We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High recommendation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sanctuary Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Sanctuary Villa to your Saves list
The Sanctuary Villa
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   No. 413 Terchamrath Road | Sla ket District, Battambang 1000, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 42 Battambang B&B and Inns
Udon Thani, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“High recommendation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I stayed this hotel for 3 days, its lovely environment with very helpful staff and was really good room as well. Very close to everything in town. Free Pick up, breakfast, internet, and tuktuk to Market. Overall high recommendation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    43
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
27
111
21
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

After a 12 day cycling tour of Vietnam and Cambodia we had booked to stay at the Sanctuary for three nights before moving on to the south. However we quickly extended our stay to five nights as we were so impressed with quality of the accomodation the setting and the service that were offered by the Sanctuary. Battambang proved to be a good base to explore an area of Cambodia which has seen very little tourism so far. We experienced the Bamboo Railway, a cookery class, and trips into the countryside by tut tut with a very helpful young guide.

I can highly recommend the Sanctuary for anyone wanting a relaxing stay in a five star location at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regenstauf, Germany
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Food is excellent 5*****

We stayed in room # 106 - 5*****
with two big beds and mosquito nets. Room interior is beautiful and everything was in working order. In the room you find tea and coffee facilities and wifi access.

Service 4****
is very good. Welcome drink and fruit platter on arrival.

Summary:
Wonderful city hotel hidden in tropical vegetation with Asian flair. Highly recommended. We can not agree with the bad comments people made before.

We had our own car but you can go there by tuk tuk also. Manager provides tour service to the bamboo train and the colonial city buildings. We traveled around the world and we are vacationing since more than 20 years and our opinion is that you have to travel far to find such an outstanding boutique resort.

Room Tip: room 106 has two big king size beds and you feel like in heaven
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

After a hot and dusty bus journey from Siem Reap The Sanctuary Villa was a joy to behold on arrival. The staff, especially the saintly Sian, were so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much effort for them. Conveniently located about 5 minutes tuk-tuk ride from the town centre ($1 to town, $2 return), it wasn't too far to walk (but not advisable at night - which we had to do once - NB tuk-tuks are nigh on impossible to get after 10:30pm!!).
The food we had at the 'Oh Yeah' restaurant at the hotel was very good, and they mix a mean G&T! The pool was an added bonus - with towels too, and a complimentary cup of tea brought to us by the poolside. Of the 7 places we stayed at on our recent 3-week trip to Cambodia this place came out top for the Chilcompton Two. If you're looking to pamper yourself don't hesitate to book a few nights here!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I was very pleased with my stay at this resort. It's quiet, about .9 km from the main town area and perfect for relaxing. The restaurant, "Oh Yeah" is pretty good and they have an extensive menu. They arranged for a tuk tuk driver to take me around the area and see all the sites, which was great.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This place is 5 minutes tuktuk ride from town. The room is big and clean, and very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was decent, breakfast or ala carte. For breakfast, try the Khmer noodle soup, it was really good. The cocktails were all very good. We really enjoyed our stay here, and highly recommend this place.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stunningly made, super attractive rooms made this, aesthetically speaking, the nicest place we stayed in a month of travelling around Cambodia. Light and airy, fresh colours, the place oozes natural class.

The whole atomosphere is very relaxing as it's located a 15 min walk and a few minutes off the main road in town, in a sub tropical setting with lots of vegetation to hide you away from the world. We slept very, very well.

The staff really make an effort to look after you.

They also have an extensive collection of DVDs to fall asleep to after a hot day trekking around.

We wish we could have stayed longer than two nights...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sanctuary Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sanctuary Villa

Address: No. 413 Terchamrath Road | Sla ket District, Battambang 1000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Battambang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sanctuary Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are committed to responsible hospitality and community. It is our belief that through education and learning, one can overcome poverty and improve their quality of life, we consistently therefore provide hospitality trainings to underprivileged Cambodians. At times, you patience may be required for some staff. Their smile, their work, their charm is something that you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your The Sanctuary Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sanctuary Villa Hotel Battambang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sanctuary Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.