We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but reasonably priced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Rose d'Atacama

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro de Atacama
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Rose d'Atacama
Save
You added La Rose d'Atacama to your Saves list
No 202 Gustavo Le Paige, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Basic but reasonably priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

When we first arrived, we were disappointed. The mismatched rooms were incredibly basic and everything looked like it was hobbled together which it probably was. Run by an enthusiastic French woman and her partner, it certainly has a sort of hippy feel with hammocks and chairs dotted all over the place, and rooms you don't want to spend much time in. As this is the desert, water is a problem, but we only ever had one day without it.
As there is no breakfast, you can use the 70's style rundown kitchen to make your own, but as everyone shares this space it can get a bit crowded at times. The sand makes every surface dusty and its impossible to keep anything clean. This isn't a leave your towels on the floor if you want them changed type of place, and once you got used to it you soon adapted.

Despite the negatives we got to quite like this place. Having come from an absolutely gorgeous b&b the contrast was even more stark. The women who run this place are just tenants and so it probably is not worth their while investing much in this hostel. There are some good rules like not staying out in the common areas after 11 in the evening. A good idea as many of the tours start very early and the noise did carry. The stay was helped by the fact that some French guy would strum his guitar every evening. Now if you could be guaranteed that every time you came it would definitely be worth visiting. The place did grow on us in the end but not sure I would stay here again, though I did like Maries philosphy on life.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    32
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
11
45
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wendover, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

The Lincatur bus from Calama airport dropped us at the door. Very friendly family-run place. Our room was poor – no wardrobe and badly in need of decorating. Bathroom again was poor – chipped basin, no soap and only had hot water at night. There was no water at all in the morning due to a power failure. For 30,000 pesos a night I would think there is better value to be found in the town.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I bumped into la Rose d'Atacama by chance, looking for a hostel to stay in San Pedro. Dorms are basic but clean and spacious and good value for the price. Nice common area, kitchen use and hot showers, though there is not much water here, so be sparse.

The owner also helped me out with advice in selecting an agency for the unbelievable trip to the Uyuni salar, an absolute must. Also kept my bag while I was away, which was nice. If you're looking for a friendly and affordable place to stay in San Pedro, and wish you could practice your french, this is the right place for you.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Really nice place to stay.
Clean and well placed in the city center.
we feel like home... confortable!
The owners are really friendly and helpfull.
Social spaces are really nice too.
They also organise some cultural events and nice tours around the city.
It's the place to stay in San Pedro!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

La rose d'Atacama is not your typical hostal. Actually I have been to a hundred different hostels in my life and I believe it is safe to say that the atmosphere at La Rose is unbeatable. But before I say more on the topic the negatives: the private room with shared bathroom is very basic. The room is not heated which is obviously a negative in winter. But why is La Rose worth five stars then?

Hostel owners Marie and Aurélien strive to make La Rose a cultural hub. And I bet the house that they will succeed. They've set up a chess club and have allowed musical concerts on their premises. Now the best part: project ALMA, the largest radio-telescope array a few kilometers from San Pedro, is due to open in 2013. Marie and Aurélien have been in contact with project leaders and they actually managed to get the go ahead to organize regular information sessions starting in September 2011!!! Really, this hostel stands above everything else I've seen.

in the 11 days or so we've stayed at La Rose, we also managed to make half a dozen new friends. The place is really conducive to meeting new people. Again, I have been away from home traveling for the last year, and this is a first. And finally, what would be La Rose without its star tour guide, Santiago. Santiago, just like La Rose, is two notches above the competition in town. You want a tour? Then you want Santiago as your guide. Period.

All in all La Rose is a terrific hostel. It may not have the prettiest rooms in town, but it will leave the traveler with unparalleled travel memories. À tous les francophones, je vous recommande La Rose sans hésiter une seule seconde. La Rose est un hostel incomparable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Rose d'Atacama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rose d'Atacama

Address: No 202 Gustavo Le Paige, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Location: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose d' Atacama is not an hostel as the others. As wished it his two creators, this place is a special mix of conviviality, peace and cultural activities.A "house" right in the heart of San Pedro of Atacama where travelers from all around the world, inhabitants and artists meet each others.A welcoming hostel in a ancient colonial house Ancient colonial house constructed in "adobe" (traditional manufacturing with natural materials). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Rose D'Atacama San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Rose d'Atacama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.