We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but overpriced compared to competition” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sangker Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sangker Villa to your Saves list
Sangker Villa
Street 200, Phum Rumcheck 4, Battambang 12000, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 40 Battambang B&B and Inns
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good but overpriced compared to competition”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here only one night. After reading the reviews here we arrived with high expectations and left a bit disappointed. Marco was a very nice host and greeted us with a welcome drink, snack and conversation. The place was clean and the breakfast was simple and good. However the room and bathroom were very basic and the bed was very hard with massively high pillows. We were on the ground floor close to the kitchen and pool. There were only two high windows that we couldn't see out of and there were no blinds on them. In the morning we were woken very early by the sounds of breakfast preparation and a really loud beeping that went on for over half an hour (the bread maker??) It seemed to us that for the price ($39) there are other options in the city that are of a higher standard (we moved down the road to a much nicer, if slightly lacking in character, hotel for $23/night). Alternatively, it sounds like the two similar rated guest houses at $19/night may represent better value.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambodgetou, Propriétaire at Sangker Villa, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Google Translation
Cher Tom,
Nous somme désolés, mais tenons a préciser deux ou trois choses sur votre commentaire.
Concernant les fenêtre des chambre au parterre, c'est pour la fraîcheur de la maison et pour la sécurité de nos clients que nous avons choisit ce genre de fenêtre.
Bien que nous ayons un gardien de nuit, ces chambres donnent sur un jardin qui appartient au voisin donc très difficile a contrôler pour notre gardien,
Concernant le bruit du four a pain, c'est bien cette petite sonnerie que vous avez entendu.
Pour mieux vous servir,nous avons effectivement cuit du pain pour vous car nous ne voulions pas vous laisser partir en vélo a 7 heure du matin sans petit déjeuner.
Concernant le prix, je souhaite simplement pour vous que les chambres que vous avez trouvées offrent les mêmes services que notre établissement.
Piscine,petit déjeuner,au choix compris dans la chambre et surtout des gens a votre écoute qui parlent votre langue (français, anglais, allemand, espagnol, italien) et qui vous organisent des tours en vélo par exemple.
Nous sommes désolés de ne pas avoir répondu a vos attentes, mais nous pouvons vous garantir que nous faisons tout notre possible pour améliorer tous les jours nos services.
Nous vous souhaitons une bonne continuation de voyage.
Salutations
Marco et Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
30
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Everything about Sangker Villa shows the love and care that went into it. Marco and Natalie, the swiss couple who own and operate it, came here to live simply and happily, and they share this with all of their guests. They are relaxed, attentive and considerate. It's all in the details. Homemade bread, homemade fruit jam and juice, good conversations, many projects supporting the local community. They do it with love and that's the most important thing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambodgetou, Propriétaire at Sangker Villa, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you sincerely, your opinion encourages us to always to do our best for our customers
Marco and Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We initially booked for 3 nights (end of October) at Sangker because there are not much to do in Battambong. How we are wrong... It's a not a place to 'do' but more like a place to 'feel'. We extended our stay to 1 week (my friends asked 'one week in Battambong? Doing what?') and we've stayed in many hotels/hostels afterwards but nothing feels like this place! Everytime we talk about the town, it always reminds us of Marco & Natalie who made us feel so welcome and are cool people to talk to.

When we arrived at the bus station, Marco arranged a tuk2 driver to pick us up (David) who then took us around town 2 days after (knowledgeable and has loads of jokes for you!). We especially enjoy the bamboo train, fun fun fun!!

The place has 7 rooms only (so not too crowded at the busiest time). Our room was upstairs which is spacious, clean with nice comfortable queen size bed (not too hard and not too soft), spacious bathroom too (shower area and toilet are separated by sliding glass door). When we feel like a lazy day, we can watch the TV upstairs, or read our books, or enjoy the swimming pool (with jacuzzi). What you see in the photos here is exactly like what it is in reality.

The town centre is only 5mins walk for lunch and dinner... Marco can recommend nice places too! We also like the fact that it isnt too close to the busy area (well, Battambong isnt that busy).

Every morning, we look forward to the nice healthy breakfast: starts with fruit salad and orange juice, then home made bread (tastes great!) with freshly cook egg, then hot tea... While having a nice chat with either Marco or Natalie. They really look after us well.

They booked a minivan transfer to Phnom Penh with recommended seats for extra leg room which is comfy & includes free hotel transfer from bus station.
Will definitely come back again for a nice relaxing retreat... And a dip in the pool!! :-D

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambodgetou, Propriétaire at Sangker Villa, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Google Translation
Nous avons eu beaucoup de plaisir a vous recevoir comme client.
Nous gardons aussi de bons souvenirs de votre passage a Battambang.
Merci pour vos commentaires qui nous encourage.
Sincères salutations
Marco & Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sihanoukville Province, Cambodia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We went there just fore one night, but stayed longer. Rooms are very clean and modern, like everything else. Marco is the best host you could wish for. The vibe is relax and friendly. The tour Marco suggested was one of the best we have had in cambodia. You wont regret going here!! Marco thanks for a great stay and youre hospitality!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambodgetou, Propriétaire at Sangker Villa, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you sincerely, your opinion encourages us to always to do our best for our customers
Marco and Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 2 night at Sangker Villa chosen because of other trip advisor reviews. This relatively new Villa ( completed earlier this year I believe) is very conveniently located within an easy walking district of restaurants and bars and yet in a quieter part of town. Rooms are very clean and spacious, breakfast with it's homemade bread is more than adequate and the hosts very accommodating. We were only there for one fulll day and Marco helped to arrange a wonderful Tuk tuk driver for us. and that is another story in itself!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambodgetou, Propriétaire at Sangker Villa, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you sincerely, your opinion encourages us to always to do our best for our customers
Marco and Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I decided last hour to visit Battambang, and it was a great idea, not only by the city but also for the Sangket Villa.
I look for small hotels with personal attention, good location, quiet at night and nice food, and Marco and Nathalie's house is just an excellent example.
They were very helpful with all the transportation, pick up, tours, questions and reservations, they really made me feel like a friend instead of a guest.
First recommendation to all my friends visiting Cambodia.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambodgetou, Propriétaire at Sangker Villa, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
thank you
We had a lot of fun to have you as a customer and we can say that now we have a friend in Colombia.
Thank you for your encouragement.
marco and Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I was very happy to come across this place in Battambang. It's about a 10 min walk from city center, very short tuk tuk. Run by a nice Swiss couple, the hotel is very clean, has a nice pool, a/c, wife/cable. The owners were very welcoming and helped with tours, bus tickets, etc. This place is relatively new (5 months) so not in the guidebooks yet. I have stayed in many "mid range" hotels in SE Asia during my trip and can say that for less than $30/night this is a GREAT value.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambodgetou, Propriétaire at Sangker Villa, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you Jim,
Your visit makes us really happy
Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sangker Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sangker Villa

Address: Street 200, Phum Rumcheck 4, Battambang 12000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Battambang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Hotel with swimming pool restaurant owner a couple of Switzerland.Small restaurant with specialties Swiss cheese fondue.Located in a quiet location 10 minutes from downtown ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Sangker Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sangker Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.