We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully restored villa but poor service and lacks attention to detail” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa Battambang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Villa Battambang to your Saves list
La Villa Battambang
N 185 Pom Romchek 5 Kom | Rattanak Srok Battambang, Battambang, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 42 Battambang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Canberra
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautifully restored villa but poor service and lacks attention to detail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This colonial villa is gorgeous, making this hotel a must-stay in Battambang. However, service is average, attention to detail is lacking, and it isn't being maintained as well as it could, so it could quickly get tatty and run down. For example, the blinds in room 6 are broken and unsightly, and totally out of keeping with the rest of the room, which is full of character and beautifully furnished. The pool was not well maintained/monitored and when I visited it was too acidic, stinging my eyes and therefore not very pleasant. Still recommended because of the unique experience of staying in an original colonial villa, but with a little attention to detail it could be so much better... It is also highly disappointing that fruit is not included with breakfast - it is pretty stingy to charge an extra $2.50 for fruit in a place where a pineapple costs 20c!
PS Battambang has to be one of the most liveable places in Asia - highly recommend staying more that a few days.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 3 and then room 6. Very different in character. Both good but rooms 3 and 4 definit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    70
    18
    8
    3
See reviews for
34
121
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Lovely hotel with lots of character. We loved our room and all the antiques. The only thing I could advise is to make the rooms more secure as the door didnt lock very securely?
We stayed for 2 nights and wanted to stay longer but they were booked already.
We found the staff lovely and friendly but more reserved than in other parts of Cambodia,maybe that is the french influence?
We found the most excellent tuk tuk driver outside the hotel, he really made our stay, we went with the purpose of going on the bamboo train but hadnt planned anything else, so he took us around and made our time there very worthwhile.
Overall we found the hotel to be excellent value for money!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulmer, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at La Villa in Battambang. The room we had (room 3) was huge, fairly clean and comfortable with a colonial feel to it. The bathroom was in great need of an upgrade but served its purpose. The hotel has a pool which is very welcome after a days sightseeing.
The restaurant at La Villa is probably the best in Battambang, however the choice in Battambang is not great.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Me and my husband stayed here two nights during a trip around Cambodia in May 2008. The room was beautifully restored with colonial details. I think the place has now been "upgraded" with a pool, but that was just a pit in the yard at the time of our visit. We liked the huge room though and the bar downstairs was nice. Great location. The service was a bit slow at breakfast, otherwise ok.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Three of us stayed here for 2 nights in November 2011. When we booked we were told that the 3 person room at $65 was only available for one nght, but that a Manager's suite was availble for the other night at $70.

Our first night in the Manager's Suite (one large room and one small room with en suite bathroom) at $70 was very disappointing and over priced. The larger room for 2 people was OK but had an air of faded glory about it; the single room was unaccpetable - no windows and a single mattress on the floor. We did negotiate a reduction in the price to $50 but would advise anyone against booking the Manager's Suite if offered.

Our second night was fine. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and the restaurant was good.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

I had a very nice stay here early December. The restaurant was probably the best in Battambang, with good wine, pastis and please try the local Brandy! The room was beautiful old style and it was an easy walk to downtown. I especially enjoyed the staff, who were helpful in every way and actually took me to a local Karaoke place.

This is a very nice town full of pretty French colonial buildings and has a nice local vibe. The boat trip from Siem Reap was amazing. I recommend this hotel and will return again on my next trip to Cambodia.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Our stay wasn't as nice as we expected. The room was OK but the door didn't lock right and had to be fixed and even then it didn't look totaly secure. The mosquito net was so dusty. It was a kooky layout which I didn't mind, but I wouldn't stay here again. The lunch was pretty average too unfortunately but we were time poor and ate there.

Room Tip: we were on room 2 on the ground floor behind reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Villa Battambang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Battambang

Address: N 185 Pom Romchek 5 Kom | Rattanak Srok Battambang, Battambang, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Battambang
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your La Villa Battambang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Battambang Hotel Battambang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa Battambang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.