we can sit here quietly and experience real moments.

There are a fair bit of dining options at the various major attractions and peaks
but standards are basic and notably cost more, as every grain of rice, water etc
must be carried up by porters physically. And dont expect Michellin standards. Just
adequate to sit down, fill your hunger and go. Apples are a good fruit to eat,
crunchy and available everywhere.

The way down by the eastern route near the famous Single Pine and Jade Screen Hotel
takes 7.5km of steps and is a real test of your knee-caps. Though more leisurely
than the walkup, it is still taxing of a different sort. The usual time required is
1.5hrs but we
managed to sprint down in our own record of 37mins with no stops. Again, other than
a test of resolve, stamina and knee-cap, it offers no scenery at all. So other than
those wanting to prove a point to themselves, the wiser is advised to take the cable
down and finish with their fond memories of huangshan mountain intact without the
pain and the sweat (buckets!). Not to mention the knee and thigh ache that will last
for the next 2-3 days....as well as places that ache that you never know existed.

Total no of steps in huangshan, up and down and throughout the mountain range via
all the various peaks is about 60,000 steps.

It is recommended to see all the sights and sounds, we will need a full 2 days and 1
night and avoid weekends and chinese public holidays. Day 1, climb up to the western
mountains in the morning, overnight in one of the few hotels there depending on
budget and visit the peaks on the western side. Day 2, wake up early to see the
sunrise, eat a leisurely breakfast, then trek 10-12km to see all the various sights
and peaks stretching to the eastern peak. Then at the eastern peak where the cable
car station is incl the famous single pine that is more than 800 yrs old, you can
decide if you want to take the 8 mins ride down or test your kneecaps for the 7.5km
downhill trek.

Review of Beihai Hotel
4-star on the mountain can't be compared with 4-star in the city plus being a
typical chinese hotel, beds are super-hard, showers don't work well, sanitary
conditions are basic, bathroom floods when showering, no coffee facilities and
aircon is either very cold or off. But this hotel being the hotel where all the
chinese leaders stay when visiting huangshan, it has a elaborate dining hall and a
lux presidential suite. But location at the scenic West Mt is fantastic. U can take
scenic walks up a few peaks all nearby for fantastic views of the avatar-like Mt
huangshan. And the west mountains is great place to see the sunset (more colourful
and scenic and less crowded) vs waking up at 5am, and jostling for your dear lives
just to see a 15 second sunrise, usually semi-blocked by pine trees or bobbing
heads....) The foot massage in the hotel was a welcome delight after a long day of
climbing and walking. The service was professional and value for money.
Sent via BlackBerry from SingTel!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Huangshan (Yellow Mountain) also viewed

 

Been to Mt. Huangshan (Yellow Mountain)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. Huangshan (Yellow Mountain), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.