We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King Fy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added King Fy Hotel to your Saves list
King Fy Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   306 Street 155, Battambang 314, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Battambang
Malaga, Spain
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I have to agree with previous reviewers that this hotel is well worth the money. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with lavish (some might say ostentatious) fixtures and furnishings, and a great shower. There was a good free WIFI connection and adequate a/c. Friendly, helpful staff though I got the impression that they could have benefited from some extra customer service/staff training as they seemed rather inexperienced.

There were regular power outages in the town during our stay, but the powerful hotel generator meant that nothing in the hotel was affected other than TV channel selection.

This hotel could easily be classed as excellent with a few simple extras:-

1) Screen off the huge glass windows/doors at the rear of the reception lobby through to the back of the hotel (where all the cleaning materials etc are kept and one of the first things that new visitors see).

2) Have the restaurant staff at breakfast keep on top of the buffet table. Items were constantly running out and it seemed to come as a surprise to the staff to have to keep replenishing them. Again, this comes down to staff training I think, and is easily remedied.

3) Swimming pool - which is in the process of being built at the moment.

I offer this constructive criticism in an effort to raise the level of service given by the King Fy hotel to excellent rather than merely very good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    72
    23
    5
    0
See reviews for
13
69
24
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

this chinese chain hotel brings modern ameneties but no swimming pool to Battambang. immediatly the standout feature is the external glass 6 story lift on the opposite side of the riverfront !!this is only a prelude to the exceptional standard of attention and service by all members of the staff.
Free tuk tuk pick is provided to the hotel from the bus station,personalised check in sees you in your room within minutes,upgrades are common and facilities are 4 star except that there is no swimming pool.food is basic western and cambodian. the position allows you to walk into town over either of two bridges or use a tuk tuk ($1).sunset river entertainment is only one block away..all this for $35. On the early morning departure (7.45 from hotel to ferry wharf to return to siem reap ,the breakfast was available from 6.30 and i was also provided with bottled water and a small lunch pack for the trip.
some people feel that this interesting boat trip is too long but except for the last one and a half hours on the largest lake in asia,it is a photographers delight with the boat dropping merchandise on shore and picking up and dropping passengers midstream. there is a floating shop half way where you can get basic asian food,soft drinks and sweets. $20 and king fy will arrange your booking...Unless you are determined to have a villa with swimming pool,this hotel ticks all the boxes..Bus to battambang (4 hrs $6) can be arranged through your hotel in Siem Reap. Strongly suggest you do the trip Siem Reap/battambang/siem reap to avoid any travel scams at the siem reap boatdock.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay in the King Hotel. The location is conventient, on the river side opposite of the city hustle. Therefore we could really kick back and relax.
The room was very nice - absolutely clean and with all the comfort needed for getting out in the countryside of Battambang. We even got an upgrade to a higher category room.
However, most striking was the service level in this hotel. Quite extraordinary even to what high levels we had experienced across SE Asia before... All information, printing, travel planning, free in-town transport, ticketing was helped with to our fullest convenience.
All in all we think this must be the best option in Battambang at this price level.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erfurt, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We have stayed at this for hotel several days. The rooms are clean, the breakfast is good and the staff is realy nice and very helpful. We needed to organized something, they helped. The owner said "don't worry about this" and he really meant it. We recommend this hotel with his emphatic staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Rooms are spacious and very clean and the furniture in the lobby and rooms was gorgeous. The staff goes out of their way to be accommodating - the day I checked out I was handed a packed lunch, and the concierge rode with me on the tuk tuk to make sure I got on the right boat.
Wifi is fast and reliable, and the breakfast was good too.
The only complaint I have is that you can hear music from the girlie bars up the street (next to the UN office), but that quiets down around 11pm.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Imagine you are in a South East Asian country, near the equator. It's hot. It's humid. And you've just been on some 6 hour day trip/track to see some temple. Your undies are wet from sweat, there's a white rim of dried salt on your hat brim, and you're not sure if you have an awesome tan or if it is just dust fused with sweat.

What would you be looking forward to coming back to your hotel?

Aside from not having been robbed by housekeepers, I would imagine you would have answered "AIR-CON and SHOWER"!

