We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paiyunlou Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Paiyunlou Hotel to your Saves list
Paiyunlou Hotel
Xihai Tourism Resort, Huangshan District, Huangshan 242709, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 404 Hotels in Huangshan
Pingxiang
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfectly adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

I'd read a few really bad reviews about this hotel but it was fine! It's on the top of a mountain and all supplies are carried up on the backs of porters - it would be crazy to expect 5 star luxury. But the room was clean and comfortable and the food was fine. Everything was expensive in comparison but I went in the off-peak season and booked in advance online so it didn't break the bank.

A lady on the front desk spoke a bit of English but if you've booked in advance (recommended) then you won't have any troubles.

Overall - the cheapest option on the main peak circuit and a perfectly acceptable night's stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    55
    48
    13
    3
See reviews for
7
7
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Booking via internet was not a problem but payment and securing the room reservation was not hassle-free. We called and emailed the front desk staff but were told that room cannot be guaranteed without payment but they could only accept China banks or bank card payments, not even Unionpay overseas. So we took the trouble to find Bank of China when we landed to make the payment..to cut it short, it was not without worries of being up in the mountains without a room.

On arrival, front desk was not at all friendly, made no eye contact and threw our passports back at us after they were done with registering. Despite being polite and saying thank you, we were not met with the same degree of politeness.

Brushing all these aside, we checked into our room. It was the new wing of the hotel and the room looked pleasant and nice, but not for long. When weslotted the master key card into the electricity source slot, almost hidden behind the curtain, 2 baby cockcroaches scrambled away. We requested for an insecticide, thinking that those would be the only ones around due to lack of occupancy. While waiting for the staff to bring it to our room, at least another 4-5 cockroaches were found...as the carpet was in a brown colour, it was quite hard to spot at first. I was terrified and asked for a change of room because it was at a lower level, and the surrounding could be quite dark and moist. The perfect place for bugs to breed.

We were told that it was the rainy season that has brought about this phenomenon, and they could not guarantee bug-free environment. The front desk staff who attended to our request even told us that there's even cockroaches in the main lobby. The room was in the older wing, but was on a higher level. After inspection, no bugs were found. But the room was quite old and the toilet seat was broken. Unlike in the new wing, hair-dryer was not provided, when asked for, cash deposit of 100RMB was required. And we could only use it for half an hour.

Breakfast was not included in the rate, was 30RMB/person. Food was ok but compared to other parts of China, it was considered expensive. Do bring enough cash if you want to go for massage. Massage can be done in your room.

Would still recommend the hotel due to it's good location, ask for a room in the new wing (but pray for a non-cockroach season), because the old wing's room are really not in tip top shape.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

I booked Paiyunlou hotel because it is only 250m away from Taiping Cable car station and it has triple rooms.
After hiking from Yuping cable car station for a few hours, we were pleasantly surprised by how nice the hotel looks. The toilet is clean ( appears quite new) and the hot showers is refreshing.
It is also very near to the cloud dispelling pavilion.
It is an easy and scenic walk( lovely flowers and more plants) to Xihai, Beihai and shilin hotels.
The view from the Taiping cable car( we descend using this cable car) is better than that from the Yuping cable car. We saw the sea of clouds here.
Breakfast provided is simple but sufficient.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

Choose this hotel only if you're a tour guide, seriously, a Chinese tour guide.
We booked this hotel before we left for China and upon our arrival the people at the reception behaved as if they had never heard of us and tried to push us a luxury room (we had booked 2 standards), which was the only room free, according to them. We asked the receptionist to search through their list again for our room, which she did not do but instead, insisted that they would have called us and confirmed the room on that very morning, had we really booked with the hotel, which was either a very lame excuse since we were already climbing the mountain that morning and could never have gotten her call anyway, or a very short-sighted and useless measure of confirming bookings on their side - why not call us BEFORE we climb? What was the use of booking beforehand?
Talking about useless measures: while being ignored at the counter I stared at their medieval system of managing the bookings, which consisted of - yes - just pen and a big piece of paper, on which ticks and circles and scrawny words and the likes were made and erased and made again. I was trying like hell to find our name there, which, of course, was to no avail, not only due to the mess of it all on the sheets, but also their reluctance to let me look at it by insisting the whole time that all who had booked had already checked in. Noticing that the receptionist must have given our rooms to a tour guide beforehand (who had shoved himself in between and asking for 4 more rooms, which he had not booked but desperately needed for his group), I asked her how could she do that and what were we supposed to do then, for we were on the summit and the sun had already set in the meantime (they only had 1 receptionist at the counter to deal with at least 20 people trying to check in, not including the tour groups) and we would have to hike through the dark on the mountain to the next hotel which we didn't even know where, she just ignored us with the take it or leave it attitude. Not even an impulse from her to try and call the surrounding hotels for us, considering that they had lost our reservations and got us into such a situation in the first place!
At the end we had no choice but to take the luxury room, which was clean and nice and all that, yes, except that the heater did not work. So i went to sleep with a pullover and wool long johns and socks. In a "luxury" room. No breakfast included.

Never again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Paiyunlou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paiyunlou Hotel

Address: Xihai Tourism Resort, Huangshan District, Huangshan 242709, China
Location: China > Anhui > Huangshan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 404 Hotels in Huangshan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Paiyunlou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paiyunlou Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.