We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all things considered, not bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tambillo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Tambillo to your Saves list
Hotel Tambillo
Gustavo (Padre) Le Paige 159, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Louisville, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“all things considered, not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

We arrived here and spent three nights. The room was clean and the location is one street over from the main streets with restaurants and tour companies. The hot water needed to be turned on the first day but we had no other real issues after that. It was about $70 US a night for a double (two twin beds) and it includes breakfast which was literally a piece of cold bread, instant coffee, and a juice box. The rooms are no frills, no TV, wi fi, furniture etc but all of the choices in town seemed way more expensive unless you are looking for a hostal. The last day we had a late departure so the front desk let us take cold showers in their outside shower so we could clean up. Beware the sun is really strong and the town is dusty..well of course you are in the desert. I had altitude sickness the first night so drink lots of water, lots!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
1
12
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

We stayed in a double room for 3 nights, the hotel staff was quite friendly (although they didn't speak English) and the hotel transpired an authentic feeling. The room was clean and simple with a cottage-like cozy feeling (no tasteless decor, just the basics). We had a shower at different times of the day and we always had hot water. The courtyard was inviting, shady and occasionally visited by sparrows and doves. The only thing we missed was a hammock for those lazy afternoons. We did not have breakfast at the hotel as we were eager to go out and explore the town. A shared safe in the reception office can be used to keep your valuables.

All together we would certainly return to Hotel Tambillo in the future and together with the fact that we went to S Pedro de Atacama in a low tourist period made our trip to Atacama a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

Lage, shady courtyard, large enough for a few cars, with high walls and a gate that is locked at night, with tables and chairs under the trees that made a pleasant place to debrief after a day of birding. Cafeteria-style restaurant was large and clean and the staff were nice and efficiently served good, if not elaborate, breakfasts. Veronica, the proprietor, was nice and gracious and extremely helpful, arranging a myriad of logistics and giving good advice on a place to buy groceries, restaurants, etc. She found me a great mountain guide who didn't charge much for a very long day in the field. The room was small and simple but clean and completely adequate WITH PLENTY OF HOT WATER.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

Hotels in San Pedro de Atacama are overpriced compared to other locations in Chile. We stayed three nights at the Hotel Tambillo. Whilst just sufficient, you can find better places to stay in SPA for this price. The hot water is unpredictable and rooms are plain and small with no frills to brighten it up. The staff do not speak much English and whilst courteous, do not go out of their way to assist at all. The reception is uniniviting to sit in and the corridor separating the rooms is also unappealing. The Hotel Tambillo is just somewhere to sleep, but at 70USD per night, I'd recommend going elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

we were moved here after a disastrous night in hostal don sebastian where we had to change room hoping to have hot water and be able to take a hot shower (not possible in don sebastian, 100 dollars a night for two)
we were promised hot water and heating in the room at least between 9 pm and 1 am every night (it gets freezing cold in san pedro during the winter nights). we stayed at tambillo for 3 nights. first night no heating. the second day i asked the reception and the guy there told me that they only switch the central heating on, if the temperature drops below freezing point....(not what we were told at our arrival). third night, a group of Dutch tourists arrived, and finally the hotel decided it was time to give us four hours of heating.
paying 70 dollars a night for a cold room and hot water is a bit overpriced.....i dont expect five star service, pools and tvs, but hot water and heating is not demanding too much at this price.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2008

This hotel would be ok if it would cost half the price it does. But on the other hand, all the hotels are overpriced in San Pedro de Atacama. The hotel is clean, but the rooms are very small. The bed is small. Pay a little bit more, take one of the three bed rooms, because they are much bigger. I speak Spanish, but if you only speak English you may have some troubles. The two bed room was about 80US dollars. Breakfast is 4 dollars, but is terrible. Avoid taking breakfast in the hotel. Better go to one of the restaurants in the city. The good thing is that the hotel has a garage, and few of the cheap hotels in San Pedro does. So, if you rent a car, it is a good option. But, to be very honest, the best thing in San Pedro is to choose one of the expensive hotels. You get very tired during all the excursions, and it is important to rest at night.

  • Liked — Location, Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Price, small rooms
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tambillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tambillo

Address: Gustavo (Padre) Le Paige 159, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Location: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Tambillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tambillo Atacama/San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tambillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.