We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastically friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux to your Saves list
Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tocopilla 4, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Iconic Extremes!
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastically friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Four of us spent 3 nights here while visiting the Atacama desert. The stay was one of the nicest ever. The staff was totally there for us, from reception, to the bartender, to the waitstaff, the manager and the guides. You meet with the guide and decide what you want to see. The nest morning you take off and anything you go to see is amazing. There is a lunch provided, sundowners and total attention to you. I have never felt so pampered. We left feeling that we were leaving our family! The meals were outstanding. If you ever are in this part of the world you have to go - and Awasi is a once in a lifetime place to stay! We were even treated to a 8.2 earthquake about 200 miles north, but the construction was so good that although we swayed for 2 minutes, nothing cracked. What an experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Gary,

What an experience you all had! You were treated to a real life Chilean earthquake! We were a bit worried on how nervous some of our guests were going to feel after that little “dance” mother nature gave us that night. You were all troopers, though and with some team all was better for all of us.

We are simply thrilled to hear back from you all – it was very nice having you and your family with us for those few nights. It really is like saying goodbye to family because after a few days, we all see you here and chat. As the days go by, we all get so accustomed to seeing you all. Can’t wait for you all to return and hopefully at that time, you won’t feel any other earthquake and/or tremor that might go down.

From the entire “Fantastically Friendly” team, we all send you our best!

Awasi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    14
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
50
191
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Great experience overall. Our guide Pablo adjusted to our taste and made sure we saw the sites when tourists were elsewhere. As for the hotel, being relais & chateaux we were expecting a lot and we weren't disappointed with delicious creative meals every night.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Andrea,

Thank you very much for your review.

It was a pleasure welcoming you to this majestic place called the Atacama Desert.

Clearly, it seems that you’ve visited many other Relais & Chateaux properties and we are happy to see that we’ve measured up to them. We work very hard to provide our guests with a very personalized experience, and comments as yours, truly validates our daily focus. We thank you for giving us this great opportunity in being a part of your experience throughout this place we like to call home.

We hope to welcome you back.

Warm Regards,

Awasi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

My wife and I had wanted to visit the Atacama Desert for some time and had always said we should stay at Awasi and so our expectations were high and we were certainly not disappointed - it all started when we met the charming Director General ( Matias ) in London last year.

He had so much passion for his hotel that you knew it would be good and indeed everything that I asked was catered for - even a tripod for my camera to take photos of the sky at night ( which incidentally was amazing and again Awasi organised a very special trip with a guy called Jorge - we would thoroughly recommend him )

Back to Awasi - it is in San Pedro but is like a luxury haven amongst a very touristy town which I am sure is interesting but there was never a need to go into town as we were fully occupied by our tremendous guide ( Diego ) and his driver ( Christian ) - what a team - our main remit was to see as much as we could but preferably with no tourists - Diego managed to do just that and we had a great time - such an interesting place with such diverse landscapes - quite incredible

As for our room - it was fabulous

As for the hotel staff - all excellent especially Andreas ( who stayed up very late one night to make us a cup of coffee on our return from a night star gazing expedition - he even kept the open fire going for us ) and of course Son ( who managed to reserve my table for our entire stay of 4 nights )

We were very privileged to meet up with Matias and his beautiful wife in Santiago and he was genuinely interested in our stay and whether there were any improvements to make - he has another property in Patagonia which will be a must for us - they are also opening another near Iguazu Falls which I am sure will also be amazing

My last words on this are simply - Atacama is fantastic and the only way to do it is to stay at Awasi - you will not regret it

Room Tip: I am sure all the rooms are good but we stayed on the side with the restaurant which I think is bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Mr. Rees,



“Fantastic” is definitely the word that I would use to describe just lovely guests as yourself and Mrs. Rees. It was definitely a pleasure in assisting with your reservations after Matias placed us in contact with you.

We were just so happy to know that the tripod we had worked perfectly for your camera. We were a bit worried about it as we wanted to ensure your time at Awasi was a memorable one.

We all send you our best (including Matias & Veronica, which by the way also had a great dinner with you in Santiago), and simply cannot wait to make your upcoming Awasi experiences as memorable or even more so than this one. We love having guests like you and your wife who are just so engaging and allow us to be a part of your experience.

Our Warmest Regards,

Awasi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We have just added Awasi Atacama to our list of peak life experiences. We had the most magnificent 3-night stay, and we loved every minute of it. The lodge itself is beautifully appointed, and our suite was spectacular. The food was fabulous, and the staff attentive in every way.

