We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must do” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Space Star Tours

Space Star Tours
Caracoles 166, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
+56 2566278
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$44*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We started operating in San Pedro in 2003 (ten years ago) and now have the largest public observatory in South America. We offer tours in different languages (english french and spanish) by guides who are competent in astronomy and who do speak these languages natively. If you want to observe through the sky through the largest visual telescopes in South America, and see the marvels of our universe, we are the place.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Looking at the sky in Atacama is a privilege - the clearest possible.
Having an astronomer pointing and teaching is absolutely fantastic. Takes you back to when you said you'd be an astronaut when you grew up.
Having that said, schedule it for you first night in Atacama. If the weather is not good, it will be rescheduled and you get the chance do try again. Don't leave San Pedro without doing it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    30
    13
    5
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Astronomy 101 with Happy Mr. Less”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I totally recommend you take this tour, in English, and with happy Less, a now happy Canadian astronomer (all the nights are clear in the desert!). If you love the stars (who doesn't?) you will never feel the 2 1/2 hr. tour was too long. Bring warm clothes, I mean, warm!
"Less is more", an American joke to counter attack his Canadian jokes.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Many people told us about this tour and it turned out to be our favorite experience in the desert. You'll learn a lot about the constellations in the Southern hemisphere, and then you'll be able to look through nine or ten telescopes that are already fixed on stars or galaxies. Definitely worth it. Excellent value for the money. If you can set the exposure on your camera, bring it and they will show you how to take a photo of the Milky Way with you in it! Best photo of the trip!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“An educational (and interesting) journey through the stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The evening is split into 3 sections: viewing night sky with the naked eye; telescope viewing and; Q&As with hot chocolate. Our favourite was viewing the sky with the naked eye and learning about what we were looking at. Our canadian guide was knowledgeable and passionate and could explain things pretty easily. Would recommend this tour.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“could have been better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had great expectations ...

pros:
- great idea, lovely view of the starry night sky
- warm blankets / hot chocolate provided

cons:
- the Canadian astronomer was not particularly engaging
- nor informative
- many of the telescopes needed to be adjusted ... we spent more time waiting as there was only one person running around to different telescopes adjusting them

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Space Star Tours also viewed

San Pedro de Atacama, Antofagasta Region
San Pedro de Atacama, Antofagasta Region
 
San Pedro de Atacama, Antofagasta Region
San Pedro de Atacama, Antofagasta Region
 

Been to Space Star Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Space Star Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.