The good news is that this hotel has the standard air con of course, but most importantly, THE SHOWER IS AMAZING!!!1one

Most hotels we have been to on our trip had dismal showers, barely enough to get wet, let alone clean off the days worth of fusion sweat /sunscreen /DEET /grime. At another hotel they even had hot water problems that I had to resort to boiling the kettle to fill a tub to have a good warm clean.

We were lucky (maybe) and got upgraded for free to a King Suite on arrivial. The shower in our room had a dual split of a mobile head and a large fixed shower head. The water delivered through the heads were large volume, generous, and strong in stream. It may be that our shower had a problem with drainage, but it felt like the shower was going to flood most times as there's just that much water coming out. The hot water is almost instantaneous, and we never had problems with not having hot water.

Aside from that the King Suite we had was very nice.

Hand carved wooden furnishing is found throughout the hotel, including our room. The room had a large king bed which was slightly hard for my liking, but all hotels in this region appear to share this.

There's a plasma TV in the room with local and cable channels. There were frequent power outages in the Battambang city proper (not where the hotel is), which meant the cable supplier was down most days during daytimes. But I think this is a regional problem and not of the hotel.

There's complimentary water, a small basket of chips and instant noodle which ranges from USD$0.5 to $1.5. There's a small bar fridge with soft drinks and beer. And on arrival we were sent some complimentary fresh fruit.

There's also an in-house safe for those inclined to use such things.

There's a balcony accessible through the window, which houses the air-conditioner, but there's enough room for a couple of people to stand and enjoy the view of the city and the river.

At the time we were here, they appear to be working towards installing a roof-top bar, and a ground floor swimming pool, but these are not available at time of writing.

Overall, a standard good quality hotel at a good price, and if nothing else, the shower alone earns my recommendation.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the river side are probably quieter. There'a a Karaoke bar in the streets behind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

I stayed at the King Fi form 3 Feb12 to 10 Feb 12. It caters to a business clientele but is welcoming to regular tourists too. They were hosting a few business meetings in the restaurant while I was there. It's location on the east bank of the Stung Sangker River means that it is quieter than hotels that are downtown. It is a pleasant walk to a bridge that takes you toward the downtown area and one can be in the central market within 15 or 20 minutes, depending on one's pace. If walking isn't your thing, TukTuks or motos are always available at the hotel.
My room had two double beds with very comfortable mattresses. Everything (TV, AC(very quiet), Lights, Fridge, Personal Safe, Tea Maker and Outlets) worked fine. I had a bathtub with a jacuzzi in it which I could not get to work, but it may have been me rather than a faulty machine. There also was a small balcony. The room was very clean, including the lavatory.
The restaurant is another story. Breakfast was mainly a buffet using food leftover from the restaurant the previous evening, at least that's how it seemed from a quality point of view. The fresh fruit was good, the toaster worked okay but the coffee pot seemed to be out of coffee frequently. To its credit, they had an omelette to order station. I did eat dinner one night and the Khmer food was disappointing. The overall feeling I got from the restaurant at the King Fy was that the operation isn't well organized. I am a chef and I may be too picky about well run kitchens, so take it for what it's worth.
The staff at the hotel were always friendly and eager to please. With the exception of two or three afternoon/evening staff that spoke English, most of the staff spoke little, if any, English.
It wasn't a problem.

Room Tip: The staff upgraded me too a quieter room on their own volition. Ask for a room on the north side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King Fy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Fy Hotel

Address: 306 Street 155, Battambang 314, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Battambang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — King Fy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Battambang's historic city centre, King Fy Hotel offers modern rooms with the latest conveniences - air-con, free Wi-Fi, 32" Flat Screen TV with satellite channels. Free pick up from the dock, bus stations, and shuttles to the shopping areas. Rooms appointed to the highest standards with private balcony & views of the Sangke River. A safe, minibar, and writing desk are included. Bathrooms have a rain shower or spa bathtub. The hotel is on the Sangke river in the historic centre near Wat Kandal and Wat Pacha and the Museum. Guests can rent a bicycle, or have us arrange a tour to the surrounding pagodas and temples in the spectacular countryside. The hotel has spa treatments, a mini-mart & souvenir shop, laundry services, a conference centre - currency can be exchanged. Our Coriander Restaurant specialises in Asian and European cuisine. Beautiful sunset views and cocktails can be enjoyed at our Terrestrial Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your King Fy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Fy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.