We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet spot in the village” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Poblado Kimal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Poblado Kimal to your Saves list
Hotel Poblado Kimal
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Domingo Atienza esquina Caracoles | Centro Histórico, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Doetinchem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“quiet spot in the village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

A nice "resort" near the centre of San Pedro de Atacama. We stayed in a cabana and not in the hotel. We had enough space although the wardrobe was too small. No airconditioning but there is a fan and you can try opening the windows, although that is not always an option. The shower was good, luckily not in a bath. And we are always glad there is a refrigerator in the room to keep our water cold. When we made a early-morning-tour we were provided with a breakfast to go, good service. Dinner was good and affordable. Staff was helpful and spoke good English (depended on who you spoke to, we waited for the same person to ask our questions). Downsides were: no wifi on our terrace, a soft and rather small bed and a locked parkingplace. Everytime we had to ask if it could be opened..no fun. If these problems are solved, then it will be an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pobkim, Director Comercial at Hotel Poblado Kimal, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thanks so much for your review of our hotel.

Just to use this opportunity to anounce that just a few days ago we finally expanded the range of the wifi signal to reach all the rooms of Poblado Kimal. So I´m sorry you didn´t get the benefit of that.

As for the carpark, I´m afraid we keep it locked for the security of our guests since it has its own entrance from the road. I appreciate the hassle factor is a problem but the idea is that guests may leave their car parked on the road during the day and put it in the carpark once a day in the evening. ( If you park in the road it must be pointing towards Caracoles on the Poblado Kimal side of the road. )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    90
    31
    6
    2
See reviews for
20
83
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Having spent 3 days on the Salt Flats in Bolivia we thought we would treat ourselves when we arrived in San Pedro de Atacama spending over £120 / $200 a night to stay in this hotel which following our stay of 2 nights we thought was overpriced.

Firstly the positives. Nice private and spacious huts with hot running water, the hotel has a pool and nice private dining room (we only had breakfast so can't comment on the evening meals) with a good location (but then again Atacama is only small so it would be hard not to have a good location).

The downsides. In order to get wifi we had to walk across the road to the sister hotel which is obviously not convenient (we were using iPads/iPhones so not an issue elsewhere). During our stay our hut had to be covered in a plastic sheet as it rained, not a massive issue as everything remained dry but during the process of covering the hut with the sheet this left everything in the room covered in a thin layer of dust which came from the room as the maintenance men walked all over it to place the sheet - not good for expensive cameras or iPads! Finally the staff were pleasant enough during our stay but when it came to organising our travel to Santiago the staff were not very helpful in assisting us to work out what are options were and instead immediately referred us to the local bus company office (whereas in other much cheaper hotels and hostels on our trips we have had staff advise on options and have helped book online for us and print our tickets!)

If the hotel had been half the cost then none of the above would have been an issue and we wouldn't have given any of it a second thought, however given we paying good money we do always expect available wifi in every part of the hotel, a waterproof room and more helpful staff.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Nothing to complain about! Room, breakfast, location, staff, restaurant, everything was great! Small thing to be improved is that Internet gets available in the room. So far the coverage works only at the reception and restaurant. Hopefully in the future staff will have better English language knowledge, but anyway they really try to! We recommend the hotel! We loved it

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maceió/AL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Really nice location, right in the city center, close to everything: restaurant, offices, etc. What I liked most was the cleaning and care by staff. The breakfast was excellent! But, the internet access was not good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotts Valley, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Just around the corner from the main street with welcoming and friendly front-desk staff and comfortable cabanas, although you will hear your neighbors conversations! Breakfast rather poor with unhelpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pobkim, Gerente at Hotel Poblado Kimal, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hello Brian,
Thanks for your positive comments about the hotel. I would be grateful to find out when you stayed to be able to know who were the staff at breakfast since we usually have good feedback on this service. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We only stayed one night as we were just passing though on our way to Salta. This is a welcoming hotel. The rooms are in (what I would call) cabins, and are very comfortable with all you need. There was a free bottle of water, but we had no problems drinking tap water. Breakfast was across the street in the Hotel Kimal, but easily accessed. My Spanish wasn't good enough to work out the egg option which seemed to be cooked to order! Prices seem high but typical for San Pedro.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Hotel poblado kimal is a small village with cozy cabanas!
You have the feeling of more privacy than in a normal hotel.
The cabanas are very beautifull in and outside, they look small on the outside but actually there quite big! everything is really clean and the bathroom has a great shower!
The cabanas also have a small terrace, great to relax and enjoy the good weather with a pisco sour! The pisco they serve was the best we had in chile!! you get one for free as welcome drink.
the swimming pool is very nice with a relaxing area, but the water was to cold to take a swim!
we had a great stay there! but don't go to the hotel resaurant!! the cook has a srange sence of taste!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Poblado Kimal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poblado Kimal

Address: Domingo Atienza esquina Caracoles | Centro Histórico, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Poblado Kimal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off the main street, the 21 charming wood and adobe cabin-like rooms with terrace, distributed amongst the fruit trees and shady paths reminiscent in its arrangement and calm, of an ancient settlement – is Hotel Poblado Kimal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Poblado Kimal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poblado Kimal Atacama/San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Poblado Kimal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.