We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Windswept, Isolated and Tabanos!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chiloe National Park

Chiloe National Park
Isla Chiloe, Chile
65-532501/532500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 31 Attractions in Isla Chiloe
Type: National Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Boynton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
413 reviews 413 reviews
256 attraction reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
“Windswept, Isolated and Tabanos!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I arrived here from Castro and entered through the park entrance at Cucao. There was a good interpretative center and an interesting raised boardwalk trail through an ancient forest. The deserted, windswept beach had an otherworldly feel, but I was unable to enjoy this due to these nasty biting beetles (tabanos) that would relentlessly swarm me. I explored some of the sand dunes as well as parts of the nearby forest (which had well marked hiking trails).

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    27
    9
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Nice - but not quite the real thing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We arrived to the entrance of the Chiloe National Park next to Cucao in our full hiking gear, where we found out that there are only 3 trails of a length of up to a couple of kilometers each (very family friendly; the difficulty level allows you to bring both your grandmother and your two-years-old along). Even combining all the trails we were done after only a bit more than two hours. Although this was rather disappointing and we felt a bit ridiculous in our gear (you could easily do it in flipflops), we found the trails quite interesting as we learned about local flora and fauna, spotting birds and strolling through different types of Chilotan natural forests and wetlands.

We later found out that the part of the national park where the visitors centre and the trails are located is not even connected to the main part of the Park - so don't expect to encounter too many wild animals apart from birds there.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Wonderful, wild National Park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We visited the main area of the park in Cucao and enjoyed the excellent eco-tourism centre with descriptions of the rain forest and animals. The park has pamphlets in a number of languages and the signage on the trails is in Spanish and English. There are a number of self-guided walks including to the rugged beach with it's wild winds and waves - definitely an invigorating experience. You will find a number of different seashells, see wild horses running along the shore, lots of kelp and will have great views of the coastline. The park also has camping and cabanas for rent as well as a restaurant run by the very friendly Tatiana and her team. The food is prepared fresh daily with a number a different items available including excellent fresh grain bread, pizza sandwiches that you can eat-in or take on your hike, soup of the day, quiche and one main dish each day. The restaurant has wifi and is open to 9 or 10pm each night.
Highly recommended to see some of the last untouched temperate rainforest in the world!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calif.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Protected Nature to Enjoy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Great to see how the Chilean Gov't decided to protect this park. It is on the west side of the island, so wasn't exploited as much and there is still virgen rainforest. The Interpretive Center in Cucao is a must.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goulburn, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wow, untouched land”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Travelled here with 2 friends as said before there was limited road signs very hard to find but once we found it we were very happy besides the dogs running all over the roads haha

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiloe National Park also viewed

Isla Chiloe, Los Lagos Region
Ancud, Isla Chiloe
 
Isla Chiloe, Los Lagos Region
Isla Chiloe, Los Lagos Region
 

Been to Chiloe National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chiloe National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.