We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the greatest service I've ever experienced!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino Pukara | Sector Suchor, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Paris
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“One of the greatest service I've ever experienced!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Great stay and not a single bad point! The service, quality and attention to detail at the entire venue is amazing. "No" isn't a word they use! The place is beautiful, the spa gives great massages. People in the hotel are so kind and helpful to the last detail. They organize great tours, especially one to the moon valley, that only this hotel does. All the tours include food and drinks. The guides are great. The rooms are spacious and luxurious. The pools are beautiful. Each one of the 6 has a different tempature! The food was great, three course meals for lunch and dinner. Special thanks to Marcos.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceHAA, Guest Relations Manager at Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear evarhum,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We believe the smallest details are what truly define a any guest's stay. The entire staff, guides included, are trained based on this mentality to make sure every aspect of the Alto Atacama experience is enjoyable.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards,
Kristina Schreck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    59
    10
    9
    3
See reviews for
79
247
19
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We loved our 4 nights at the Alto. The rooms, pool environment, dining and living areas were all great. The only feedback that I would have about the rooms, is that it is challenging to cool them as there is not airconditioning (which I liked as it was environmentally friendly). It is not a major issue just something to keep working on.
The staff were all terrific with a couple of the waiting and bar staff excellent. They went out of their way to make our stay a really great experience. The food is all included and overall it was really good with an excellent selection of wines, although we didn't drink a lot as we wanted to make the most of the diverse activities, many of which were at altitude. It is 3 kms into San Pedro from the Alto and a good walk. All in all, a really great experience

Room Tip: Some rooms have outdoor showers which are quite cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had a fantastic time at Alto Atacama Desert lodge & spa; stayed there for 3 nights, and wish we could stay at least a couple more days. The service, quality and attention to detail at the entire venue is outstanding. The rooms are spacious, beautifully designed, there are all those little touches like chocolates on your pillow every night, relaxing spa-like music at night, gorgeous bathroom with excellent shower and a whole lot of really nice complementary spa products (we've got addicted to the Alto Atacama lip balm!). The spa is excellent, too, and so is the food: in particular the breakfast, and the bbq dinner which we were lucky to get on the last night of our stay. Highly recommend this place. We had a bed & breakfast deal, and think it was a good choice, as you can easily top up with dinners and lunches as you wish, instead of paying for the all-in. Thank you, Alto Atacama, for the unforgettable experience

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceHAA, Guest Relations Manager at Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
FromBLCK,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Alto Atacama. Service is very important to us, as is attention to detail. We hope that in addition to the in-room toiletries you also enjoyed the products used in the spa treatments made from local ingredients such as quinoa and altiplanic mud.

Thanks for taking the time to write.

With kind regards,
Kristina Schreck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We just stayed in this hotel for two nights and it was great! The hotel is beautiful, surrounded by ancient mountains it is pure relaxation.
The service is one of the best I´ve experienced, they are very nice and will do all they can to make you feel comfortable without being overwhelming. They are honestly nice. I´m pregnant and they were always doing their best to accommodate to my situation.
The food was very good, with three options of starter, main course and dessert at lunch and dinner. Nice buffet breakfast as well.
The rooms are nice and airy and ours (standard room) had a little patio with a daybed and a view of the valley.
This hotel is away from the town of San Pedro which makes it an ideal spot for stargazing. Is also very peaceful and quiet but you can reach the town in ten minutes in one of the hotel new vans.
There are many things to do around this area but me being pregnant I couldn´t do them all. We took two of the hotel excursions: Sunset at Valle de la Luna (moon Valley) and laguna Cejar. I absolutely recommend both of them as not only the places were amazing but the guides (Martín and Mariano) were great. They knew everything about the places we visited and are more that happy to help and answer all your questions.
The vans were always on time and they take a cooler with water, soft drinks, nuts and chocolates on every excursion so you really don´t need to be carrying anything with you.
The hotel has a bunch of small pools that are very private and since most of the people are out during the day there is a great feeling of privacy. (We never had to share the pool!!!)

