We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place bad service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino Pukara | Sector Suchor, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice place bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights with the 'bed and breakfast' package, ie did not have all meals and excursions included. There were some positive aspects to our stay - the room was very spacious and well-equipped (although lighting was poor), it had a great outdoor bathroom, the surroundings are beautiful, and we were given a late check-out which was helpful. However, unlike the 'all-inclusive' customers, we were not given any proper briefing about the hotel and nearby attractions, nor its services. Hotel staff were generally disinterested and, on occasion, rude - which really marred our stay (although the restaurant staff were very pleasant). We can mention some other criticisms, although overall our real gripe is at the disinterest / rudeness of staff and the lack of any assistance or information about the local sights and hotel facilities. For a hotel of this quality and price, the breakfast was somewhat limited, and the meals were a bit hit-and-miss. Some meals were great (especially the desserts) others were very ordinary. We recommend that guests eat in the town, unless on the all-inclusive package, as there are some great restaurants there, with better food at lower prices. The hotel bikes were run down. The wifi only permitted email to work, no surfing at all, nor skype. Phone reception was patchy, although this might be expected given the remote location of the hotel. Its about a 3 km walk to the town, and sometimes difficult to catch taxis. We chose not to do the all-inclusive package because it seemed to us that some of the tour operators in town offered better options eg more sights within one tour (and we were very pleased with that particular decision). Perhaps our experience would have been more positive at this hotel if we'd taken the all-inclusive option, but we would not recommend this hotel to anyone only doing the bed-and-breakfast option.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    48
    9
    9
    3
See reviews for
72
219
15
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

A fantastic Spa and excursion base all-in-one. Superb location with tranquil spaces to relax in and a wide range of activity based excursions to burn off the calories consumed in the restaurant

Don't forget to have the local Pico with it's hint of rosemary

An unforgettable experience, friendly staff and all the service you could use

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceHAA, Guest Relations Manager at Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Ortanique,
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Alto Atacama! And your recommendation for a local pisco sour is a good one, the rosemary you state is actually "rica rica" -- a delicious native herb that we grow on our property. We use many local products in our cuisine such as quinoa and chañar, in local an international recipes.

We hope to host you again one day!

Kristina Schreck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The best of backpacking is take a rest in Hotel Alto Atacama.

Stuff service is wonderful, food is great i wish we can stay longer. Alvaro is a great guy who recommended us places to go and what to do in san pedro. Here is the best place where you can find a real landscape !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We really enjoyed all aspects of this hotel- superb location and infrastructure , great flexibility on trips, good quality guides and lovely dining. A special mention to Lesley , who was our charming waitress

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A very nice hotel - beautiful setting.
Rooms are spacious and nicely decorated - although a bit dark - quite a contrast to the intense sun of summer. The grounds are nicely appointed - five small pools - and spa.
Restaurant is very good. Had a nice stay - although the facility did not seem very busy.
About a 2 mile walk into town - or US $20 r/t taxi ride (a bit steep). If not in the "all inclusive" package the hotel will shuttle you to town for US $45 r/t (VERY steep). The walk is ok - but can be very warm in the intense afternoon sun.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The location is superb, near the village of San Pedro close enough for a walk but isolated enough for seeing the stars and the sky without any light around. The service is perfect, fabulous buffet breakfast. The restaurant offer is very good. One night they had the asado outside with all kinds of meat and fish, excellent. Every room has privacy and private patio. We stayed in the Catarpe type of room. The desk organizes tours to the geysers, salar de atacama, valle de la luna, valle de la muerte. On the premises they have all kinds of swimming pools with different temperatures. Also a corral with some beautiful and very well kept llamas. Unforgettable trip. Unforgettable Chile.

Room Tip: Catarpe type rooms have more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel is located outside of town, and it's lovely, surrounded by mountains, and feeling as if it fits right into its location. The food was quite good. We sometimes had a difficult time conversing if our server didn't have much English, but that was our problem, not theirs. There was usually someone around who could help with translation, and everyone seemed good natured about it. The room was lovely, very calming, although we would have appreciated a little more lighting. The bathroom was also very nice, with nice lighting on the floor under the counter and a great shower. We appreciated the patio outside the room with a wonderful view out the back. They seemed to be very environmentally conscious, but tended to put new toiletries into the room each day, whether needed or not.

We hope they, and San Pedro, are coping well after the flood that hit them a week after we left.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa

Address: Camino Pukara | Sector Suchor, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Location: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#1 Business Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alto Atacama is located in the fertile Catarpe valley, just 3 kilometers away from the San Pedro plaza. Our total area is 3.5 hectares, with a park area of 2 hectares. The Hotel has 42 spacious rooms and state of the art facilities including an award-winning spa, business center, hot tub, wooden decks with 6 swimming pools and we offer more than 25 excursions to get a closer look at the Atacama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Atacama Hotel
Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.