We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel despite the cold” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beihai Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Beihai Hotel to your Saves list
Beihai Hotel
Beihai Scenic Area, Huangshan 242709, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 402 Hotels in Huangshan
3.0 of 5 stars 264 Reviews
Kanchanaburi, Thailand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel despite the cold”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Hotel is beautifully located. Rooms are spacious and clean, although it was a bit cold and there is no heating at the time we were there. We had ala carte for dinner which was very good. The buffet looked good too but food is expensive. However, the drinks were quite reasonable although we were told that it was very expensive.

I have to say that I was very apprehensive about this hotel after reading all the numerous negative remarks. Hence I was totally surprised when I arrived and found that most of the remarks are untrue.

Although the price may be a little bit more steep than those at the bottom of the hill, we have to remember that everything that is needed for the hotel to operator has to be hand carried up by the porters all the way from the bottom of the hill. It seems the porters are not allowed to use the cable cars to transfer the goods part way.

I would say that this hotel is worth the price we paid for.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    85
    99
    41
    21
See reviews for
28
56
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Room is rather small, aging and humid, they really need maintenance and immediate refurbishing. Electric kettle, electric bed heater and rain coat are available in the room. Hot water is available. Chinese TV channels only. No recreation facilities, except small groceries shop, coffee shop and massage parlor. Everything sold here is more expensive than other towns nearby. Nothing wrong with that, as the location is up in the mountain peak and it took labors to carry everything to all hotels in the same vicinity. So, if you somehow got unlucky, like stranded in heavy mists, so you won't be able to see the sceneries of Huangshan peak in a clear vision, then staying in this hotel is just painful. Huangshan peak only has 60ish clear days in a year, the rest are mostly blanketed with mists.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Having stayed in some pretty poor hotels in China, this beat them all! Listed as a four star hotel, it was a joke. Both bedrooms for my wife and I and for my daughters were musty and the beds damp with bugs. The hotel offered us other rooms on 5th floor which were even worse, ceilings black with moss and beds made from wooden boards! The food was a disgrace to Chinese cuisine and having lived in these parts for more than 20 years, I should know! Not much choice up a mountain but the second night at the Bai Yun hotel was better (but still not 4 star!) Would recommend making a day trip of mountain hike and residing on the better hotels near bottom of mountain.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Beihai Hotel, North Sea Scenic Area is about 30mins hike from Yungu Cable Car Station, one of the nearest hotel from Cable Car Station and 15 mins walk to view sunrise at Lion's Peak. We booked the chalet for RMB660 per per night instead of the hotel room which is a double the price of the chalet. The chalet is small, hardly space to walk and put the luggage. No heater in the room but they provide thick jackets for guests.

Though expensive for budget accommodation, there aren't many options to choose from as most of the hotels are price at RMB1200 and above per night. The chalets are considered to be one of the cheapest accommodation apart from the dormitories.

Our main complain about the chalet would be the stinky smell. Due to the weather up on the mountain, the bathroom is constantly damp and that cause the bad smell in the room. We were put off by the smell the instant we open the door. If you intend to stay in the chalet, it's best to bring along some room freshener to hide the smell.

Not sure whether the hotel rooms are better than the chalet. We were considering upgrading to the hotel room when we overheard other guests complaining about a group of people playing 'mahjong' throughout the night and disrupted other guests. Hence we decided not to upgrade and bear with the smell instead.

Food and beverage is expensive due to transportation cost. Most of the things have to be hand carried by the porters such as building materials, laundry, food, etc. Average RMB60 per person per meal. A bottle of mineral water (1.5 litre) cost around RMB15. Instant noodles cost about RMB10 per cup. A small torch light cost us RMB28.

The weather up on the mountain is unpredictable. It's best come prepared. The day we arrived, it was raining and the mist was thick. The following day, it was sunny with clear blue sky.

It's best to overnight on top of the mountain. You will get to enjoy sunset and sunrise view as the cable car station close around 4.30pm and open at 6.30am. Sun rise at 5.10am but people start to hike up around 4am.

Paiyunlou Hotel, West Sea Scenic Area is the best place to stay if you are interested to view sunset. It's the nearest hotel to West Sea Grand Canyon, around 10mins walk and looks like one of the best hotel on top of the mountain. However it's nearer to Taiping Cable Car Station instead of Yungu.

If you are travelling with a heavy luggage, it's best to keep the luggage at the base of the station or the hotel nearby. Each person is allowed to bring up to 5kg luggage without additional surcharge.

As for the service and bed, it's all the same in China. They have never heard of the word "Customer Service" and the bed is always hard, unless you are staying in a 5 star International Brand hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

The room was musty and mildewy with stains on the carpeting. The mountain air leaves the room and all the contents feeling damp. The place is busy and noisy with the mountian breezed slamming guests doors behind them often during the night and for the sunrise viewers... BUT, the location and view was amazing. Playing cards and drinking tea on the terrasse with the beautiful mountains surrounding us will remain in our memories for a long time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel. It is an hour walk from the Yungu New Cableway station and 15 to 20min walk to view the sunrise.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

We were extremely disappointed with this hotel. I had read reviews before our trip and was led to believe by our travel agent that it was about the best option. I think the hotel was worse than some of the reviews gave it credit for and our travel agent clearly did not have the most up to date info on the hotels on the mountain. It is certainly not a 4-star hotel, not even by Chinese standards, the food was poor and both the food and drinks were expensive. In fact, lots of the locals took their own picnic food.
There is quite a lot of re-building of hotels at the top of the mountain, so if you are thinking of going, I would suggest you make sure you have the most up to date information on the hotels. The scenery is beautiful but It's not the quietest place on earth!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beihai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beihai Hotel

Address: Beihai Scenic Area, Huangshan 242709, China
Location: China > Anhui > Huangshan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Huangshan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Beihai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beihai Hotel Huangshan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beihai Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.