We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and Elegant, yet Pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel TerraVina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel TerraVina to your Saves list
Hotel TerraVina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino los boldos s/n, Santa Cruz 31202, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Simple and Elegant, yet Pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We did a weekend trip from Santiago to visit Mont Gras vineyards and participate in the harvest festival (I'll also review that). The hotel is just outside of Santa Cruz and is surrounded by vineyards. Our first impression was that it was very cute. As you pull up, you drive through some vineyards and approach the property. The hotel has about 20 rooms (?), a breakfast area and a pool.

Rooms: 3.5/5
We arrived before check in time, but luckily one of our rooms was available and we dropped our bags in there. The rooms are simple and cozy. They have a bed (or 2), desk, chair, lamp, and balcony. It was nice to come in and warm up with the heat on. And the bathroom is nice, too. All I care about is the shower, and it never stopped producing steaming-hot water throughout my very long shower.

Amenities: 4/5
The place is small, so it doesn't have all the amenities. I'm just rating it for what it does have.
-Pool: Looked nice; we didn't go in (forgot swimsuits and it was COLD!).
-Lobby: There was a bar, several lounge areas with DirecTV, and a large table where we played Yahtzee (we brought it).
-Food: There is a basic breakfast buffet included with ham, cheese, bread, butter, fruit, etc. Nothing special. You can walk to a very nice Italian restaurant through the vineyards.

Overall, I'd recommend it to couples. It's peaceful and quiet. But for a family of 4, we had to get 2 rooms and that upped the cost. (4/5)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    74
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
49
142
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Owners very simpatethic. Ana (Danish) and her husband Chilean are very welcome people.
Large room. Clean. Near by a good Italian restaurant and a local restaurant (etiqueta negra).

Good breakfast. Simple but fresh and well prepared (delicious eggs, cheese, ham, yogurt, fruits).

Overall very good.

I recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMA,
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel seemed more like a little inn, or B&B, than I was expecting, but that wasn't bad! i was immediately taken in by the tranquility of the place, and really enjoyed the cleanly decorated room - especially the wood floors, the wardrobe cabinet, and the little balcony off the end of the room. Our view was directly into the surrounding vineyard, and - in fact - part of the greatest charm of our stay was the walk through the vines to the nearby Italian restaurant for dinner... safely guided by the hotel's dog!

Room Tip: pick the ground floor if you have much luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

If you are seeking luxury, look elsewhere. On the other hand, if an attractive, comfortable, clean and quiet oasis in the midst of a lush Chilean vineyard sounds enticing...TerraVina is the place. The owners and staff are friendly and accommodating right down to the resident dog(Rocco) and cat(Sophie). The owners will arrange all your winery tours, restaurant reservations and transportation as needed. Strolling through the vineyard for a leisurely lunch on the patio at Bella Vina or a private tasting at Laura Hartwig is an added pleasure. This is a lovely time of year in the Colchaugua Valley, the weather is mild, the changing colors in the vineyards are spectacular and the tourists are few. Our tour, tasting and lunch at Viu Manent were excellent and the setting at Montes Vineyards and Winery in Apalta is spectacular. All in all a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: The views from the second floor are superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Nice view from the second floor overlooking the winery, short walking distance from the Laura Hartwig winery and the restaurant. Nice size room. internet access but don,t expect great download speed. Good breakfast with juice, coffee, bread, milk, tea and eggs.
The front desk are very helpful doing reservations on wine tours for you.
A very charming experience.

Room Tip: Second floor room have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed here for three nights with our wine tour group. If you are looking for luxury, fine dining and night life, this may not be the place for you, but if you're looking for a good place to kick back and relax, or a base for exploring the wineries of the Colchagua Valley, it may be just what you're looking for.

Since the hotel is surrounded by vineyards, it is exceptionally quiet. The silence was broken only by a bunch of noisy but quite attractive birds that we learned were southern lapwings, known locally as "queltehue". Each room has a balcony overlooking the vineyard, and there is also a nice pool available on the grounds for a refreshing dip. Unlike many of the places we stayed during our South American trip, wi-fi coverage was excellent in our room.

Although the hotel does not offer dining service other than breakfast, there are a few restaurants that are an easy walk through the vineyards, and the front desk will provide you with a flashlight if you'll be walking after dark. The vineyards are a good place for a walk anytime, and the resident dog will likely provide you with some company. The Laura Hartwig winery is also a short walk away, but our schedule did not permit dropping in there for a tasting. Breakfast at the hotel was very good, and this was one of the very places in Chile where we found a decent cup of coffee!

The staff here were friendly, and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel is relatively new and was built like a "hacienda" type of building and blends very well into its surroundings, that is, the vineyard. It is a two story building and all the rooms have a balcony with spectacular views. The room is furnished following the rustic style so do not expect any luxury. However, the bed is very good, the linen are crisp and clean, there is a small flat screen tv with cable and the internet worked without a problem. The location makes it perfect for a couple getaway and it is so quiet and stress free. We have had some good night sleep just listening to nature. Bear in mind that there is not a refrigerator in the room so if you want cold drinks you have to go to the lobby and they will gladly provide you with ice. Also, there is no air con in the room or screens on the door to the balcony or bathroom. So bear that in mind if you plan to come in the Summer. As for winter time there is a radiator heater in the room. Breakfast is very good with fresh fruits, yogurt, fresh brewed coffee, different kinds of bread and fantastic eggs made to order. The owners are very friendly and very helpful. There are two restaurants nearby but the area is far from downtown . There is a nice pool as well. We would go back and stay there again because we really had a relaxing time being so close to nature.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very good but I would recommend top floor for a better panoramic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel TerraVina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel TerraVina

Address: Camino los boldos s/n, Santa Cruz 31202, Chile
Location: Chile > O'Higgins Region > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel TerraVina 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the Andes Mountains as background Hotel TerraVina is located in the middle of a vineyard in the beautiful wine valley of Colchagua just 2 hours south of Santiago. All the tastefully decorated rooms have oak floors, colonial style tiles in the bathroom, central heating, safe boxes and great big beds with Scandinavian duvets. Count on a hearty breakfast and personal service from the owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel TerraVina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel TerraVina Chile/Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel TerraVina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.