We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee, great people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kinyei Espresso Bar & Workspace

Kinyei Espresso Bar & Workspace
1 1/2 Street | Near Phsar Nath (Nath Market), Battambang, Cambodia
+855 17 292 119
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 75 Restaurants in Battambang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great coffee, great people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

This is a great little cafe! Good coffee, wifi and nice food. We were introduced to it by Tac, winner of 'best barrista' for Cambodia, who works there when he's not studying Nuclear Physics or guiding people on bike tours. We met him on a Grasshopper cycling tour from Bangkok to Siam Reap along with Art and Mr Det. Our stop in Battambang was awesome! It ended with an espresso and a great lunch at this cafe. Wonderful people and a fabulous place to become aquatinted with. Definitely a place to seek out!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    47
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Try the "Street Latte", a latte with a sugar cane juice and orange, but all of their coffee is good. A must while you're in Battambang.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent cafe latte, good vibes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The cafe lattes here are excellent. Up on the second floor the decor is nice but it can be a little warm. Another fan or two would be nice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battambang, Cambodia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth searching for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Tucked away in the corner of the street (makes it hard to park the bike), but worth searching for.
They put out white A frame signs at the end of the street - so look out for that.
Once there you'll find cute little cafe.
The coffee machine and grinder are well set up and produces a high quality product. The staff are well trained (although sometimes the results vary depending on who is making the coffee).
$1.25 for single espresso, $2 for coffee with milk, $2.25 for cafe late with a local cane sugar syrup.
They have a loyalty card, so the 6th coffee is free (I've been through a few loyalty cards already and have only been here three weeks).
Just check you get the correct change.

Eclectic mix of food options if you want to snack (nyum leng).

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Came here for the coffee after all the great reviews. Ordered food first - beans on toast with cheese and fresh spring rolls. The toast was smaller than the palm of my hand an there were only about 20 beans! Very stingy portion. The cheese was good though. Spring rolls were tasteless and one of them came with extra protein in the form of a human hair. Nevermind, we thought, we only came for the coffee. Ordered our coffees only to be told that there was no coffee as the machine was out of use due to staff training! Unacceptable!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie H, Facilitator at Kinyei at Kinyei Espresso Bar & Workspace, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Kwrites,

Thank you for your honest review. We apologize that you did not have a good experience at our cafe, and appreciate your feedback so that we may make the changes to ensure the quality of our product offering and satisfaction of our customers in the future.

Indeed, as a vocational training cafe, we are continuously training staff in new skills while working to improve our espresso and cafe offerings; I'm sorry that you were unable to try out our espresso, as you are right, denying the customer our key product, espresso, is not OK!

We are working as a team to discuss what happened in your instance, and how we can prevent this happening in the future. We will continue to take steps to improve on our quality and service. If you have further concerns, we invite you to be in touch with us at info@kinyei.org. Thank you for visiting us on St. 1.5 and I hope the rest of your stay in Cambodia was enjoyable!,

Katie
Kinyei Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kinyei Espresso Bar & Workspace also viewed

Battambang, Battambang Province
 
Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 

Been to Kinyei Espresso Bar & Workspace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinyei Espresso Bar & Workspace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.