I would also like to point that the manager (Alvaro Mendes) was always around, always available to greet and help the costumers and he was always nice.

Because of the mountains, cel phone signal is pretty week but there is one spot near the reception where you can get it. Wifi works perfectly everywhere in the hotel.

Overall, this is probably one of the best places I´ve stayed and I will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a patio that faces the valley outside the hotel so they are very private. I a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceHAA, Guest Relations Manager at Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Daniriver,

Thank you for taking the time to share all of this positive feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time at the Alto Atacama and were even able to get out and enjoy some of the excursions during your pregnancy! Given the wide range of activities we offer, there truly are options for everyone. And the guides are, as you mentioned, highly knowledgeable. This is because nearly all of them come from the surrounding region and know its geography and history like the back of their hand.

Thanks again and all the best to you and your family,
Kristina Schreck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We were meant to stay for 3 nights, but due to flight delays, unfortunately we only ended up staying 2 nights, but either way the place was an oasis, it was relaxing and the food, amenities and staff was great. The staff were always very accomodating & very friendly, including booking in for excursions or the spa. We had the full package so all food & drinks (incl cocktails & wines) & transfers were all included.
There were alot of American & Italian families with small kids and we mostly saw them during mean times, as they were very annoying, but luckily only saw them infrequently.
The excursions were all inclusive and were pretty good, not as good as Patagonia - but different locations have different things to see & do. The spa & massage was great & relaxing, the jacuzzi in the spa area was great.

this place maybe a tad expensive, but the service & quality of the property was 5 star

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

People should take 2 days just to stay an experience the hotel in itself, unfortunately, there is so much things to see around too that we didn't really had the time to only relax at the hotel.
Location is a must, just on the out-squirt of the town, far from the noise and the dust, right at the bottom of millennia old red rock cliffs. You just can't stop staring at the landscape. The way the atacameñian style gardens are put together is a delight to the eyes every single morning. The rooms are so beautifully decorated local style.
We mostly eat breakfast there as we were on excursions the rest of the day, but it was awesome. They change the buffet choice every morning so it is a surprise every morning.
One morning we ask for some hot chocolate for the little princess and it was to hot, so we spent 10 minutes getting it to cool down blowing on it ... the point is they probably noted that cause next morning hot cocoa came at right temperature, How is that as far as personalized experience.
Staff is friendly without being overwhelming, ready to satisfy your every needs.
The powerfull vibes of the Atacama desert probably added to the positive perception of the hotel but in the end i would definitely go back there ... in fact i will go back there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceHAA, Guest Relations Manager at Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
BusyTrav_9,

We're so glad you enjoyed your experience at the Alto Atacama. We agree that the hotel's secluded location provides a very important element of calm and tranquility to return to throughout the activity-filled days. That being said, we encourage guests to take at least one morning or afternoon off to soak up the sun and relax in our award-winning Puri Spa.

Thanks for taking the time to write. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Best regards,
Kristina Schreck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moravia, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Alto Atacama is a wonderful place to stay; the whole team make you feel very comfortable and important. The food is delicious and the tours are guided for people who really know everything related the places. I'll return with no doubt.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceHAA, Guest Relations Manager at Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Cindy,
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with the Alto Atacama, and we're happy that you enjoyed our excursions as well as our staff's friendly and attentive service. We hope to see you again!

Kristina Schreck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa

Address: Camino Pukara | Sector Suchor, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Location: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alto Atacama is located in the fertile Catarpe valley, just 3 kilometers away from the San Pedro plaza. Our total area is 3.5 hectares, with a park area of 2 hectares. The Hotel has 42 spacious rooms and state of the art facilities including an award-winning spa, business center, hot tub, wooden decks with 6 swimming pools and we offer more than 25 excursions to get a closer look at the Atacama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Atacama Hotel
Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.