We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xihai Hotel

Save Saved
You added Xihai Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Xihai Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Xihai Scenic Spot, Huangshan 242709, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 353 hotels in Huangshan
Paris, France
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
295 helpful votes 295 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We booked on ctrip...2 nights in a Queen Room (level 6) with mountain view.

Clean and very comfortable room. You can make tea (only tea, no coffee) in the room. Of course, you have to book a room in the new building. It's a modern hotel with nice design. Good location.

Staff is very friendly and helpful but their english is quite average.
The breakfast is really very good. Its a buffet. Cost 88 RMB. it worths the price.

Huangshan is an amazing place to stay. if I had known, I would stay one more day.
Excellent experience...So we recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    39
    34
    9
    5
See reviews for
14
21
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Like other reviewers, thanks to Leslie R for pointing out the new hotel.

It is indeed very modern and clean - even has wifi. Since there is a lot of humidity up in the mountains, the rooms had a very very slight musty smell. Based on reviews of other older hotels, I'm pretty sure this is a major plus for the newer wing.

The rooms in the new wing are definitely 4 star quality or better. Also once you climb the mountain, you have to appreciate how much effort and time it took to haul materials and fixtures for the new wing. This includes food and water so we didn't mind paying a little more, especially after seeing men haul up heavy items & supplies on their shoulders.

Also like other reviewers, best to book directly with hotel and make sure you get confirmation that your reservation is for the newer wing. We were lucky and booked our rooms through Ctrip.com and when asked, they confirmed that our room is in the new building. HOWEVER if you make any changes you may get charged by Ctrip where the hotel will not penalize you. Yes, English is not well spoken outside of Shanghai, Beijing, & Hong Kong so be prepared for this.

Even though I spoke some Mandarin, don't expect too much expert knowledge from the staff with regards to trails etc. I mentioned to them we wanted to climb down the west side of the mountain to the bottom and if this was feasible in less than 3 hours. They said yes, so off we went. They failed to tell us that the trail was in repair and you can only make it a little more than 1/2 way down the mountain. So we ended up having to hike all the way back to take the east cable car down. Barely made it in time before the cable car shut down!

Other than poor visibility of our trip due to fog/rain, we had a great stay and there were still moments of clearing for awesome views.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I knew beforehand that this hotel has an old wing and a new 5-star new wing. I booked through Agoda. For $160 a night, I thought I was booking a room in the new wing. I did call the hotel trying to confirm but they couldn't as the bookings aren't sent from Agoda to the hotel until the day of checkin. I should have called Agoda but thought it was unnecessary. Of course I got the old wing and a motel room. Had I cut the middle man and booked directly with the hotel, $160 would have been enough for the new wing. Their website is not well built. You may need a Chinese friend to help make the bookings for you. http://www.hsxihaihotel.cn/index.html

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Everything that went into building and furnishing this hotel had to be hoisted up the mountain. Quite some feat!! The rooms are generous and well apportioned. (However, at 6mo, it is already showing signs of wear and tear.) The lobby is grand, as all lobbies are in China. The service is adequate. The staff tries hard to please.

Note: do not open the little packet of toiletries in the bathroom unless you want to pay 25rmb for things you already have. The hotel will do a room check before your account is settled. And, they will charge you for the the 25rmb!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountain are definitely better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I have read about this hotel on TripAdvisor but this hotel exceeded my expectations. The new section is really top notch, the rooms are sparkling clean, with all the modern amenities and tastefully decorated. The rate was RMB880, that is about US$150. I think this is very reasonable given that it is a 4+ star hotel (in my estimation) on a mountain. For this price, I think it is a very reasonable value for money. Staff spoke some English, were very well dressed but maybe lacked some professionalism - which does not bother me. Definitely the best hotel to stay on the top of the mountain. The restaurant is expensive but again is on the mountain. The buffet breakfast is expensive too ($20) but was good.

Room Tip: My room faced a concrete wall - try to get the room facing the front of the hotel - but that one may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario, Argentina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I booked the hotel through Ctrip. I had been told in advance that due to the location the hotels in the area are much more expensive than one would expect for the quality so I was prepared for that. Upon arrival I tried to check in to the new section of the hotel (very nice) but was told I was in the old section across the bridge so walked over there. The lobby, the cafe and the room were all pretty shabby but the bed and bedding were nice, the shower hot and powerful and the TV had adequate channels. I will visit Huangshan again and will likely stay in a different hotel as there was nothing at the Xihai that I could not find elsewhere.

Room Tip: Give them a call in advance and see what the rates are for the nice section of the hotel. If it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Average hotel that charges very high prices because of their location. It is almost on top of Huangshan (Shilin and Beihai hotels are much better located) and is actually divided in two completely different hotels. I stayed in the old and tired 'North Villa', an old and tired big concrete building with old and tired rooms and this is were 'cheap' guests stay; room was small but comfortable enough and clean. The shiny, luxury new building is just across a stream (bridge, stairs) and has a very good but pricey restaurant and a convenience / tourist shop. As Huangshan is becoming more and more popular there are currently major development plans for the hotel but this cause no noise or disturbance.
Reception staff speak very, very basic English and service is quite poor with slow and complicated check-in and check-out procedures but I only came up here for the mountains and used the hotel to sleep and eat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Xihai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xihai Hotel

Address: Xihai Scenic Spot, Huangshan 242709, China
Location: China > Anhui > Huangshan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Huangshan
#16 Best Value Hotel in Huangshan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Xihai Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Hotels.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Xihai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xihai Hotel Huangshan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xihai Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.