We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have a break, go to Estaka” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Estaka

La Estaka
Caracoles 259, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
2851071
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Chilean, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Have a break, go to Estaka”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Estaka is a nice restaurant near the centre of the Pueblo. They have a good choice of menus. The food is good and fresh. The ambient is very friendly, ice staff and good service.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    179
    52
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Service so so - Food great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Great meals are a considerable price - but unfriendly service staff. Atmosphere pulls the overall experience out

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Five of us travelled to San Pedro from Calama during some down time on a business trip. The town itself was a really nice surprise and La Estaka was the highlight meal of my two week stint travelling through Peru & Chile. First off, it was vegetarian friendly and had several choices on the menu. The ambiance is extremely comfortable and inviting. We started out pisco sours and appetizers and I knew the rest of the dining experience would be a treat. Our entrees were all fantastic with a beautiful presentation on unique tree-sliced trays. We stayed for after dinner drinks and dessert then just relaxed before heading back to the airport. I would like to go back and spend a day or two in San Pedro, just to see if the other restaurants stand up to La Estaka. I hear the night-life is great too! I would definitely recommend!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Special treatment on a special night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Because we had a special night we had a reservation for a table for 2, even though it was a table for 4. The atmosphere was wonderfull, nice music from the speakers (Sting for example) and later on live music from the Andes. With a special song for the two of us. La Estaka even offered us champagne because we had a special celebration! The food was excellent. It was a night we'll never forget! Muchas Gracias!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“We loved this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Overpriced as most restaurants are in San Pedro, but here the staff are really great. We felt comfortable and the atmosphere is a little eclectic with the adobe seats and walls, nice fireplace and decor. The menu is not too long, the food was delicious. We especially liked their sandwiches. A nice place to relax with live music in the evenings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Estaka also viewed

San Pedro de Atacama, Antofagasta Region
San Pedro de Atacama, Antofagasta Region
 
San Pedro de Atacama, Antofagasta Region
San Pedro de Atacama, Antofagasta Region
 

Been to La Estaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Estaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.