We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avenida del Mar

Avenida del Mar
La Serena, Chile
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 46 things to do in La Serena
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sparkling beaches, hot hotels and local restaurants line this city street.
Vina del Mar, Chile
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Place...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Havent been there since child, it has changed a lot but its still a beautiful palce to walk along the beach...

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    112
    46
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
123 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The beach and Coquimbo Bay by La Serena is quite beautiful and peaceful. We went in late August and the weather was nice - mostly in the 60sF but sometimes in the 70s. That time of year we felt we had the beach to ourselves as there were only occasional joggers and walkers such as ourselves. The beach is wide enough to accommodate lots of people and they have done a nice job by putting a jogging and cycling path between the beach and the main road, avenida del Mar. There are lots of restaurants and hotels / apts for rent all along the strand. We enjoyed watching the fishing boats go out into the bay every day for fresh fish; then watched them go back to Coquimbo to sell it to the local restaurants. The sunsets there are as pretty as anywhere; we enjoyed one of them while sharing some wine on the 11th floor balcony of our rented apartment - very peaceful. I understand why the Spanish settled there; the name La Serena says it all.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Serena, Chile
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“To spend an afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Great by the sea road to bike, walk or run,
12 km between La Serena and Coquimbo, so plenty to keep you busy,
Once in Coquimbo, try the fresh fish at the market and top it off with a great fruit juice !

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lunch at the beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Had good lunch on the beach on our first day. Food was good. It was nice to look at the ocean after traveling for 24 hours.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Crowded in February”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Avenida del Mar is the beachfront road in La Serena. Like most beachfront roads, it has hotels, condos, restaurants, and is jammed with traffic during the high season (I was there in February). The beach is very nice, but nothing out of the ordinary. Overall, it is a good place, but there are many more unique things to do in that part of Chile.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avenida del Mar also viewed

La Serena, Coquimbo Region
La Serena, Coquimbo Region
 
La Serena, Coquimbo Region
La Serena, Coquimbo Region
 

Been to Avenida del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenida del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.