We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprisingly good show” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phare Ponleu Selpak - Battambang Circus

Phare Ponleu Selpak - Battambang Circus
Anh Chanh Village, Ochar Commune | P.O. Box 316 Battambang, Battambang, Cambodia
(0)53 952 424
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A surprisingly good show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I didn't know much about the circus prior to going, and I wasn't expecting much out of it. However, I was pleasantly surprised. The organization was started several years ago by 8 Khmer who wanted to bring the arts to the children of Battambang. The school teaches music, art, and circus performance. All of the circus performers are between 16 and 18 years of age, and during the show you can clearly see that they love performing. Several of the alumni from the program are even continuing their performance training to become full time circus workers with some of the most respected circuses in the world.

Bottom line: The show was excellent and the organization is bringing the arts to rural kids who would otherwise have no opportunities to learn.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    458
    58
    12
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Highlight of Battambang”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

These kids are great!! The performance was a delight. No, there were no animals, it is an all people circus. And they were professional, impressive and brave. A must when you are in Battambang.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Don't miss this show, it's only $10.00 and it's so worth it.... It's a NGO project working with disadvantage children.... The show is just so cute and the kids are adorable.... U can organize to have dinner afterwards there in a very cool restaurante. U better book in adavance as its very popular!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing, spectacular - a must see.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

DON'T go to Battambang unless you are there when this was on.
I was in town for work and I was trying to fill my spare time with other activities - Banon, Phnom Sampov, Kampong Pouy...

I would have traded everyone just to see this performance again!

I went to the opening night of the new performance 'Eclipse'.

My only issue (and it was completely fantastic don't get me wrong!) was that the students had not practised extensively with the fire displays (fire rope) and this was obvious because several of them made mistakes.

I understand that it's a live performance and mistakes do occur. But the fact so many students (I have it on video) made these mistakes meant that they simply should not have done the performance if it is a risk to the students!

Practice a thousand times, but don't send students out without being well rehearsed - especially when it comes to fire!


But yes, a must see, absolutely beautiful display of culture and capability.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

First rate acrobats in a small venue with an energetic audience.

Not enough local people in the audience and no Cambodian translations for those who were their.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phare Ponleu Selpak - Battambang Circus also viewed

Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 
Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 

Been to Phare Ponleu Selpak - Battambang Circus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phare Ponleu Selpak - Battambang Circus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.