We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average hotel with untapped potential” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Seng Hout Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Seng Hout Hotel to your Saves list
Seng Hout Hotel
#1008B, Road 02 | Prekmohatep, Svaypor, Battambang, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 40 Battambang B&B and Inns
Kibbutz Gezer, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“average hotel with untapped potential”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

Like many hotels in China, this Chinese-owned hotel is perfectly acceptable but nothing special. And it's a pity, since they have that great rooftop and also the third-floor patio. We used both, bringing our own picnic or own booze for cocktail hour. The hotel restaurant on the ground floor looks awful (and doesn't smell appetizing at all) and is expensive, but a cafe on the roof would be such a great thing! The hotel was clean, free computers in the lobby, good tuk-tuk drivers outside (we had a great one) but the service was generally pretty apathetic, except for one really helpful student working the night shift. The towels were old - clean but threadbare - and for $15 there's no reason for that!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    78
    35
    12
    14
See reviews for
20
97
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

We spent 1 night and I can say that for what you pay (13 USD for a double room) this is really a good bargain. Our room didn't have windows, but it was clean, bathroom ok, AC working, and we couldn't ask more for what we paid. It is also well located. This is a good place to rest for 1-2 nights if you don't want to spend too much and are looking for a clean place.

Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

We stayed here after reading other reviews, it is not in the guide book for some reason. The rooms were modern if bland but good value, we got a double, not the smallest, for $12 a night, AC and hot water, suggest you get this room rather than the smallest doubles which are $2 less and you can probably get a $2 discount off the list price. The only real problem we had was the food, we arrived by bus at about 2.30pm so wanted some lunch so ordered it at the hotel, you can eat on the roof, my wife and I had different dishes but both were not very hot even after waiting about 40 mins for them, anyway we were both ill the next day.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battambang, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

Good clean hotel,,very friendly staff, for 10$ well worth it.
However 2 points to note, i opted for a fan room, which is quite adequate, however they did not say that for a fan room you get NO hot water!! A small issue if you really like hot, but after the first minute becomes quite refreshing.
Also Cambodians go to bed early and expect everyone gets up early,,,so music hailing from loudspeakers at 5am, somewhat disturbs your beauty sleep, NOT the hotels fault but worth of a mention.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

Facilities are excellent but problems lie elsewhere.

One almost gets the impression greed is creeping in. We ordered take away breakfast for the boat to Siem Reap an hour before we left. 10 minutes to go and they had not started. They scrambled together two fried eggs and stale toast for $4 (at least twice the price than anywhere else) - inedible.

The dinner before took an hour, again at elevated prices and too slow.

I agree with a previous reviewer re: the Tuk Tuks outside their door. They charge $5 to get to the Bamboo Train which is only 5 kilometres away. Although they wait an hour this is too much.

The smiled apologies did not hide the fact they need to stop overcharging.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

This hotel has simple spacious clean double rooms, a big lobby with 3 computers and free internet, friendly staff and a beautiful rooftop; their tuc tuc drivers are a little pushy but honest and helpfull, with them you can visit Battambang and surroundings for a little money. We paid 15$ per night that is a good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

Stayed at this hotel recently based on reviews and recommendations here on TA. For the price I paid- at $16 a night not including breakfast it was good value for money. The room was clean, the shower hot and the room was not pokey. Bed was comfortable and I had 2 good nights sleep. For me a big plus as noisy places and those that have light streaming into the rooms means I do not sleep well.

Just a couple of points. The aircon is brilliant once it gets going although for the first 15 minutes on coming in to the room in the afternoon it was oppressive as no fan to stir the air up while waiting for the air conditioner to take effect. You can’t leave the room as the minute you take the key out this turns the power off and you are back to where you started from with a hot room.

The extras at the hotel like the beautiful outdoor seating area and bar area featured on their web site and brochure they handed out on the boat trip on the way down are non existent- or at least I couldn't find them.

The breakfast at the hotel, if you want to eat there, is adequate and quite good value for money. Even though they have a menu for other items I was not able to get anything at 3pm apart from a very delicious banana smoothie or something off the breakfast menu when I was hungry after taking a trip around the countryside.

The staff are friendly and helpful and the tuk tuk drivers that have now arrived in town and hang around this hotel are excellent. The driver who took me to the bus stop was a scream. In the 15 minutes he waited with me while I paid my bill and he took me there were hilarious to say the least. He tried to use every Australian / English expression he knew in the right context so I taught him a couple more to add to his repertoire- up the creek without a paddle, and kangaroos in the top paddock!!!!

Note:I know the photos I have added are not of the hotel but there are references to them in a forum post about the boat trip from Siem Reap as a means of getting to Battambang.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seng Hout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seng Hout Hotel

Address: #1008B, Road 02 | Prekmohatep, Svaypor, Battambang, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Battambang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About our hotel...Seng Hout Hotel is located in the heart of Battambang city. Built in 2008 is has beautifully appointed rooms with cable television, air conditioning, refrigerator and hot and cold water. Seng Hout Hotel is in a safe, quiet area close to Psar Nat Market and café area. Relax at the hotel after taking in the sights and experiences that Battambang Province has to offer. Watch the spectacular sunsets as you enjoy a drink on the roof top of the hotel with views over the city of the surrounding mountains. TripAdvisor loves us and you will love too..., if you are looking for a budget Battambang hotel, you need to look no further! Built in 2008 is has beautifully appointed rooms with cable television, air conditioning, refrigerator hot, cold water and you can enjoy with wireless unlimited in your room. Rooms are designed with a spacious space overlook the city and the garden terrace. Each room is equipped with air-conditioning. After along day touring the city; our cable television is where you can channels all news and entertainment around the world. The bathroom is equipped with both hot and cool water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Seng Hout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seng Hout Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.