We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss the hidden cave” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wat Banan Temple

Wat Banan Temple
Banan Hill, Battambang, Cambodia
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 14 Attractions in Battambang
Type: Ancient Ruins, Cultural
Attraction details
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
85 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Don't miss the hidden cave”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I arrived to Banan temple hill on a motorbike around mid-day when it was exceptionally hot. There is a $3 entrance fee to help maintain the temple (gladly paid). The long steps up to the top of the temple are beautiful. A Naga statue lines the bottom and top of the stairs, and its snake-scaled back makes up the bannister. As I climbed up the steps a young girl and boy joke-raced me and fanned me to help cool me down. We laughed and played until we got to the top and the little boy even showed me what he said were the "best spots." The view wasn't as spectacular as people had told me because there were a large amount of trees blocking the view, but it was still definitely worth the drive and climb to get here. I handed the boy and girl the equivalent of $0.25 each and they were more than ecstatic. To be honest, I'm not sure if these kids were on break because it was a weekend, or if they were taken out of school by their parents to make money at the temple. My suggestion would be to only give money to the kids on the weekends, and if you see them during the week don't as it encourages child hawking rather than education.

Just don't forget to head into the cave before you leave!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    39
    21
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice temple hill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I like Banan temple hill so much as it has a nice view, easy to take a fresh air and look around the hillside is so amazing .

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Hidden cave!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We were so glad when a local lady began to fan us on the way up the 300 plus steps; it was very welcome and she is only trying to make a living! The temple was very serene, although we were feeling a bit templed out after 2 days at Ankor! When we came to go down she led us through the back and down a precarious mountain path until eventually we came to an enormous cave! It didn't seem that large at first until a young local boy returned with head torches which we could then wear to venture into the vast bat laden cavern. I had never seen anything like it! It was a real warren inside and without our guide we would certainly have got lost! A brilliant experience but only go with a guide!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE Asia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Mystical temple with a stair climb.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I was led up the steps by a lovely little boy, who was fanning me down to keep me cool, from a fan that he made at school so he could some money (he didn't ask for a set amount). He pointed out beautiful and vibrant blue lizards on the way too. The temple is worth a visit if you are in Battambang, and the countryside on the way is also refreshing and relaxing.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Its a good half day tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

It was pouring down when we visited. I think at least 50mm during the hour for the climb up and down.

And it was a Cambodian Halloween holiday so half of Battambang was there too.

It costs 5 USD pr person to get in.

Its a long climb up but I guess in good weather it would be a nice and tranquil place to see.

I guess if you are in Battambang this is one of the places you must also see.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wat Banan Temple also viewed

Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 
Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 

Been to Wat Banan Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wat Banan Temple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.