We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a night, great breakfast!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Don Raul Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Don Raul Hotel to your Saves list
Don Raul Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle caracoles # 130 | Casilla # 14, San Pedro de Atacama 14400000, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Travelling
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good for a night, great breakfast!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here as part of a basic tour, so we're not sure of the price although the walk-in price was displayed in reception and I was surprised it was so expensive. On the plus side we arrived dirty and tired after three days with no showers in the Salt Flats of Bolivia, so a hot shower and bed was really all we needed. The breakfast was a buffet with an amazing variety including fruit - a nice change after minimal breakfasts in Bolivia. The staff were friendly and the location close to the centre of town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    39
    36
    16
    13
See reviews for
26
32
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ca
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We were very disappointed with this hotel. Especially at the prices they charged. Crazy. The room and bathroom were small, stuffy, and very rustic and basic. More a backpackers place than where we are paying pesos 71000. Reception area looks promising but then you go into the dusty dirt courtcard and enter a very very basic 4 walls room. Cheap and horrible. The bathroom was so small that when I bent down to dry my legs had to watch out not to yet again hit my head on the shelf. The shower to small that the shower curtain sticks to your body. And the solution with that is to leave the curtain open getting all the floor wet. The breakfast was good.
San Pedro de Atacama is very dusty and rustic and this is reflected in this hotel. But I am understanding most of the hotels are like this. The excursions are great and amazing things to see. But the experinece in the village was not great, as I feel the establishments are really milking the tourist for what they are offering. Shops charge more if you use your credit cards. Restaurants already put the tip on the bill. Prices are high even realizing SPde Atacama is a long way from bigger towns.

Room Tip: Shop around for something better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Very basic bedroom. Bathroom was extremely small and no hot water on two occasions. However, we believe that work is in hand to remedy this problem. Rooms are in terraced rows and ours was opposite a communal shower/toilet block - Thought all the rooms had ensuites. However, on the plus side, the staff were very helpful and it is in a good location at quiet end of town.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

The single rooms were very tiny without any decoration at all. In the room was a small desk but no chair, bed was small too and shower nearly never worked during the 3 or 4 nights I stayed there. And if it did work a little, only cold water. Even if this is a very touristic village, USD 80.- was really overpriced. At least it was clean and quiet. No swimming pool (but normal as in the deser)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

The hotel is expensive and the rooms are terrible. The room has humidity all over the place, the walls are falling down and the bathroom... well, the bathroom sucks. It is tiny, dirty and with a shower that barely puts some water through it. Don't fall in this trap!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

My stay there was very nice, I got exactly what I was looking for. Confortable beds, clean room, silence, delicious and typical breakfast. Just one exception, I had agreed a value by the time I arrived the hotel, but when checked out that value was not respected.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiavari
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

I stayed in that hostel 7 nights and I spent 240 € for a private room.too much for a small room,a bathroom without a window,a noisy wc.there were many cracks all around the walls.the heating was a eletric radiator that only heated up half room.the only nice things were:the clinliness of the room (the beds were made everyday,and also the linen were changed during my stay)and the breakfast.the employees unfortunately don't speak english.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Don Raul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Raul Hotel

Address: Calle caracoles # 130 | Casilla # 14, San Pedro de Atacama 14400000, Chile
Location: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Raul Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel located on Main Street in a special environment for relaxing excursions in the Atacama Desert. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Don Raul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Raul Hotel Atacama/San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Raul Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.