We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place in Battabang” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sanctuary Villa

Save Saved
You added The Sanctuary Villa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sanctuary Villa
No. 413, Chrey Village | Sla ket District, Battambang 1000, Cambodia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 38 Battambang B&B and Inns
Lille
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The best place in Battabang”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

If you like beautiful and peaceful hotel in Battabang, this hotel is for you...
This hotel is wonderful and the rooms beutiful, clean.
The staff is very friendly and always ready to help you...

Thanks for all
I really hope to come back again soon

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDerleng, Manager at The Sanctuary Villa, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, On behalf of the entire team at The Sanctuary Villa Battamabng, we thank you for taking the time to share your nice experience with us. We are happy to hear that our staff gave you entire satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    27
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
22
100
18
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sas van Gent, The Netherlands
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We enoyed our stay at the Sanctuary Villa very very much. The small boutique hotel is situated just outside the city center of Battambang which makes it a silent and relaxing place to stay. The rooms and public grounds are really tastefully decorated. We also loved the food and the cocktails. The very friendly staff of the hotel is the finishing touch! A real recommendation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDerleng, Manager at The Sanctuary Villa, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted to read that you had an inspiring stay with us. Certainly we will pass your praises to our colleagues. Your comments encourage our staff to keep on delivering such services.

We now hope to have the pleasure of greeting you again.

With all our very best wishes,

Sayan Lea,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrassa, Spain
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We are a four member family and we were very well attended at the Sanctuary in Battambang. The staff was very friendly. it's a quiet and a nice place. The bungalow for four people was confortable, with a shower and a big bath. The restaurant was ok (you should taste the fish amok, in 15 days in Cambodia, this is the best fish amok we have eaten).

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Sanctuary is a beautiful cozy hotel. The room was very nicely decorated, clean and well maintained. The restaurant has a big selection of local and western food, all of which was excellent. The staff was also friendly and helpful. We arranged our transportation through the hotel from Siem Riep and then again to Sihanouk both of which worked on time. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The hotel has beautiful rooms with a secluded terrace and an open air bathtub. The place is a garden oasis. We particularly enjoyed the large swimming pool.The service at our arrival was very nice and professional. It was quite the opposite upon departure. They either forgot to call us the Tuktuk or it did not materialise, in any event, it was all a big mess and commotion until they finally delivered us at the boat ramp, almost too late.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Sanctuary Villa is slightly off the beaten teack and we thought we'd get a real rest after our hectic lives in Phnom Penh. Well, it was ok, the place slightly run down but very clean and the staff super. BUT avoid the "wedding" season in Cambodia ( anytime during the dry season) because you get woken up at 5.30am and the noise goes on
till at least 9.0pm. Horrible loud music and it goes on for three days! Nightmare. Pool water was also very hot so no relief there either!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at this place as our previous hotel in Battambang could not extend our stay.

I loved this place; found it very peaceful, with beautiful and well-cared gardens. Compared to the other place (see my review), the price was really good and far better, considering the level of comfort they offered. I agree with other reviews that there are few details that could be improved, but we are very easygoing and nothing has spoiled our stay there.

Our room was huge, very confortable, with jacuzzi and shower and nice decor. It was a bit far to walk to the centre, but the staff were always helpful to arrange us a tuk-tuk. Really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sanctuary Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sanctuary Villa

Address: No. 413, Chrey Village | Sla ket District, Battambang 1000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Battambang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are committed to responsible hospitality and community. It is our belief that through education and learning, one can overcome poverty and improve their quality of life, we consistently therefore provide hospitality trainings to underprivileged Cambodians. At times, you patience may be required for some staff. Their smile, their work, their charm is something that you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Sanctuary Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sanctuary Villa Hotel Battambang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sanctuary Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.