We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in battambang” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Royal to your Saves list
Hotel Royal
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Near Centre Psar Nath Market, Battambang, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 40 Battambang B&B and Inns
Battambang , cambodia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best hotel in battambang”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

Good and clean hotel , It's a stone throw from the central market , friendly staff , Very helpful manager, and i went on the tour with a excellent english driver name Mr. Rich , i had a wonderful time here , the most recommended hotel in Battambang .

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    205
    80
    22
    5
See reviews for
21
199
94
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights in Jan 10 and payed $15 for a large clean odourless room equiped with AC,fridge,tv,hot shower and balcony.The furnishings are on the girly side but never the less it's a bargain.
The roof top restaurant is average at best but functional.
The lobby staff are cheeky but harmless,sense of humour required.
I did 1•5 days touring on the back of my guides motorcycle.My guide mr Buffallo was top drawer.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

Clean, cheap, friendly, Internet on site. Rent a moto ("Coco" is excellent) and get out of the city. I had my best times in Battambang, despite the city. Try Seeing Hands massage by the blind next door.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

As written by other traffelers; nice and big rooms. We only stayed one night. We dind't found Battambang that great. The boattrip to is (form Siem Reap) was very nice.
And for the restaurant.... Do not order anything else then local food. They know how to make rice and noodles, they don't know jack about frence frieds and burgers...

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

I struggled with whether to give Hotel Royal 2 or 3 stars and settled on 3 because if you don't anger the staff, you can have a decent stay. The rooms are clean, spacious, and come with TV and telephone. I was there in the heat of August and only needed a fan (no A/C) because the fan was so high powered ($7 for a single room - great deal for all you get). It's a great hotel to meet other backpackers and a fantastic location.
However, the downside is the staff and their motobike "mob." One of the main things to do in Battambang is to tour the countryside for a day on the back of a motobike. Hotel Royal has a number of motobike drivers contracted through them. They are $12 a day - the hotel gets a $2 cut. Hire a driver off the street and it's $10 a day. First, the motobike drivers bug you every single time you walk in and out that door. And not just one moto driver - all the moto drivers. Second, I decided I wanted to spread the money around so I hired a moto driver off the streets. Leaving to meet my guide that morning, one of the hotel's guides hanging out in the lobby asked me, "Motoguide today?" No thanks I answered. Another asked, "Staying in town today?" I lied and said yes. The hotel staff behind the desk very coldly and rudely, with a nasty stare, said, "No you aren't, your driver is waiting for you down the street." They were rude to me the rest of my stay. So, if you don't mind constantly being bothered by the moto drivers and either 1) hire a moto driver through the hotel or 2) do a better job than me about keeping an outside moto driver a secret (I still have no idea how they found out), then this will be a fine place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

This is a very nice hotel in the lovely - not so touristic!- city of Battambang. Great service and big rooms. Don't forget to go for one or two days with the motoguides who hang out in this hotel. They show you really interesting and beautiful places. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

Battambang can seem a little intimidating. It is a less travelled city, and that is one of it's charms although it can seem almost spooky off season at night.

The Royal is a straight forward, clean, safe, good value for money hotel. The rooms are a very good size, and there is accomodation to suit all needs. We were travelling with my partners sister at the time and had a spacious room with a fridge that ran at arctic, a tv and a fan for $15. For a couple more bucks you could have air con and hot water, but the windows have insect screens and they don't suffer from being cramped or stuffy.

The staff were very pleasant and helpful downstairs, warning of scams and helping you to plan your stay. The roof terrace bar is a lovely place to watch the sun set and see the locals scrry off to their homes like reverse vampires. The upstairs staff are a little grumpy, but there's no lift and you're not high enough to be giddy on altitude, so probably fair enough if you have to make the climb several times a day.

We had some good food up there too, and we saw a few families eating most nights who looked very relaxed. It's just off the main market and within easy walk of several places to eat, get cash and buy essentials.

All in all I enjoyed our stay, and talking to other tavellers, I really believe it to be the best option in Battambang.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: Near Centre Psar Nath Market, Battambang, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Battambang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Royal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Hotel Battambang is a Real Cambodian Running hotel, offers accommodation in Cambodia. Royal Hotel Battambang is an oasis of calm and peaceful retreat, located in center of town and away from the busy streets. The hotel is one of the finest hotels in Battambang and offers a beautiful panoramic green view on the rooftop garden and a restaurant serving Khmer and Western dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.