We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seng Hout Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Seng Hout Hotel to your Saves list
Seng Hout Hotel
#1008B, Road 02 | Prekmohatep, Svaypor, Battambang, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 40 Battambang B&B and Inns
Pinjarra, Australia
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“good value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

Great location and very good value for money with big rooms. Only negative was the water vapour produced by the a/c was run off into the shower in our room. This is producing a small amount of mould as it exited down the wall onto the floor. Never ate their, but found plenty of local good food places around Battambang.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    78
    35
    12
    14
See reviews for
20
97
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geel, Belgium
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

Verry nice hotel,nearly nieuw,good situated,to the famous whitr rose restaurant 7 minutes walk.The central market 2 minutes.We had a de luxe room on the highest floor,13 dollars all taxes include.they have rooms alredy(only with fan ) 7 dollars The hotel has a lift,,A roof top terras,with a lot of green ,and nice ratan furniture.Verry friendly staf.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

Centrally based and close to the market, this hotel was a real gem of a find. Built fairly recently it provides a range of accommodation costing from $8 - £15. The room we stayed in had a/c, was large, airy, clean with a very comfortable bed and good en-suite facilities. There is plenty of space for clothes, plus a desk, fridge, and TV offering over 60 cable channels.

There is free internet access on the mezzanine level and free WI_FI in the rooms,

plus 3 separate rooftop terraces offering panaromic views of Battambang along with comfortable seating areas and peaceful surroundings.

Mr Seng, the owner was really hospitable and friendly and the staff were great.

Really can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

We stayed here four nights. It's a rare hassle-free hotel in Cambodia with excellent service and very clean rooms. You may need an extra blanket in the A/C rooms -- even during the hot season.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurashiki, Japan
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

Paid $8 for a spacious room w/double bed, TV, large window, cold water shower and a fan. (For $15 or so you can get A/C and hot water). Excellent view from the top of the hotel, there's a little area ouside where you can sit down and drink beer or whatever watching the sunset. Staff was very friendly but not much English spoken there. They have a laundry service.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

If you're on a budget, this hotel is a great deal for your money. Rooms are specious enough (though ours smelled a little mildewy) and the place is quite clean. The hotel is also a short distance from the riverfront and its restaurants and shops. If you're looking for a more unique experience, I would suggest the Villa on the other side of the river. We had drinks there when we stayed at Seng Hout and fell in love the the spot. Gorgeous pool and restaurant and beautiful architecture at reasonable (but higher than Seng Hout) prices. Staff at Seng Hout when we were there spoke very limited English and did not understand the word "reservation" when we said we had one, but we handed them passports, they checked their system and found our room. The hotel's tuk tuk driver actually spoke much better English and supposedly had a father who was an American soldier.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

I visited Battambang and the north-west of Cambodia with a couple of Cambodian friends. They recommended the Seng Hout, and at $15 a night I did not know what to expect aside from seeing some good reviews and some pics online. On arrival it was far beyond what I expected. Big airy lobby, efficient reception, lift to my floor. We had a couple of rooms and they were both excellent. Spotlessly clean and airy, cable TV, air-con, a good bed, a desk and chair. There was an en-suite bathroom that was more a walk-in closet with shower/toilet/handbasin - but it was also spotlessly clean with good hot water.

Just a stone's throw from the old art-deco central market and riverside city centre this hotel is very well located. Only negative was no on-site restaurant or breakfast at the time of my visit. I understand that this has now changed. There are lots of breakfast and dinner options within an easy walk of the hotel, and Battambang is a neat little city and a great base for day trips to Banteay Chhmar, Sisophon, Wat Ek Phnom, the bamboo railway and Wat Banan.

I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seng Hout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seng Hout Hotel

Address: #1008B, Road 02 | Prekmohatep, Svaypor, Battambang, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Battambang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About our hotel...Seng Hout Hotel is located in the heart of Battambang city. Built in 2008 is has beautifully appointed rooms with cable television, air conditioning, refrigerator and hot and cold water. Seng Hout Hotel is in a safe, quiet area close to Psar Nat Market and café area. Relax at the hotel after taking in the sights and experiences that Battambang Province has to offer. Watch the spectacular sunsets as you enjoy a drink on the roof top of the hotel with views over the city of the surrounding mountains. TripAdvisor loves us and you will love too..., if you are looking for a budget Battambang hotel, you need to look no further! Built in 2008 is has beautifully appointed rooms with cable television, air conditioning, refrigerator hot, cold water and you can enjoy with wireless unlimited in your room. Rooms are designed with a spacious space overlook the city and the garden terrace. Each room is equipped with air-conditioning. After along day touring the city; our cable television is where you can channels all news and entertainment around the world. The bathroom is equipped with both hot and cool water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Seng Hout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seng Hout Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.