We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apart from the location and a warm night on the mountain, no reason to stay here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Huangshan Baiyun Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Huangshan Baiyun Hotel to your Saves list
Huangshan Baiyun Hotel
Tianhai Tourism Resort, Huangshan District, Huangshan 245800 , China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 402 Hotels in Huangshan
3.5 of 5 stars 222 Reviews
Hogn Kong
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Apart from the location and a warm night on the mountain, no reason to stay here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Per title, the hotel is one of oldest one on Huangshan hence it has a good location. You can easily hike to the high point within 10-15mins for sunrise. It is also situated pretty much the mid point of the entire mountain area.

Room is unclean, wall paper thin, food is mediocre and the restaurant non-group dining area smells like a toilet. You dont expect to eat or sleep well, but once i a life time Huangshan hike you dont want to give up the sunrise photos, so here we go. Pay a fortune for a crap night.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    100
    64
    14
    12
See reviews for
12
38
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed in the cheapest room in April (not yet peak season) - booked for the equivalent of $105 on ctrip and found it comfortable and adequate. The cheaper rooms are in an older building a 5 minute walk from the lobby and is next to the workers' quarters, which could turn some people off. But the room was well-appointed and while simple and smallish, it provided a good night's sleep and had a very nice bathroom. The Baiyun is the only hotel that has a foodcourt nearby, where one can get reasonably priced (by Huangshan standards) food. It is about a 2 hour hike from either cable car station, so this hotel is for the active only. There is a peak nearby where people gather for the sunrise.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We had a reservation for the BaYun Hotel and stayed the night there. The hotel is nice, clean and comfortable. It's the closest one to the Bright Summit and was actually the cheapest option (1080 Yuan in the double room, which is really a lot for China). For me it was a huge expense as I am a student with limited budget. Furthermore, the Wifi was not working :(
That's why I suggest to do this instead: If you want to stay on the peak overnight, there are several places where you can set up a tent (e.g. on the helicopter landing at Bright Summit). It's free there and a tent costs only 200+ Yuan when you buy it before you come. I'd have prefered to have brought my tent along.
The Bright Summit is also the spot where many tourists want to watch the sunrise. If you want go see the sun and not only other people's backhead, you shouls be there one hour before the official sunrise that you get from the internet sources!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

After spending one night at Xihai Hotel, we moved to Baiyun Hotel, a 4-star rated lodging at Tianhai area the following day. The first encounter at the front desk was cold-cold shoulder, cold response. The guy never looked you at the eyes, busy looking at his smart phone, and only one-word answer from his mouth. No usher to show us the rooms. After a few wrong corridors, we located our rooms. Second horrible encounter-it was only 1 pm, we went to the restaurant, one waitress mentioned lunch hour was over (it was only 1 pm). After 'negotiating' with another waitress (maybe head waitress), she suggested some fried noodles and pancakes- RMB 75/person. Dinner time, we went at 6 pm. Based on the photos in the menu, we ordered a few 'established' items. The food did not turn out to be the one in the menu. The taste was no where near The Xihai Hotel. The meal cost us RMB85/pax. Will never go there again.

Room Tip: choose Xihai Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purrmerend
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed at this place in the wintertime. The rooms had a small but adequate heater, the restaurant didn't. The food was ok, bit overpriced but what can you expect at this remote location. Everything has to be carried to this place, so it's logical it's bit more expensive.
During the winter, you have the best sunrise if you out the hotel right towards the lotus peak. From the first lookout you see the sun rise between two peaks, wonderfull!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Spent 2 nights at this hotel. It's warm and comfortable. WiFi works fine. Location is nice as well.

What we hate is the food. Not that its expensive, but it tastes terrible. Service is so poor. The food always takes forever to arrive.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night. This is a 2-3 star hotel on Mt. Huangshan. Rooms are basic but it's okay as it's a brief stop before continuing our hike the next 2 days at Mt. Huangshan. Hot water is sufficient for shower and basic buffet breakfast is available.

No wifi but free wired internet is available.

This hotel is conveniently located just 20-min hike from the famous Guanmingding (which is famous for enjoying the sunrise moment). TIPS: do remember to bring a torch with you when you hike for the sunrise moment; no street lights are around at all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Huangshan Baiyun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huangshan Baiyun Hotel

Address: Tianhai Tourism Resort, Huangshan District, Huangshan 245800 , China
Location: China > Anhui > Huangshan
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 402 Hotels in Huangshan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Huangshan Baiyun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huangshan Baiyun Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.