We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UNFORGETTABLE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pig's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huangshan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pig's Inn
Renrang Li, Xidi Town, Huangshan, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 114 Huangshan B&B and Inns
UK
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“UNFORGETTABLE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This hotel is unique, it is a work of art. Stunning rooms set around a traditional Chinese courtyard house with all mod cons. Breakfast, Lunch and dinner can be provided at an extra cost and are very good too.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    8
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
15
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Unique experience of sleeping in typical and so well renewed An'hui house in Xidi, the UNESCO protected village. The women take care of you for eating or anything else, like driving you somewhere at a correct price. Sleeping at the Pig's Heaven is not cheap but it's worth of it !

It's really a unique opportunity to sleep in this authentic and historical village.

The house is very clean, and even if you can see or hear mouses, they will never come in and the room is perfectly clean and protected from outside :-) The whole house is very charming and comfortable. They offer high-speed Internet for free, including Wifi.

The rooms are very well decorated, furniture and all equipment being at the same time authentic and new/in good shape. Air conditioning is present in every room and very efficient.

About location related to Huang Shan (Yellow Mountains) : Maybe to go to the mountains it's better to stay closer to the mountains, but I stayed in Xidi all the time and it was OK. There is a bus everyday at 50 meters at 7:40, and you can come back with a driver that the guest house will organize for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at the Pig's Inn in both Xidi and Bishan. Pig's Inn Xidi was rustic but sweet and atmospheric -the building is said to be over 400 years old and is a good base from which to explore Huangshan and Hongcun (which I found more photogenic than Xidi). Lovely easy-going service from the ladies who worked there. We stayed in one of their big rooms upstairs, which was relatively light and airy and very comfortable. Some of the smaller rooms on the ground floor looked dark - as it rained non-stop when we were there, I appreciated being in a less dark / damp room.

My abiding memory of the place is sitting on the roof terrace and soaking in the truly spectacular view of the Hui-style houses with the misty hills in the background. This was followed by a tasty and healthy home-cooked meal in the courtyard downstairs. Just lovely.

Bishan was billed (by some of the press I read online) as more "up-market" than Xidi. Other than the bathrooms, I don't really agree. It's about the same rustic standard and because it seemed to have fewer visitors than the property at Xidi, it didn't feel as cosy and lived-in (e.g. spider webs across sofas in the lounge area and at night, a couple of roaches reared their creepy heads!). The property at Xidi just had a better vibe. We walked and cycled around Bishan and although it was a pleasant rural village (with a mix of old and new houses), I'm not really sure what the village itself offered to visitors. However, we did go at a very rainy time, so perhaps we didn't catch the best side of Bishan. There's an interesting Chinese artist who is currently building another guest house in Bishan so it would be interesting to see how that turns out.

In terms of rates, they are on the high-side for a guest house in China but I think Pigs Inn Xidi is just about worth it for the special chance to stay in such an old and atmospheric property.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

After a lot of back road driving in the darkness, we arrived at what i can only describe as the most amazing and traditional hotel i have ever stayed at. We had the honey moon suite, and private dining area in the garden. Food was excellent and the proprietor stayed up chatting with us and is a very nice individual. All staff were amazing and I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

The Pig's Inn is a traditional 400 year old, 3 storied Huizhou style stone house at the edge of Xidi village. At the time of our stay it was not listed on Trip Advisor and we read about it in the Asia Business Traveller Magazine. I contacted the owner via email and she promptly replied in English. When you arrive the staff do not speak English so if you know some Mandarin it helps greatly.
They also have another guesthouse at Bishan which is about 10 minutes by car from Xidi. The rooms there are more upmarket and slightly pricier but we like the atmosphere of Xidi.


This was our second visit to Xidi and this time we visited in winter - as with the other nearby famous villages there were no crowds and it had a completely different feel to the last time ( which was extremely crowded). Yes it was cold but we were compensated by snow on the rooftops & dusting the surrounding scenery. The lack of crowds was a huge plus and you virtually have the village to yourself with a smattering of people at that time of year.

