We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Huangshan Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Huangshan Golf Resort to your Saves list
Huangshan Golf Resort
No.78 Yingbin Avenue, Huangshan 245000, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 404 Hotels in Huangshan
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Interesting hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stay here with a Hong Kong Huang Shan travel group for two separate nights. The first night stays in 2nd floor of building 8, the second night in 3rd floor of building 8. (It may not be building 8, but all room number starts with 8)

The hardwares in both room are execllent, nice bed and shower including a large bath. The rooms are large by any standard.

The morning breakfast is large but it is clearly design for Chinese customer. There are some western items and they looks OK to me. I tried the coffee, it is pretty poor. I did not try any other western item since I always eat local food. The Chinese breakfast is average, in my opinion.

However, like most Chinese hotels, you will notice the hotel seems missing some personal touch. The stuffs are cold and mechnical.

Wifi is available in the lobby area only. Room has LAN internet, but no wifi.

Overall, it is excellent. It may not be 5 stars by US standrad. But it is better than most 4 star US hotel.

Room Tip: Floor higher than the 2nd floor has real balcony, so insist on a higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    58
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
7
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This 5 Star Hotel was only five minutes from the airport and offered free airport transfers. We stayed in Building 3, on the 8th floor, the most modern of the 3 buildings on the enormous golf course site. Building 3 also contained the Western Restaurant. The staff in this Hotel did not speak English, only the assistant manager, and the Hotel’s English web site was very poor – we were unable to book the room directly with the Hotel, which we would have preferred, but were forced to use Ctrip. Staff tried very hard to be helpful. Breakfast was in the Western Restaurant which had many Chinese choices, Westerners could order fried eggs and bacon. We stayed in the Executive Deluxe room which had a comfy king size bed with views of the golf course. It was more like a suite than a room as it was 54 sqm and very nice. The safe was bolted down. We were given 5 free pieces of fruit each day. We had our evening meal in the Hotel each night which was very nice. We also used the Hotel car & driver for two day trips – an Audi A6L - which ensured our safe and comfortable journey. The negatives of this Hotel for us were:- smoking was allowed in the lobby and in the lift. Access between the 8th floor lift and our hotel room floor was a pathway about 50 meters long that was uncovered and poorly lit – walking along the path at night to go to dinner required the use of our torch. This was most unsafe. The weather was fine with no rain when we were there, but on a raining day you could get very wet. We also had difficulty pulling our heavy cases along the same uneven pathway negotiating 8-10 steps. Overall we enjoyed our stay in this Hotel and would come back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Although it was presented as a Five Star Hotel to us we were a bit disappointed. This hotel is 10+ years old and some areas need a better maintenance or renovation. The room was big but unfortunately a bit smelly because of the air con. Our shower was leaking and the "rain shower" was not working properly because the nozzles were calcified.
The coffee at the breakfast was a desaster. OK, we are in China but in an International Hotel you should expect something better. Service during breakfast was not good.
The hotel staff was friendly but unfortunately not always professionell.
At least we got a special room rate and the price was quite fair.
The hotel is nicely located, outside of HuangShan and close to the airport (no air traffic at all, just 1 or 2 planes we heard in the evening). Therefore it's a pity that the management of the hotel does not care more for a better service to reach a real "Five Star Level".

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Stayed one night for a trip to yellow mountain. The hotel room was very big and in a good standard. Better than expected for a inland Chinese hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Fl
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Based on the flight schedule from Shanghai to Huangshan/Tunxi airport, we needed to stay overnight after arrival before proceeding on to Huangshan the following morning. The Huangshan Golf Hotel is well located, only 10 minutes from the Tunxi Airport and 1 hour 15 minutes from the Yungu Cable Car at Huangshan.

Our room with a king size bed was spacious and clean, although the carpet was stained and the furnishings seemed a bit worn. Upon first entering, it had a musty feel as if the air conditioner had not been run for quite some time, but this largely dissipated after awhile with the air conditioner running. To keep the a/c running when we left the room, we requested two room cards so we could always keep one in the slot that activated the electricity for the room.

The breakfast buffet had both western and Chinese items and was plentiful. Look for the local specialties on a side table.

Because of our schedule we did not have time to enjoy the large swimming pool, but we did sit under the gazebo by the pond in the late afternoon and that was pleasant.

The Huangshan Golf Resort was a reasonable overnight solution. I don’t know about the selection of hotels in walking distance of Old Tunxi town, but I would look into that for the charm of walking in that area at night and the selection of restaurants. We visited this area of town on our last night prior to departing Huangshan and we really enjoyed walking around the area.

Room Tip: Find out which is the newest wing and book your room there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

We arrived late at night and left early in the morning. Our 10 hours were pleasant. My son was horrified we were at a golf resort yet not able to play a round of golf! The room is large and the bathroom is large as well. Hallways are a little dark and eerie. This is a 5 star hotel in China and if you don't compare it to American hotels, it is a 5 star hotel in China! If we had more time it would've been nice to use the hotels many amenities. We were able to sneak in the driving range which opens early in the morning. The buffet breakfast was large with a lot of choices.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmen,
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
138 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

The only reason for getting such Value for money is the location of the hotel somewhat out of the "tourist area"; but who cares with taxi rate's in this part of the world. The hotel even offers free airport transfer. and on arrival we were surprised with the Free 30 Ball golf clinic each person. We (4 persons, two rooms) booked this hotel as 1 night stay 5-6 July. next day heading for ancient cities Xidi and Hongcun. We choose this hotel actually for the Swimmingpool and low pricing. The outdoor swimmingpool is really fantastic. We stayed 4 weeks in china in several 4* and 5* hotels. This hotel certainly is on our top rank list, not the least for reason of the excellent breakfast facility.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Huangshan Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huangshan Golf Resort

Address: No.78 Yingbin Avenue, Huangshan 245000, China
Location: China > Anhui > Huangshan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Huangshan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 672
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Huangshan Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huangshan Golf Hotel Huangshan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huangshan Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.