We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located and attractive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Cruz

Save Saved
You added Hotel Santa Cruz to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza de Armas 286, Santa Cruz, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Santa Cruz
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Centrally located and attractive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

On a recent trip to South America, this hotel was our first destination. The room was ready for early day arrival. There is free Internet. The colorful decor make it welcoming. There is easy access to nearby vineyards.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaCruz2, Manager at Hotel Santa Cruz, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thanks you for your coments.
Those are very important for our Hotel Santa Cruz.
For allowing us to improve our service and accomodations.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    76
    36
    12
    6
See reviews for
44
80
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The public areas of the hotel were beautiful with colorful décor and stained glass. Rooms were adequate in size, clean, comfortable, and well appointed. The hotel is in a good location. Breakfast is good. We would stay here again if we return to Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaCruz2, Manager at Hotel Santa Cruz, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thanks you for your comments.
Those are very important for our Hotel Santa Cruz.
For allowing us to improve our service and accomodations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Interesting hotel in Santa Cruz across from the central square; location good. The room was adequate and clean. The hotel staff was OK - not super helpful. There is a pool and poolside bar. The morning breakfast was more than sufficient and tasty.
It's a place to stay in the valley for access to vineyards and wineries; or for business. Not a destination property.
It is adjacent to the Santa Cruz Museum - interesting and the local casino so you can gamble if you like.

Room Tip: There are rooms in the main building facing square or in the rear a cluster of smaller buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaCruz2, Manager at Hotel Santa Cruz, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thanks you for your comments. Those are very important for our Hotel Santa Cruz. for allowing us to improve our service and accomodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel is kind of expensive, but the food is tasty, and also you can use the spa and swimming pool, both are great to lessen the daily stress.
Santa Cruz is a beautiful valley, with vineyards everywhere, and with a great and well known museum, which is next to the hotel. I really enjoyed the visit

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaCruz2, Manager at Hotel Santa Cruz, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thanks you for your comments. Those are very important for our Hotel Santa Cruz. for allowing us to improve our service and accomodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for two nights while in Mendoza for the annual wine festival. I loved the unique style of the hotel...how many times do you stay in a hotel that's built in/on top of a museum!?! If you stay in the back bldg, there's a cut out (w/a beautiful stain glass dome on top) where you can look down into the exhibit of a wooly mammoth! And there are lots of artifacts around the property on the walls, so it’s worth walking around the hotel a bit to take it all in.

My room was lovely, w/a gorgeous view from the balcony of the sun setting over the mountains in the evening. The staff is nice, food is OK. There's a spa on-property. I didn't try it, but the fitness room leaves a bit to be desired (limited, old equipment only open 6A-10P).

This is such a unique property. It's definitely worth a stay. (Though there's not a ton to see in Mendoza, so I'd advise making it a short trip. :) )

Room Tip: I'd advise staying in the back (newer bldg) that overlooks the museum & get a room facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaCruz2, Manager at Hotel Santa Cruz, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thanks you for your comments. Those are very important for our Hotel Santa Cruz. for allowing us to improve our service and accomodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The hotel is very nice in general, kept clean and tidy. The indoor swimming pool is great to spend good time with children.
The room was OK. There is a daycare service for young children where they can also have great time.
The common areas around the outdoor swimming pool are among the strengths of the hotel.
The breakfast was good but definitely below the levels that the hotel rates would require. We didn't have a good service the only night we had dinner there, the options were only few.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaCruz2, Manager at Hotel Santa Cruz, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thanks you for your coments.
Those are very important for our Hotel.
For allowing us to improve our service and accomodations.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel is clean and comfortable. Our room was at the back of the property near the casino. It was very quite, except for some noisy guests returning to their room late one night. Our room was an average size but well appointed and clean. Staff at the front desk and tourist desk were a bit cold, but approachable and their english was good.

We used the hotel as a base to visit some wineries in the area. The location is good. Central in the town with some restaurants, pharmacy and other necessities close by.

We ate at the restaurant one night. The food was ok, nothing special, but the morning breakfast was good.

In all, I would stay here again if I was visiting the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaCruz2, Manager at Hotel Santa Cruz, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Santa Cruz Hotel is to provide better service and their opinions help us meet our shortcomings.

Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Cruz

Address: Plaza de Armas 286, Santa Cruz, Chile
Location: Chile > O'Higgins Region > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Cruz 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Cruz Chile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Cruz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.