We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable but lacking in character” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Royal to your Saves list
Hotel Royal
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Near Centre Psar Nath Market, Battambang, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 42 Battambang B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable but lacking in character”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

Firstly I should say that if you want to avoid being pressured to go on a tour then you should probably stay somewhere else. These guys never give up - on our first day here they asked what we were doing - we told them that we had to go to the hospital (my partner needed a vaccination) to which they asked if we would not rather see some sights instead... Every time you enter or leave the hotel it's the same deal, refusal and rejection means little to them.

That being said, this is a very clean, comfortable and reasonably priced place to stay. The staff are friendly but they are trained to hound you mercilessly and this can put a strain on your relations with them. We decided that we wanted to rent a scooter rather than take a tuk-tuk to Phnom Sampeau. Since they only have manual bikes for rent and we wanted an automatic (try Gecko Motos for this) they insisted that a tuk-tuk would be far 'more interesting' for us. In a sense their persistence is admirable but it can also feel a little bit like disrespect.

Laundry is cheap here and wifi is free, but for those without their own computer, internet access can be found for a better price nearby. Our room was cool, clean and comfortable, with an excellent selection of international channels on the TV. We had to haggle but eventually we got the room for two dollars less than their initial asking price - great value for what we got. The rooftop restaurant isn't great - instead we recommend the coffeehouse a few doors down for their excellent breakfast.

We had friends who stayed in Chayya Hotel, the Royal's main competitor in town. They were less than pleased with their stay there. We would recommend the Royal to anyone coming to Battambang.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    221
    84
    23
    5
See reviews for
24
214
97
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

No one is going to stay in Battambang for more than a few nights and if you are looking for a cheap and cheerful place then this fits the bill. We went for the least expensive room at just $6 that had a bed, a fan, a TV and only cold water - so v. basic but fine. Most importantly it was clean and the staff polite enough. Only irritation was being bombarded by tuktuk drivers each time we left the hotel.
Restaurant on the roof is nice for a beer or good Lok Lak.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

We paid just $5 for a double room with fan and attached cold water shower and toilet. The room was a good size, towels, soap and toilet paper were provided, and it was very clean. We didn’t have an outside window, but the room was pretty good value for money none-the-less.
The roof restaurant was fine, but slightly less inspiring and more expensive than some of the other restaurants in town.
The service was generally ok, but there were a couple of lapses when the staff at reception appeared reluctant to put themselves out, eg when the wifi (included in the room rate) wasn’t working.
Tip: Eat at the White Rose restaurant on Ph 2. It’s really cheap, and offers varied and tasty food (including plenty of vegetarian options) in an atmospheric road-side setting – bustling with locals as well as the odd westerner. They have an English menu, most of the staff speak fairly good English, and the fruit and ice cream shakes ($1) were by far the best I’ve had in Cambodia!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We (three girls) stayed two nights in Royal Hotel in Battambang.
The room was clean, calm and very nice with its little balcony. The hotel has a great location, near the central market. Thus, it is a good starting point to discover this charming colonial town by walking!
I recommend you this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sinaloa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

Theres not much tosee in Battambag, thats why we only stayed there for one night.
The hotel was just for that, it has 4 computers at the lobby which you can use for a cheap fee.
Rooms are very big and the shower has amazing pressure.
A/C worked fine during all day, which is something good for cambodian high temperatures.
Staff was helpful and they also offered us tuk tuk tour.
It has a terrace in the roof which we didnt used, but the man at the lobby said you could have drinks up there.

At the end of our stay they even gave us some scarfs as presents.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

Was met off the bus by a tuk tuk driver working for this hotel and were brought straight to it. It seems the longer you stay there the better deal you get on the room. We got a big double room with fan, TV and hot water for $8.00. Its not bad value at all. The staff though are not the best (at reception). Didn't leave a good impression. This hotel always seems full of backpackers and was sorry not to give a more local person the business. The Lonely Planet is not always so good to rely on I suppose. The rooftop restaurant is to be avoided. No where does more expensive, bad value, western food. Dreadful! The best restaurant in Battambang is Smokin Pot - which also does a cooking course for $8.00 - best value in South East Asia. Highly recommend this restaurant. Overall its an ok place to stay, good value but there is better out there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

The Hotel Royal in Battambang is well-equipped with spacious, if dark, rooms, hot and cold running water, A/C or fan, and very rude and unhelpful staff members. The staff member who we assumed was the manager was even a little creepy, and I was not at all sorry to leave the hotel and go on to our next destination. Overall, it's a decent value, but watch out for the staff...not a good vibe coming from them at all. I would especially recommend that single women or groups of female travelers stay away because of the particular staff member mentioned above.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: Near Centre Psar Nath Market, Battambang, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Battambang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Royal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Hotel Battambang is a Real Cambodian Running hotel, offers accommodation in Cambodia. Royal Hotel Battambang is an oasis of calm and peaceful retreat, located in center of town and away from the busy streets. The hotel is one of the finest hotels in Battambang and offers a beautiful panoramic green view on the rooftop garden and a restaurant serving Khmer and Western dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.