We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A breath of fresh air” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Mango Cafe and Bakery

Green Mango Cafe and Bakery
Near Soun Yu Van Gard | Across from Spring Park Hotel, Battambang, Cambodia
053 64 999 66
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 71 Restaurants in Battambang
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Description: Try our signature Banana Bread French Toast with our Chorizo Sausage made in-house. Our contemporary coffee bar features lattes, cappuccinos and blended iced coffee. Cool off with a refreshing smoothie or fresh lime juice!A blend of American, Mexican, Italian and Khmer favorites comprise our lunch menu. Grab a boxed lunch for a day trip or bring in the whole family or office for a party. Free WiFi, air conditioning and delivery are available.Specialty brownies, cakes, cookies and muffins are made daily in our bakery. Purchase a loaf of white bread, whole grain rolls or herb foccacia to enjoy at home. Our Green Mango Pie is sure to be a favorite!
Battambang
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A breath of fresh air”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

From the moment I first biked past Green Mango, it was like a breath of fresh air.

The setup itself is open and airy. It seems to fit in with the local nature while at the same time offering a cool (air conditioned!) refuge from the heat. The design of the place is consistent and clean, and you can even catch a glimpse of their garden in the back.

The food is delicious and very well-priced. Banana bread french toast reminds me of Saturday mornings at home. The fish tacos are fresh and the tortillas are well made. They have a great selection of iced beverages. The baked goods are consistently fresh. The staff is so friendly and attentive.

I was so glad to find this place so close to home. Definitely worth one, two, three or more visits. :)

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    13
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Phnum Penh, Cambodia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My Favorite Eats in Battambang!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I am a photojournalist working in Cambodia. While I live in Phnom Penh, I do a lot traveling to other regions following various story leads. During my last excursion to Battambang this spring, I found myself eating at Green Mango nearly every day. The Banana Bread French Toast is the best breakfast around! The restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch Monday through Saturday and features American, Italian, Mexican and Khmer favorites. All ingredients are locally sourced- some even growing in the restaurant's backyard garden. They smoke their own meats, bake all their own breads and pastries and even sell homemade peanut butter. Indoor air-conditioned seating is available as well as a shaded outdoor patio. Quick, free WiFi is also offered. The food comes out fast- even in a large group- and you can't beat the prices. Every meal I've eaten- including drinks- has cost $5 or less. The restaurant is part of a Culinary Training Center assisting at-risk young women run by a local NGO. You can watch the students cook your meal through the large glass windows separating the state-of-the-art kitchen and dining room. The friendly staff is more than accommodating taking reservations, call-ahead orders and even doing delivery. I plan to eat at Green Mango every time I'm in town!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battambang, Cambodia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great new place in Battambang with Western food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Our family has eaten here two times. Breakfast and lunch. The breakfast has some great selections and was very good! Lunch was even better. Great selection of sandwhiches and salads!

I would recommend the Green Mango with high marks! They are already one of the best places to eat in Battambang after only being open for a short time! Enjoy your meal!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battambang, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food, really good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

The Green Mango is great! Its part of a non-profit that is training at risk girls in culinary skills and hospitality, and because of that they probably have one of the best chefs in Battambang. who knows not only how to cook up western dishes right, but sources everything locally or grows it herself! They make their own fresh tomato sauce and soup, they have a smoker for doing their own bacon. The food there is spectacular!

I live in Battambang and have eaten there several times and intend on going back again. I haven't been disappointed with anything on the menu.

The girls are being trained about what is good service, what questions to ask, etc. It is a very pleasant place to eat.

I highly recommend it!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
2 reviews
“Great food, atmosphere, and a good cause as well!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We went to the newly opened Green Mango Cafe in March. They have a large menu of breakfast and lunch items of cuisines from Cambodian to Mexican and typical American. Everyone can find something they like. We are vegetarian and they had lots of options.

The restaurant is attached to a non-profit cooking school and all of the employees are women who are being trained to be cooks.

The restaurant has a nice patio as well as a bright air-conditioned interior. In addition to the restuarant, you can order from their fresh baked pastry display or get an espresso or smoothie.

Check it out if you are in Battambang!

They were open for Breakfast and Lunch only.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Mango Cafe and Bakery also viewed

Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 
Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 

Been to Green Mango Cafe and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Mango Cafe and Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.