We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good and really excellent staff and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel La Ruca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostel La Ruca to your Saves list
Hostel La Ruca
Toconao 513, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Really good and really excellent staff and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in May 2013. Very clean hostel, excellent breakfast and staff were very accommodating and helped me with everything I asked starting from adaptors to charge my iPhone to keeping my luggage for free and coffee while I had to wait for night bus to Arica. Also very quiet place compared to other hostels I stayed on my trip so managed to get enough rest and sleep.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    38
    23
    6
    6
See reviews for
7
39
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Majuro, Marshall Islands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at La Ruca 4 nights and in general we liked it at this hostel. The girl at the reception was extremely nice and helpful, especially taking into account how many questions I have asked her. If it was for her I would give a excellent. The room with the matrimonial bed was very nice, later we had to change into a double because the matrimonial was booked, that was ok because it was anounced. Anyhow, that we had to be for 3 hours without a room was a joke. Usually if this is the case they fix the room you have to go in and then you change into the room. We were sitting around waiting until the room we had to go in was finished because they did other rooms which were not taking first, that we did not understand. Breakfast is not so good and not punctual. If you go on a tour and you have to leave without breakfast because the staff just simply are late you will have no food until lunch.

But anyhow, the rooms are good and clean and we thought that the relation of payment to what you get at the end was ok. We guess that its not so easy in such a small town with so many hostels to find good and motivated staff.

Room Tip: If you travel with your partner choose the room nr. 5 (matrimonial), but you have to book in advance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wurzburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed in that Hostal for 3 night in Feb 2013. The place looks nice at first glance. The location is great and the decoration is cozy both outside and bedrooms. However, the bed-clothes (all of them) were not clean. This was REALLY disappointed, because we chose this hostal for such thing read in former reviewers. The bathroom was clean, but for the window, and everything in general works well, but take care to choose such option if you really need clean stuff in he place where you sleep.
Rooms are not isolated at all, and every noise from the courtyard, you hear it from inside.
Breakfast is good, not complains!
People is very kind, and they try to help the guests.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here during my stay in san pedro de atacama. Dorms are spacious and have private lockers, only downside is the distance between the lower and upper beds in the dorm. Bathrooms are realy clean and the breakfast is very good. Personel is attentive and always willing to help.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in February 2013. Breakfast was an absolute joke. They put out minute servings of everything which run out immediately and you had to ask repeatedly for more. On the day we left we were trying to have breakfast before our tour departed. The staff were too busy doing each others' hair to have breakfast ready at the stated time. They refused to even give us bread even though it was right in from of them. There was only 1 bathroom for all the dorms - minimum 12 people. It was really difficult to have a shower before departing on a tour especially as staff used the one available bathroom for their own showers at this time. Incredible in a town where basically everyone goes on a tour during the day. Otherwise good location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We spent our x-mas vacation at La Ruca. Great place to stay in San Pedro. The back yard was a good place for contemplation and to get to know and share experiences with the other travelers who was attracted to this small hostel. Nice and clean rooms. The best part: The personnel was extremely nice and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The staff was very nice and the room seemed okay (considering San Pedro is expensive and you get very simple rooms for a relatively high price). The problem started at night as the location is apparently right next to a bar so it was very noisy.
If you don't mind noise, the location is good but you could get a better room for a slightly lower price somewhere else in town.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 and it was very loud at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel La Ruca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel La Ruca

Address: Toconao 513, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Location: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 70 Specialty Lodging in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hostel La Ruca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel La Ruca Atacama/San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel La Ruca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.