We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salar de Tara

Salar de Tara
San Pedro de Atacama, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Braga, Portugal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Not many tours go to this place.
You should find a tour that does both the Altiplanic Lagoons and Salar de Tara.
The landscape is amazing and peaceful.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    75
    19
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“You can actually go there by bike!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Yes, I don't always drive bicycles, but when I do, to splendid places like the Eiffeltower or St. Ignacio Cathedral. Well this is not one of those splendid places. Try not to be shafted with the offerd tours.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario, Argentina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

It beautiful, should not miss it if you visit north of Chile, Atacama is wonderful. This is one of the places that is a must, along with Valle de la Luna, Laguna de Cejar, Valle de la Muerte and Geysers del Tatio.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Some confusion about Tara...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

I was just reading some other reviews of Salar de Tara that said you could bike there...this is inaccurate. This salar takes nearly two hours to reach by van on roads which gain thousands of feet while paved and which are made of sinking rocks and are unmarked once you get up to the top. Additionally, i don't believe anyone goes there to get into the water. You will most likely be the only people there and see lots of groovy wildlife, magical rock formations and feel like you are totally out of your familiar elements.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We wanted to rent a truck and drive up ourselves and were quickly warned against doing this. So, we jumped into a truck with a guide and after an hour or so we veered off the highway and were driving literally in the middle of nowhere! For a WHILE! We saw crazy rock formations and felt like we were the only people on a different planet! We continued on and came upon an altiplanic lake surrounded by flamingos and guanacos (wild llamas). An unforgettable trip! Do it!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salar de Tara also viewed

San Pedro de Atacama, Antofagasta Region
San Pedro de Atacama, Antofagasta Region
 
San Pedro de Atacama, Antofagasta Region
San Pedro de Atacama, Antofagasta Region
 

Been to Salar de Tara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salar de Tara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.