We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hui Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hui Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Hui Boutique Hotel
1.0 of 5 Guest house   |   No.3 Lihong Alley, Huangshan 245000, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 151 Huangshan B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

if you like an hotel with lots of charm and authenticity, do not hesitate to go to this hotel.
Double rooms are much better decorated. You really have the feel of Old China.
The staff is very friendly even if the communication is not easy ..
Weakness: breakfast - very light

Room Tip: Go for the double room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
25
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This was a real experience staying here, I have no idea how we found it but luckily we had a guide! It is ideally situated once you do realise where exactly you are! We loved Huangshan & got up early to experience the locals down by the river, all so friendly. The staff are very friendly if not much english although a couple of times we saw the owner who spoke perfect english with a lovely friendly dog. Nothing was too much trouble however. We even had some laundry done. The rooms are very authentic & it is a true Hui house. We loved this aspect. Breakfast was the only negative, a banana & a cold poached egg with toast was pretty poor. Why we cant have chinese noodles just because we are western I have no idea. We skipped breakfast the second day & thought we would find somewhere local but nowhere was open..there is an opportunity there! We left our bags on our last day as we were flying out late, again nothing was too much for them & we were given an area to sit & unwind till later

Room Tip: we had a room on the second floor which was lovely with a spare bed in it even
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We wandered up, down, and around the alleys for about 2 hours before we finally found the Hui Boutique Hotel. The hotel website (http://www.huistylehotel.com/) has a good map.

We had booked our room online for 350 RMB, a considerably steeper price than our stay outside of Old Town. However, the location was ideal—smack in the center of charming old town. The staff was friendly and the hotel was clean, neat, and reminiscent of ancient China. We spent the evening relaxing.

For more info about Huang Shan and pics:
http://www.freeradicalsinchina.com/2013/11/misty-mountain-hop.html

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed at the Hui Boutique Hotel in the old part of HuangShan at Tunxi. If you travel by bus to HuangShan it is a short trip to the hotel from the bus terminal in a taxi. The cost is around 7rmb (just over 1 AUD). Get the taxi driver to phone the hotel and they will meet you on Old Street as it is hard to find at first. You have to walk about 50 yards through a narrow lane way.

Once inside the hotel it is a gem from the past. The rooms are ornate but don't expect the Hilton. The entire construction is timber. The bathroom is modern and like the rest of the hotel, very clean. The staff are very friendly with one speaking fairly good English. You can make yourself understood with a little patience.

The mattress on the bed is thin but that didn't stop a good nights sleep. The bed is something like an en closed 4 posters. Television is provided but no bar fridge. The hotel has a washing machine you can use and you can also use their kitchen.

Breakfast is 20rmb each for either a western or Chinese style. It is not a huge breakfast but then again it is very cheap.

Turn left into the lane way outside the hotel and walk 30 metres into a beautiful old Chinese world. Shops and restaurants are everywhere. It is safe day and night to walk through or ride through in a pedal rick shaw.

This old hotel is friendly and a wonderful and relaxing break from the large sterile hotels of the major cities.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights after visiting Mount Huangshan. It's a lovely restored hotel from two former Ming houses, along a little lane (signposts at each end) from the busy Old Street. Our room was small but comfortable, with lovely antique furniture, as features throughout the hotel. The staff are thoughtful and helpful- they even dried and folded some washing we had hanging in the bathroom! Breakfast is fine- not full range buffet, but you're not paying for that! The Old Street is full of cafés, restaurants and all manner of shops. Key things are ink stones and calligraphy. One shop has a wooly mammoth tusk in the window with a sign in Chinese saying 'no photographs'- we suspected that was because it was illegal to have such a thing! The Street does get crowded with mostly Chinese tour groups, who stock up on food and tea from the shops. But the bustle is charming in its own way, and if you go out early morning you can see people setting up shop before the crowds. One highlight, but overlooked by most is the private Wancullou Museum which is on a corner in the Old Street. It costs 50 yuan to visit, which seems to deter people, but we spent a fabulous time there, with a young lady on staff taking us through the four floors of treasures and explaining it all very well. It's a haven of quiet from the noise of the street and you get a great view from the roof garden. And back to the hotel, it's a slice of old China and for those who don't need all the creature comforts of the high end chain hotels, this is a brilliant place to stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We travelled through the eastern part of China for 3 weeks (not the first time). This was the best place we stayed ever!! Opened just a few months ago and therefore not mentioned in the guide book, we were very delighted to find this place by chance.
Hui Style Hotel is a small Boutique Hotel, located in an alley in the old part of Tunxi.
Every detail in the rooms and in the whole building was made with love and with taste. The atmosphere is wonderful, intimate and special. The owner and the staff are very friendly and helpfull. It was a great pleasure to stay there!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Antique furnishings and the most exquisite traditional courtyard. Rooms are small and traditional open concept (so no privacy for bathroom and you can hear everything going on in the hotel). Very comfie beds and clean, high-quality sheets and duvets. Excellent location on Tunxi old street- wander up and down the streets (open late until 9:30pm) and lots of small cafes and bistros along the cobblestone street (no cars allowed in the area).

Room Tip: The upstairs room might be a bit quieter away from the lobby and kitchen area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hui Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hui Boutique Hotel

Address: No.3 Lihong Alley, Huangshan 245000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Anhui > Huangshan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Huangshan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hui Boutique Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Hui Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hui Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.