We especially loved having our own personal guide--Maria Isabel Sagues (Mabel)--who couldn't have been more helpful and thoughtful from the moment we arrived. Mabel talked with us in detail about our abilities and limitations (we are 65-year-old women), helped us tailor our expeditions according to our desires and altitude concerns, guided us down a canyon trek with her strong arms, played lovely music in the vehicle during each outing, engaged us in interesting conversation, and overall created one of the most memorable travel experiences we've had in our 39 years of exotic and unique expeditions together.

Room Tip: Choose a room near the pool, dining, lounge area. The location of rooms on the other side of the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

How great to hear from you both again! Mabel says hello and remembers you gals very well…we all did. It was always such a pleasure having conversations with you both throughout the times that you arrived at the property from your excursions. Your excitement and joy was visible and only re-instated to us that we were doing a good job.

It was definitely “awesome” having you ladies at our oasis in the desert. We would love to see more of the pictures that you took while out on the desert with Mabel. We only got a glimpse of a few of them that you showed us when you were leaving and loved it. We are just so honored that you have chosen us to be the top of your peak life experiences. I sure hope that we may impact your experience throughout another great place – the Chilean Patagonia. Back in November 2013, we opened up a private reserve and it would be another honor for us, if you were to allow us to show you around this area.

Hope to see you soon!

Awasi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The 3 of us shared a large room, and we had an amazing time. Wished we had more than 3 nights - friendly and helpful staff, great food, a knowledgable guide who delivered what we had hoped to see and more ..... And so much more to explore, so we will be back and staying at the Awasi again.

Room Tip: Do state your preference and I am sure Awasi will help; our room was across the road and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Tripper,

Thanks for sharing your experience at Awasi with all of us.

Happy to know that you and your friends enjoyed your time at the property.

Isn’t it just great to be able to share your traveling journeys with good friends? Please send our best to your travel companions and we sure hope to see you next time for more than just 3 nights. We sure tried to squeeze as much as possible, especially knowing that you all enjoy the very active excursions at the desert.

Let us know ahead of time of your planned travel dates and maybe you can all squeeze in Awasi Patagonia. We will re-open for our 2nd season on September 15th, 2014 and would love to show you around the “World’s 8th Wonder” in a very private and tailor-made experience.

Regards,

Awasi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We spend 3 nights at Awasi, and we loved it. The staff was wonderful in every way. Thanks to Andres for making all our request happen, also to Son our waiter and special thanks to Chef Juan Pablo Mardones for the delicious meals he prepared for us, and he even gave us recipes for several meals that we love. Also our guides Marcela and Christian made itineraries for us so that we could see as much as possible in our short stay but always making sure that our desires were met to the last detail. We can't say enough of Awasi, if your going to Atacama there is no other place I will recommend,is worth every penny you spend there. Thank you Awasi !!!!! Ernesto and Maria Elena Fuentes

Room Tip: All rooms are special
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Fuentes,

It is so nice to see a great title to your feedback – it already gives me a smile even before reading it. We really did love having you at our property and Chef Mardones sends his best. He wants you to know that anytime you wish to receive any of the recipes from the time you were there, feel free to reach out. It would be his pleasure to provide them over to you.

Marcela and Christian still feel that they can show you many more great “spots” throughout the Atacama desert. With only 3 nights, they tried their best to show you as much as possible but enjoyed your company very much and are eager to show you even more that the desert has to offer. Maybe, you might both return in a few months and not only see more of the Atacama Desert but may combine it with our new property at the Patagonia – Awasi Patagonia!

Our doors will always be open for you both.

Warm Regards,

Awasi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevele, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We spent 3 nights at Awasi. This was a fantastic experience. The food is delicous, the staff very friendly, our guide Pierre enthousiastic! He adviced us the right excursions and shared his passion for the nature.
Thank you for this wonderful time!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Benedicte,

With much gratitude, we thank you for taking out the time to provide us with your feedback on your experience with us.

Pierre, as well as the rest of the staff sends their best to you. We just loved having you with us and are honored that you chose us for your experience throughout the Atacama Desert.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to our oasis. Please feel free to reach out to us if you wish to stay at any of our Awasi properties.

Best Regards,

Awasi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux

Address: Tocopilla 4, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury lodge located at the Atacama Desert, Chile. Only property in the region to be an affiliate of Relais & Chateaux. With only 8 ample rooms, we provide tailor made experiences, assigning a private guide and a 4x4 vehicle to each cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awasi Hotel San Pedro De Atacama
Awasi San Pedro De Atacama
Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.