We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive stodgy food and grumpy service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Casona

La Casona
Caracoles 195, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
(055) 2851377
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: South American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Expensive stodgy food and grumpy service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

We went here on a Sunday night because the neighbouring excellent Bar Blanco was closed and they had a sign on the door recommending this restaurant.
I didn't mind that the waitress spoke only Spanish but would have been more pleased with the service had she demonstrated the tiniest amount of joy in her work and given us any sort of welcome.
When the food was delivered to the table, it was as lifeless as the atmosphere. My smoked salmon was just raw salmon and the avocado mixture that was with it was so stodgy. A limp piece of lettuce finished the dish that cost over 8000 Paso. San Pedro is generally expensive but this seemed to me to be very poor value.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    152
    57
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Looking for a meat/steak?? Right placê”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

If you are into meat and chicken, dont miss it! Tasty parrila and dishes. Service also good.
They arranged a taxi for my group very quickly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Decent food with consideration for gluten allergy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

A bit of a random choice and we asked about gluten free options for one of our party. They were clued-up on what could be served and gave good service. Food was good but not outstanding, portions were pretty big!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Overpriced for Chilean standards, you pay more than in Italy or Spain for food which is half as good. Staff had very limited english. The waitress was unable to open a bottle of wine and left half the cork in it and had to call her boss to help, funny enough we were not offered a fresh bottle. I'm happy to pay a premium price for a premium service, but La Casona aims to be a high end venue without providing anything high end other than the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great First Impressions of this Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Travelling in a group we arrived here quite late, no matter, Pisco sours, beers and wines and a lovely meal (large portions, see picture!) A good selection on the menu, good beers and a wine list to cater for most add to that a helpful waiter who was attentive and more than happy to divide up the bill amongst the group. We parked at a table on the bar patio at the back of the establishment around a fire in a wheel barrow which made for an atmospheric start to the Atacama leg of our trip! Food is varied and good, service attentive and atmosphere in keeping with the town. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casona also viewed

San Pedro de Atacama, Antofagasta Region
San Pedro de Atacama, Antofagasta Region
 
San Pedro de Atacama, Antofagasta Region
San Pedro de Atacama, Antofagasta Region
 

Been to La Casona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.