We also organized a car thru the Pig's Inn at RMB 300 per day with a non English speaking driver. The owner can also organize an English speaking guide if you need one to take you thru the villages. Some villages in the area ( not Xidi) do offer a guide with the price of your entrance ticket, but in Chinese only. I only just managed, with my limited Mandarin, to translate for everyone but in retrospect I wish I had have taken the option of paying for an English speaking guide to accompany us.

The Pig;s Heaven Inn is beautiful, full of nooks, crannies, courtyards and the traditional sky wells to let in the light, air & rain. Open some of the little windows or go to the room at the top of the building for some great views of Xidi.

There are 6 uniquely furnished rooms in all & we booked 2 of the larger rooms & the price included breakfast - the large suite on the 2nd floor was RMB880 and the smaller suite on the ground floor was RMB680. The smaller suite had 2 beds, ensuite & separate ante room. The larger suite had one Queen size bed, ensuite and separate anteroom. Both rooms were a good size, beds had electric blankets, there was reverse cycle aircon / heating, bathrooms were heated, showers were open style with plenty of hot water, toilets were western. Because it was winter the owner also supplied extra electric heaters. The rooms also had a TV & the fast Wifi was free. We didn't use the ante rooms as it was a battle just to keep the bedrooms heated.

The owner & the other girls working there were fantastic and really tried their hardest to please.
As well as breakfast we also took the option of ordering our other meals there - so delicious. You don't get to choose as it is a set menu of about 5 to 6 dishes plus rice and the menu varied - we never got the same thing twice. Noodles, fish, potato, hot pot, pork, greens, vegetables. The food was Anhui style which is one of the 8 major Chinese cuisines. We were traveling with our teenage ( fussy eater) daughter & her friend and were amazed that they loved the food so much. The food just kept coming and the 4 of us never managed to eat it all.

To sum up - don't stay if you are expecting 4 to 5 star because the Pig's Heaven Inn isn't and doesn't claim to be. What you get is a relaxed & comfortable stay in a piece of history. Very charming and unique.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

It was the best stay of our trip to Anhui/Jiangxi. But then we paid 3-4 times as much as other places, so one would expect a difference. Lovely boutique style home stay in old Hui Zhou styled house in XiDi. Paid 680RMB for large twin room with sitting area outside the room incl basic Chinese style breakfast. Nice and clean but don't expect 5 or even 4 star....it is the village/home stay experience you are going for! Lovely ambiance and restored beautifully. The girls/staff were lovely and friendly. Booked by phoning them - they don't speak any English, so practise your Chinese or get someone to do it for you! They can also arrange transport to and from the Huangshan Airport in Tunxi - 200RMB one way per car. Good if you have a group of you! You also have to pay a village entrance fee of 80 RMB pp before you enter XiDi Village. It is good staying the night in these villages as you can get up early the next day to take photos - without the Chinese flag bearing tourist hoards ruining your photos. Get up and out by 6:30am and spend 1 to 1.5 hrs out in the village in peace. The tourist hoards arrive around 8:00am. Don't know why everyone is banging on about the fantastic food in PH Inn though. I personally thought it was overpriced and fairly average village food. For 100 RMB we got 3 small dishes - the usual fried tomato and egg, the usual braised pork and some other extremely innocuous veg dish that I can't even remember!!! There was hardly any meat even in the pork dish. Not what I would call a fantastic Chinese gourmet experience. No local specialties. Not even the stinky Mandarin fish wish I was very much looking forward to. A bit disappointing. No choice either. It was just put in front of us to eat and we were charged later. Anyway, minor point as we did enjoy our experience there.

Next time I go, I would choose the P.H. Inn alternative in BiShan - as this is in a more natural setting and you don't have to pay a village entry fee. But then it is a different sort of village to Hong Cun and Xi Di. This place would make a good base to visit Hong Cun and surrounding villages. They also have mountain bikes for use at PH Inn BiShan (not necessary at Xi Di). PH Inn at Bishan is more spacious but also more expensive apparently.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Only had one night in one of the smaller rooms but this little guest was perfect. Wish I could have stayed longer. The dinner and breakfast were great home-cooked meals, the common areas were comfortable. The Pigs Head Inn is a must if you're going to Huangshan or nearby areas.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pig's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pig's Inn

Address: Renrang Li, Xidi Town, Huangshan, China
Location: China > Anhui > Huangshan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Huangshan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pig's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pig's Inn to your Saves list